Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2018, 04:00:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD3H - does it work for ETH mining  (Read 1714 times)
frukissaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:25:39 PM
 #1

hi there the subject says it all.

how many video cards would fit in this motherboard if mining its possible.

thanks for the help in advance
1542168050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542168050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542168050
Reply with quote  #2

1542168050
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542168050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542168050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542168050
Reply with quote  #2

1542168050
Report to moderator
1542168050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542168050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542168050
Reply with quote  #2

1542168050
Report to moderator
1542168050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542168050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542168050
Reply with quote  #2

1542168050
Report to moderator
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:29:24 PM
 #2

hi there the subject says it all.

how many video cards would fit in this motherboard if mining its possible.

thanks for the help in advance

Looks like it has 3 full size PCI-E slots, so three cards can fit without risers and more with them.
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629
Merit: 501


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:32:34 PM
 #3

hi there the subject says it all.

how many video cards would fit in this motherboard if mining its possible.

thanks for the help in advance

Looks like it has 3 full size PCI-E slots, so three cards can fit without risers and more with them.

It has 6 pcie slots and is a Z97 board, so it should - with risers - support 6 cards.

The BEST Crypto exchange in India, where you can buy/sell/trade Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ripple, and use a credit card https://koinex.in/?ref=eaa2b3 Stay away, Horrible service.
Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/u/?ref=RAVIN14
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:33:28 PM
 #4

hi there the subject says it all.

how many video cards would fit in this motherboard if mining its possible.

thanks for the help in advance

Looks like it has 3 full size PCI-E slots, so three cards can fit without risers and more with them.

It has 6 pcie slots and is a Z97 board, so it should - with risers - support 6 cards.

6 PCI-E slots but only 3 that are full-sized (16x).
Golku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 263
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:51:47 PM
 #5

Sure it will work without problem
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1102



View Profile
February 11, 2017, 05:59:31 PM
 #6

Yeah works with 6 GPUs however in the bios you need to disable a bunch of stuff to get the 6th to work.......

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Emoclaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 11, 2017, 06:08:02 PM
 #7

You will be able to use all 6 PCIE slots as long as you use risers (preferably powered), don't just get any riser though, some will not boot with the 6th GPU.
You may have to set the PCIE version to Gen 1.0 in the BIOS and use Linux instead of Windows (or vice versa), these seem to be common solutions with 6 GPU rigs.
You do not have to use any risers if you get dual GPU graphics cards.

frukissaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 13, 2017, 03:02:12 PM
 #8

thanks for the replies guys, very helpful
Saromon52
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 04:49:15 PM
 #9

Hi did you manage to run 6 GPU's on it
I am able to identify all six but having stability only in 3 * 1080ti
once I go 4 gpu's I get tdr error in some time
and the 5th and 6th are old 770 and 750 and are not functioning properly.

The best I could manage was 5 cards on claymore but again very unstable kept of restarting.

Now am trying to find a way to atleast run the 4 * 1080ti

Any possibilities of get it done ? Or should I just go buy a new better mother board ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!