Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:02:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] The first Armory-for-OSX Release! (Testing)  (Read 4332 times)
maxmint
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 07:59:17 PM
 #41

Can you send me a log file? 

Here's the log from a recent start:
http://snippi.com/s/so03ak4

And to clarify, it finishes "synchronizing" (the first one), but doesn't finish scanning the blockchain (the second one)?  Are you using a non-standard datadir?   I ask because I just found a bug that will be fixed when I release 0.88 soon. 

It's stuck at the "Scanning Transaction History" process and won't ever get over 75%.
Datadir is the default directory in ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/

This is becoming all-too-common now.  And I just started on my persistent-blockchain updates -- I will no longer be touching blk*.dat files at all!  This will solve so many bugs like this (though, probably introduce more...)

Until then, you get the same advice I give everyone else.  It looks like there's a glitch in your blk*.dat files which Armory is tripping over.   Redownload the blockchain.  It takes a long time, but it seems to work. 

(1) I can't replicate this problem, so I don't know how to fix it
(2) It is purely an artifact of a design decision that is completely going away... I don't know if it's worth trying to fix it if it will be obsolete in a couple weeks.

I deleted the bitcoin directory, installed a fresh copy of bitcoin-qt 0.8.1 and downloaded the whole block chain.
I can cofirm that Armory is now working perfectly!

My PGP-Key: 462D02D8
Verify my messages using keybase: https://keybase.io/maxmint
1508767360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767360
Reply with quote  #2

1508767360
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508767360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767360
Reply with quote  #2

1508767360
Report to moderator
1508767360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767360
Reply with quote  #2

1508767360
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 01:35:35 AM
 #42

Fwhew!  The issues are slowly fading away...

Still problems that need to be cleaned up, but at least the problems people are having have workarounds. 

Working on the RAM-reduced, instant-startup upgrades now.  The new design will actually remove direct dependence on the blk*.dat files entirely!  There's just been way too many problems with it.  I'll simply retrieve and process data directly from Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind as a peer using regular getdata/getheaders/getblocks requests and maintain my own database.  And that database will start out duplicating everything, but I am doing it in such a way that it will gracefully support various subsets of that data, like pruned blockchain, lite-node, address-indexed, etc.  This way, users will have the capability to run using remote [trusted!] bitcoind instances, and use as much RAM as they desire.

Might be some time before I iron all of it out, though...


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
ErebusBat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560

I am the one who knocks


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 02:34:51 AM
 #43

Fwhew!  The issues are slowly fading away...

Still problems that need to be cleaned up, but at least the problems people are having have workarounds. 

Working on the RAM-reduced, instant-startup upgrades now.  The new design will actually remove direct dependence on the blk*.dat files entirely!  There's just been way too many problems with it.  I'll simply retrieve and process data directly from Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind as a peer using regular getdata/getheaders/getblocks requests and maintain my own database.  And that database will start out duplicating everything, but I am doing it in such a way that it will gracefully support various subsets of that data, like pruned blockchain, lite-node, address-indexed, etc.  This way, users will have the capability to run using remote [trusted!] bitcoind instances, and use as much RAM as they desire.

Might be some time before I iron all of it out, though...


I can't wait!

░▒▓█ Coinroll.it - 1% House Edge Dice Game █▓▒░ • Coinroll Thread • *FREE* 100 BTC Raffle

Signup for CEX.io BitFury exchange and get GHS Instantly!  Don't wait for shipping, mine NOW!
BeeCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 05:04:39 PM
 #44

Code:
$ open /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory
/Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory ; exit;
new-host:~ me$ /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory ; exit;
/Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory: line 5: 61800 Segmentation fault: 11  bin/python armorybuild/ArmoryQt.pyc
logout
[Opération terminée]

Hi folks

I get the same error message (except the french part ;-) ) on Mac OSX Lion. Any solution for this?

At the moment, I want to use it only as EllipticCurve-Calculator in --noblockchain mode without any BitcoinClient installed.

best regards
-BeeCoin.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2013, 05:10:30 PM
 #45

Code:
$ open /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory
/Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory ; exit;
new-host:~ me$ /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory ; exit;
/Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Armory: line 5: 61800 Segmentation fault: 11  bin/python armorybuild/ArmoryQt.pyc
logout
[Opération terminée]

Hi folks

I get the same error message (except the french part ;-) ) on Mac OSX Lion. Any solution for this?

At the moment, I want to use it only as EllipticCurve-Calculator in --noblockchain mode without any BitcoinClient installed.

best regards
-BeeCoin.


You might consider doing Red Emerald's brew formula if that's all you want access to.  Obviously, it would be better to just have this work, but apparently the dependencies are still not totally standalone/bundled yet.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
BeeCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 06:17:41 PM
 #46

You might consider doing Red Emerald's brew formula if that's all you want access to.  Obviously, it would be better to just have this work, but apparently the dependencies are still not totally standalone/bundled yet.
Thanks for your prompt response, Etotheipi.
At this point, just for using the EC Calculator, I will simply run it on Windows within a VM.

In the long run, if OSX glitches have been worked out, I'd be interested in using Armory with more functions.
-BeeCoin.
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 02:39:45 PM
 #47

Just to let you know that I've been thoroughly testing Armory on OSX with flawless results up to know - I just have some display problems (coin control display its a bit screwed), but functionalities are 100% working and stable.

Using OS X 10.8.3 on a 2,53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 8GB of RAM.

BeeCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 04:09:05 PM
 #48

Thanks for the response, Rampion.
I'm running 10.7.x

Does it also work in offline/noblockchain mode?
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 04:29:10 PM
 #49

Thanks for the response, Rampion.
I'm running 10.7.x

Does it also work in offline/noblockchain mode?


Never tried the offline in OSX, I use Ubuntu 10.04 for the offline version.

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 06:49:23 PM
 #50

Thanks for the response, Rampion.
I'm running 10.7.x

Does it also work in offline/noblockchain mode?


Yes, I use my super old mac mini and it works like a charm.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
BeeCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 06:52:08 PM
 #51

Would appreciate if somebody could check if offline/noblockchain access works or gives errors.
thanks
BeeCoin.
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!