Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2018, 04:15:17 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is safe to install this custom firmware in my S9?  (Read 978 times)
pupok
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 31, 2017, 03:17:11 PM
 #1

hi there.. i had a problem with an antminer s9 and i mailed support. they sent me a firmware for my S9 (that was broken) to try it out and see if it help my surprise was that this firmware has Fan control and i could set the fan to 100% my question is. its safe to install it on my others S9? the customer guy said that this firmware could damage my machine if it was purchase after oct 1.. what u guys think?
1544804117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544804117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544804117
Reply with quote  #2

1544804117
Report to moderator
1544804117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544804117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544804117
Reply with quote  #2

1544804117
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544804117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544804117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544804117
Reply with quote  #2

1544804117
Report to moderator
1544804117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544804117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544804117
Reply with quote  #2

1544804117
Report to moderator
1544804117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544804117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544804117
Reply with quote  #2

1544804117
Report to moderator
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 510


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
January 31, 2017, 03:21:06 PM
 #2

It's been well documented that there are major differences between the S9 hardware that can and cannot run the the non-autotune FW.  If you want to brick your newer units (after Oct. 1) then by all means go for it.  However, I suspect the customer (service) guy knows what he's talking about and I'd just leave it.  As the saying goes, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5 & S9r-11.5
pupok
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 31, 2017, 05:24:09 PM
 #3

It's been well documented that there are major differences between the S9 hardware that can and cannot run the the non-autotune FW.  If you want to brick your newer units (after Oct. 1) then by all means go for it.  However, I suspect the customer (service) guy knows what he's talking about and I'd just leave it.  As the saying goes, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."
then there is no way to make fan run full speed?
ANTZ25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2017, 08:49:08 PM
 #4

I don't know if the machine will work without both fans connected, but, you could power the fans with an external 12v power supply, just have to connect the pwm pin to the +12v and it will work at full speed. (with the regular + and - to the other pins also of course).
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1037



View Profile
January 31, 2017, 09:05:53 PM
 #5

Pretty sure you can also buy fan speed controllers from China for just a few bucks wth free shipping. Not too sure if those work with the fans that the Antminer has but they should work. As for the firmware, anything the manufacturer gives you should work most of the time.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
January 31, 2017, 09:12:47 PM
 #6

not 100% sure on the S9 but I replaced the back fan on hundreds of S7s with a fan that had no PWM. As long as the controller can see the RPM its fine even if it cannot control it.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
RadekG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 31, 2017, 11:02:29 PM
 #7

I don't know if the machine will work without both fans connected, but, you could power the fans with an external 12v power supply, just have to connect the pwm pin to the +12v and it will work at full speed. (with the regular + and - to the other pins also of course).

Why so difficult? Simply remove blue wire from connector. Without PWM it runs at 100%.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!