Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2018, 06:45:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Question] PCIe Risers on PCI slot  (Read 1187 times)
simon66
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 04:09:07 AM
 #1

So I recently purchased a few risers and before fucking with anything, I wanted to confirm with you guys.

My Mobo has 4 PCIe and 2 PCI (not express).
Can I connect a PCIe riser on a PCI? If so, whats the pinout (I couldn't find anything on this).

Sorry for the noob question :S

Thanks!
1534617952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534617952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534617952
Reply with quote  #2

1534617952
Report to moderator
1534617952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534617952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534617952
Reply with quote  #2

1534617952
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534617952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534617952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534617952
Reply with quote  #2

1534617952
Report to moderator
1534617952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534617952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534617952
Reply with quote  #2

1534617952
Report to moderator
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 582


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 09:58:34 AM
 #2

No, PCI slots are 5V, not 12V and will not work. You will proabaly damge the motherboard, the riser, the GPU or all of the above if you try. 1x risers work with any PCI-E slot from 1x to 16x as long as the motherboard supports it. Speed of the slot does not matter.
simon66
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 11:44:07 AM
 #3

No, PCI slots are 5V, not 12V and will not work. You will proabaly damge the motherboard, the riser, the GPU or all of the above if you try. 1x risers work with any PCI-E slot from 1x to 16x as long as the motherboard supports it. Speed of the slot does not matter.

Thanks for the info Smiley
HardFireMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 102



View Profile
June 06, 2017, 12:13:25 PM
 #4

So I recently purchased a few risers and before fucking with anything, I wanted to confirm with you guys.

My Mobo has 4 PCIe and 2 PCI (not express).
Can I connect a PCIe riser on a PCI? If so, whats the pinout (I couldn't find anything on this).

Sorry for the noob question :S

Thanks!

It will not work, I was stupid enough to try it - thankful, only the riser damaged.
Lontonbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 108



View Profile
September 08, 2017, 02:59:28 PM
 #5

I recently did this and now my card is not detected. Probably fried rx 480.

It’s gold for nerds
lunobird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 107


View Profile
November 20, 2017, 11:07:27 PM
 #6

I recently did this and now my card is not detected. Probably fried rx 480.

I tried this also.  Dumb me.  But I lucked out nothing damaged. Risers works fine still, video cards and motherboard still fine.
Scuba19
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2018, 08:19:25 PM
 #7

I have  2 dell dimensions  with picie x1 cards .  I bought  2 sets  of risers and  I would  like  to add a 1060 card to my current  setup which has  one  1060 card  installed  already.  The network card disapperas when I add the second 1060 card on the riser.  I  have  disabled the FDC in the  bios and the  same  issue occurs.  

Help  
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1075



View Profile
May 13, 2018, 08:22:15 PM
 #8

There actually is a company that made an adapter to make this possible.

It would take a regular PCI slot and be able to run a 1x PCIe device in it like an Network card or a Sound card. Maybe a GPU would be fine if only used for mining.

However the adapter is expensive, usually costs more than a new motherboard and not cost effective.


.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
spool-cloud
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0

Join us https://spool.cloud


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2018, 08:43:56 PM
 #9

So I recently purchased a few risers and before fucking with anything, I wanted to confirm with you guys.

My Mobo has 4 PCIe and 2 PCI (not express).
Can I connect a PCIe riser on a PCI? If so, whats the pinout (I couldn't find anything on this).

Sorry for the noob question :S

Thanks!

I had one client that blew up his motherboard and GPU from a bad riser. So my advice to you is to not connect the gpu's before everything is working fine.
I personally never had any problems with riser cards, just make sure you have the right connection.

Join our awesome spool community!
jillscarbrough
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 316


ICOForums.net - A Cryptocurrency & ICO Forum


View Profile
May 14, 2018, 03:48:12 AM
 #10

There actually is a company that made an adapter to make this possible.

It would take a regular PCI slot and be able to run a 1x PCIe device in it like an Network card or a Sound card. Maybe a GPU would be fine if only used for mining.

However the adapter is expensive, usually costs more than a new motherboard and not cost effective.

Yes, we can find that kind of adapter on the market.

One of my friends has bought it (PCI to PCIe 1X adapter). Its price around $40, planned use for mining, but I didn't yet hear back about the result.


                                ████████
                          ██████████████
                      █████████████████
                    ████████████████████
                  ██████████████████████
                ████████████████████████
               █████████████████████████
              ██████████████████████████
             ███████████████████████████
             ███████████████████████████
             ███████████████████████████
              ██████████████████████████
               █████████████████████████
                ████████████████████████
                  ██████████████████████
                    ████████████████████
                      ██████████████████
                         ███████████████
                      ███    ████████
                    ██
                   █
 
|
███
Activity Contest██████Promotion Contest██████ ̅ ̅ ̅ ̅ ̅ \
███
\___████ICO Review Contest███Signature Campaign
||
jeesus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2018, 07:27:29 PM
 #11

I recently did this and now my card is not detected. Probably fried rx 480.

Happened to me today due to low light in the room. Any chance you got your Rx 480 working? My 1080Ti isn't detected by Windows anymore.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!