Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2018, 10:52:51 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: two identical machines - substantially different hash - Why?  (Read 1954 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 10:44:24 PM
 #1

What could cause two identical machines to display substantially different hash rates?

1) cgminer/Drivers/OS/Hardware are Identical
2) Temperatures are fine, and lower on the slower machine.
3) Machines are not overclocked or under-clocked
4) The machine with only two cards is running slower


Working:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU  0:                | 257.6M/210.0Mh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9
 GPU  1:                | 241.3M/209.1Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 9
 GPU  2:                | 245.5M/211.0Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.43/m I: 9
 GPU  3:                | 238.9M/209.7Mh/s | A:4 R:1 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9

Broken:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 26.30M/42.08Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 1:                | 26.28M/42.67Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9
 GPU 2:                | 26.08M/42.47Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 3:                | 26.05M/38.76Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
1539643971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539643971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539643971
Reply with quote  #2

1539643971
Report to moderator
1539643971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539643971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539643971
Reply with quote  #2

1539643971
Report to moderator
1539643971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539643971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539643971
Reply with quote  #2

1539643971
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 10


SECURIX.IO - Next Generation of Crypto Mining


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:27:58 PM
 #2

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:12:21 AM
 #3

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

You may be right, or a badly seated card....

Code:
two GPU's, Card A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 283.5M/300.8Mh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | 283.7M/300.7Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.70/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

two GPU's, Card B

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | OFF   /2.487Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | 95.80M/34.02Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | 86.04M/31.47Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 04:55:23 PM
 #4

I had this happen on Xubuntu with 2 cards. What worked for me was using a dummy plug. I only needed 1 dummy plug to make both of the cards get their full hash rate.

If you don't have a dummy plug handy, try this:

Stop cgminer
Plug in a monitor
Start cgminer

Try that with each of the DVI outputs. For me, having the monitor (or dummy plug) in card 0 in the top slot worked.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!