Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2017, 09:52:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ISP speed ? Will miners effect it ???  (Read 1159 times)
bilabonic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 05:32:37 AM
 #1

Hi All

I am on 70meg cable with Virgin media and all my videos over the last 2 or 3 days have been glitching, websites slow loading etc.

I just just a speed test with Ookla and i'm not even getting 0.17Mbps download and 4.58Mbps !!!!!!!

I have added 6 Antminer S7's to my network....But surely they would not effect this  ??

How can i sort this out guys ?

Cheers

BTC - 1Ayax24aAU8c1xwAakK94DVDkm4kbfZ8Ch
1503136329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136329
Reply with quote  #2

1503136329
Report to moderator
1503136329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136329
Reply with quote  #2

1503136329
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503136329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136329
Reply with quote  #2

1503136329
Report to moderator
1503136329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136329
Reply with quote  #2

1503136329
Report to moderator
1503136329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136329
Reply with quote  #2

1503136329
Report to moderator
shield132
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Watch Agents Of Shield On ABC


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 06:35:33 AM
 #2

Internet speed doesn't affect your mine rate but at the same time it's important factor, at least you need normal internet, not higher, there isn't difference between 10mbps and 100mbps when mining but you need normal speed for downloading previous blocks and uploading the block you just found and it reduces the chanse of the block you just found from being orphaned.

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
Decoded
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


Crypto-News.net: News from Crypto World


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2016, 10:04:25 AM
 #3

Yes, it does affect it. Some might say greatly. Your bandwidth is required to download the previous block, so your miner knows what transactions and how to add them to the block it's creating. This means an up to 1MB download, which if you have a 0.17 megabit download speed, will take 40 seconds to download. That's huge. That's trillions of hashes behind the network when you start.

What I'm thinking is that you're being throttled by your ISP for downloading too much. When your monthly/yearly plan ends, you'll be fixed. Don't worry.

P.S. Be grateful, because here in Australia, we only get 15 megabits, if we're in the metro areas...



              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄██████████████████▄
       ▄████████████████████████▄
 ▄▄  ▄████████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████████████▄
 ▀▀█████████████████████████████████▄
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ▀████████████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████████████▀
     ▀▀██████████████████████████▀
        ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
.
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....





BigBoom3599
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 10:13:08 AM
 #4

Depends on if you're solo mining or pool mining, if you're solo mining and running the node yourself you'll have a disadvantage over the rest of the network as Decoded mentioned. But if you're pool mining you barely need anything, somewhere around 1-10 kbps was the minimum IIRC.
Decoded
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


Crypto-News.net: News from Crypto World


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2016, 03:08:51 AM
 #5

Depends on if you're solo mining or pool mining, if you're solo mining and running the node yourself you'll have a disadvantage over the rest of the network as Decoded mentioned. But if you're pool mining you barely need anything, somewhere around 1-10 kbps was the minimum IIRC.

Yep. Solo mining requires you to download the previous block to generate the current block header that you will work on. Usually a pool will generate it for you and send you the block header, which will only be a couple of kilobytes, bytes even.

The thing is, every hash counts. And even downloading a single byte will take away precious time.



              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄██████████████████▄
       ▄████████████████████████▄
 ▄▄  ▄████████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████████████▄
 ▀▀█████████████████████████████████▄
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████████
   ▀████████████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████████████▀
     ▀▀██████████████████████████▀
        ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
.
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....





-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2016, 05:30:29 AM
 #6

If you're running a full bitcoin node, that could do it. Mining itself uses hardly any bandwidth by comparison though.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
December 26, 2016, 07:44:48 AM
 #7

A full bitcoin node uses a MAXIMUM of 1 Megabyte every 10 minutes to download a block.

 INSIGNIFICANT.

 I was managing that *and* a multi-machine farm on a Virgin Mobile 3G cell connection for quite a while - connection was LUCKY to see 400k download speed in wee hours of the morning, more commonly 150-200k - my rejected ratio was a bit high (1-2% was the norm) but otherwise it worked fine.


 Cable is NOTORIOUS for being oversubscribed - my current cable connection ALWAYS gets very slow on Sunday afternoons and somewhat slower the entire weekend, as folks on the same "loop" tie up lots of bandwidth watching TV. THAT, OP, is probably the issue - mining bandwidth usage is VERY small.


 Luckily, cable internet for me is a backup connection, not my primary "fiber to the interface for the electric meter remote reading box, 100 Megabit Ethernet to ME" connection.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2016, 08:56:09 AM
 #8

A full bitcoin node uses a MAXIMUM of 1 Megabyte every 10 minutes to download a block.

