Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2018, 12:02:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: two identical machines - substantially different hash - Why?  (Read 1952 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 10:44:24 PM
 #1

What could cause two identical machines to display substantially different hash rates?

1) cgminer/Drivers/OS/Hardware are Identical
2) Temperatures are fine, and lower on the slower machine.
3) Machines are not overclocked or under-clocked
4) The machine with only two cards is running slower


Working:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU  0:                | 257.6M/210.0Mh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9
 GPU  1:                | 241.3M/209.1Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 9
 GPU  2:                | 245.5M/211.0Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.43/m I: 9
 GPU  3:                | 238.9M/209.7Mh/s | A:4 R:1 HW:0 U: 1.94/m I: 9

Broken:

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 26.30M/42.08Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 1:                | 26.28M/42.67Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9
 GPU 2:                | 26.08M/42.47Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.70/m I: 9
 GPU 3:                | 26.05M/38.76Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 9

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets such as Coinbase are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534896148
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534896148

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534896148
Reply with quote  #2

1534896148
Report to moderator
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 151
Merit: 10


Borderless for People, Frictionless for Banks


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 11:27:58 PM
 #2

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

T r a x i o n                                                            TRADE AND EARN DURING PRE-ICO
TRANSITIONS YOU TO A CRYPTO-READY SOCIETY       Pre-Sale starts April 15, 2018
Github     Telegram     Medium     Facebook     Twitter     Reddit     Youtube
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:12:21 AM
 #3

Have you tried swapping the cards between the machines, might have a bad MB.

You may be right, or a badly seated card....

Code:
two GPU's, Card A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 283.5M/300.8Mh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.40/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | 283.7M/300.7Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.70/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

two GPU's, Card B

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | OFF   /2.487Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 1:                | OFF   / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 2:                | 95.80M/34.02Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
 GPU 3:                | 86.04M/31.47Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 04:55:23 PM
 #4

I had this happen on Xubuntu with 2 cards. What worked for me was using a dummy plug. I only needed 1 dummy plug to make both of the cards get their full hash rate.

If you don't have a dummy plug handy, try this:

Stop cgminer
Plug in a monitor
Start cgminer

Try that with each of the DVI outputs. For me, having the monitor (or dummy plug) in card 0 in the top slot worked.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!