Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2018, 06:38:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: two identical machines - substantially different hash - Why?  (Read 1944 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 10:44:24 PM
 #1

What could cause two identical machines to display substantially different hash rates?

1) cgminer/Drivers/OS/Hardware are Identical
2) Temperatures are fine, and lower on the slower machine.
3) Machines are not overclocked or under-clocked
4) The machine with only two cards is running slower


Working:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU  0:                | 257.6M/210.0Mh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9
 GPU  1:                | 241.3M/209.1Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 9
 GPU  2:                | 245.5M/211.0Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.43/m I: 9
 GPU  3:                | 238.9M/209.7Mh/s | A:4 R:1 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9

Broken:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 26.30M/42.08Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 1:                | 26.28M/42.67Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9
 GPU 2:                | 26.08M/42.47Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 3:                | 26.05M/38.76Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9

DarcMatter   The Future of Decentralized Financial Services   Whitepaper
Token Sale   ANN Thread   Twitter   Telegram
1529908690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529908690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529908690
Reply with quote  #2

1529908690
Report to moderator
1529908690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529908690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529908690
Reply with quote  #2

1529908690
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529908690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529908690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529908690
Reply with quote  #2

1529908690
Report to moderator
1529908690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529908690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529908690
Reply with quote  #2

1529908690
Report to moderator
1529908690
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529908690

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529908690
Reply with quote  #2

1529908690
Report to moderator
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


BLOCKCHAIN BASED REIT


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:27:58 PM
 #2

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:12:21 AM
 #3

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

You may be right, or a badly seated card....

Code:
two GPU's, Card A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 283.5M/300.8Mh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | 283.7M/300.7Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.70/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

two GPU's, Card B

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | OFF   /2.487Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | 95.80M/34.02Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | 86.04M/31.47Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DarcMatter   The Future of Decentralized Financial Services   Whitepaper
Token Sale   ANN Thread   Twitter   Telegram
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 04:55:23 PM
 #4

I had this happen on Xubuntu with 2 cards. What worked for me was using a dummy plug. I only needed 1 dummy plug to make both of the cards get their full hash rate.

If you don't have a dummy plug handy, try this:

Stop cgminer
Plug in a monitor
Start cgminer

Try that with each of the DVI outputs. For me, having the monitor (or dummy plug) in card 0 in the top slot worked.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!