 INSIGNIFICANT.
While I acknowledge that oversubscribed cable is a real problem of its own, the issue is not just download b/w being used by a bitcoind node, it is upload bandwidth. Once your upload is saturated, your download bogs down immensely due to delayed acknowledgement of packets. Using quality of service and restricting bitcoind outbound bandwidth can make a massive difference to a normal domestic internet connection. Most uploads are very limited even if they're very fast download. Not everyone is blessed with optic fibre broadband... The difference here with adsl2 is dramatic.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
December 26, 2016, 11:42:26 PM
 #9

Point.

 Been a while but I remember that issue when I was one of the first ADSL customers for a particular ISP and also remember it being an issue at times on the ISDN connection I had before that (2 bonded 64k down, control channel at 16k also used as up).

 However, OP did specify that their download speed was crazy-low at times for a 70 Mbps (max) connection - I suspect that is their issue, not the load put on the connection by mining.

Shiroslullaby
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
December 26, 2016, 11:44:47 PM
 #10

If you are not running a full node, you shouldn't be using that much data per month.
Unless you had a really low data cap, wouldn't latency be much more important? You want to be getting new blocks and sending results as quickly as possible, right?

QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
December 27, 2016, 08:45:21 AM
 #11

Latency matters, but not as much as you might think.

 2 years experience mining on a Exede sat connection (typical 700 ms round-trip ping, rarely as low as 660, most of that the double-hop out through geosynch) only kicked my rejects up into the 1-2% range instead of the sub-1% range I've had since my move last summer an aquisition of my first *GOOD* internet connection in about 6 years.



mr.bitcoinerf11
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 182


View Profile
December 27, 2016, 02:03:57 PM
 #12

no miner will not effect it all cuz the miner connected to the pool
and started minning will take around 12%-10% of your internetspeed
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2016, 08:02:10 PM
 #13

Latency matters, but not as much as you might think.

 2 years experience mining on a Exede sat connection (typical 700 ms round-trip ping, rarely as low as 660, most of that the double-hop out through geosynch) only kicked my rejects up into the 1-2% range instead of the sub-1% range I've had since my move last summer an aquisition of my first *GOOD* internet connection in about 6 years.
There's a simple scientific explanation; there is no need to speculate. Blocks are found on average every 10 minutes or 600 seconds and your stale shares are anything delivered after the block change due to hardware change speed and network latency. If your latency is 1 second 1/600 of your shares will be late and stale from latency alone.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
December 27, 2016, 11:55:03 PM
 #14

Actually, most of my mining at the time was on Litecoin at the time, so 2.5 minute blocktime = 1/150 per second of lag.

 Probably lost a bit due to higher lost packet rate too, but not a lot.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 04:51:38 AM
 #15

I'm on a 60mb down/5 up from Charter cable in the SE US. I can't complain at all. Must not be any real bandwidth hogs in the neighborhood. (Or maybe I'm the hog...?? Lol) Seriously, we're good.

I have no cable TV and get all of my TV over the internet. I also feed all the Wi-Fi in the house and a wired network with three always on PC's and two laptops. One of the isolated PC's is running a full BTC node/wallet and have five S9 miners running 24/7.

Couldn't be happier. I would cry if I had to use dsl again or dial-up. Arggggggggggggggg Smiley

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
I can break these cuffs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 30, 2016, 06:48:49 PM
 #16

Mining will never touch your latency. I tested 5 antminer s9 doing solo and it still didn't touch my 6mbps at&t uverse. Something else is going on with either router or modem.
Gatorelf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
January 08, 2017, 02:24:25 AM
 #17

this is what I was looking for, I have 50 Mbps and access to 200 Mbps which sounds like what I want to run a full node
flameruk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2017, 09:53:19 PM
 #18

I'm on a 60mb down/5 up from Charter cable in the SE US. I can't complain at all. Must not be any real bandwidth hogs in the neighborhood. (Or maybe I'm the hog...?? Lol) Seriously, we're good.

I have no cable TV and get all of my TV over the internet. I also feed all the Wi-Fi in the house and a wired network with three always on PC's and two laptops. One of the isolated PC's is running a full BTC node/wallet and have five S9 miners running 24/7.

Couldn't be happier. I would cry if I had to use dsl again or dial-up. Arggggggggggggggg Smiley

Exactly why I moved everything to the office, you can't beat a leased line straight onto the Ethernet back bone!
Runs like a dream.
I can't ever remember what Adsl was like it's been so long.....

Find my P2POOL node at www.ukp2pool.uk:9332

Donations for operating node?
BTC  1CYevtGy3aqr1reuq7CFceNFAT7snsz3VM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!