Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:19:31 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining using a proxy  (Read 3491 times)
almbfsek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:43:16 PM
 #1

hello guys,

I have an SSH tunnel that I use as a SOCKS proxy for my web browser. I would also like to use it with mining softwares.
is it even possible? I thought since miners use HTTP protocol it should be possible.
if so, which 3rd party application can I use in order to route the miner's connection through the proxy? or may be the miner's code should be modified?

thank you in advance

1EoGYM5vBqdzReQnFcfXDTLy9r4wVzrxQn
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149171
Reply with quote  #2

1481149171
Report to moderator
1481149171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149171
Reply with quote  #2

1481149171
Report to moderator
1481149171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149171
Reply with quote  #2

1481149171
Report to moderator
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:04:34 PM
 #2

if your miner uses something like libcurl, it will respect the http_proxy environment variable, look into the underlying software/libs you're using and research their proxy support
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:14:30 PM
 #3

You can tunnel your localhost port to any homepage.
e.g. localhost:8332 --> pool.com:8332

You can even change port numbers in the process (if you use several pools)
e.g. localhost:8555 --> otherpool.com:8332

Then you connect your miner to localhost:8332 instead to the pool's address.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
nuclearstar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:32:02 PM
 #4

for the record my work has a proxy and my miner works fine without having to configure anything extra.

--------------------------------------------------------------
LTC - LSnhixMMTg2u7zxnHghgp2SN7xxM1EtYwT
BTC - 18NNhqwVsFXbcMgjpzmg8PtfSWbHEPjrzA
Free Litecoins http://ltc4you.com/?r=12945
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:24:45 PM
 #5

You can tunnel your localhost port to any homepage.
e.g. localhost:8332 --> pool.com:8332

You can even change port numbers in the process (if you use several pools)
e.g. localhost:8555 --> otherpool.com:8332

Then you connect your miner to localhost:8332 instead to the pool's address.

have you actually tried this? I have and depending on how the pool's rpc server is configured, it may not return the data if the request it gets doesn't contain the desired host (e.g. Host: localhost as opposed to actual hostname of the pool server).  Again this depends on the config of the pool but i ran into issues trying to do it this way.

If you really want to scale better, run a proxy service like https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy (this is what i'm using)
almbfsek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:08:42 PM
 #6

@cynikal: thank you. http_proxy is what I was looking for. I did "export http_proxy=socks5://127.0.0.1:11334" and it doesn't work because according to this(http://curl.haxx.se/libcurl/c/curl_easy_setopt.html#CURLOPTPROXY) my curl version(7.21.3) doesn't support protocol prefix(socks5://) on the URL. so I did some research but I couldn't find how to specify socks5 with env. variables. do you know how?

thank you

1EoGYM5vBqdzReQnFcfXDTLy9r4wVzrxQn
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:12:35 PM
 #7

@cynikal: thank you http_proxy is what I was looking for. I did "export http_proxy=socks5://127.0.0.1:11334" and it doesn't work because according to this(http://curl.haxx.se/libcurl/c/curl_easy_setopt.html#CURLOPTPROXY) my curl version(7.21.3) doesn't support protocol prefix(socks5://) on the URL. so I did some research but I couldn't find how to specify socks5 with env. variables? do you know how?

thank you

sorry, i use a http proxy myself (i run one on a server remotely and then i ssh tunnel to that proxy directly, rather than use ssh tunnel as a socks proxy).  upgrade your curl version? or staticly compile a local version of newer libcurl and link/include that static lib into your miner ?
almbfsek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:23:45 PM
 #8

upgrading the libcurl is the easiest I guess, thanks!

1EoGYM5vBqdzReQnFcfXDTLy9r4wVzrxQn
almbfsek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:43:21 PM
 #9

well modifying the source was easier afterall Smiley

Quote
curl_easy_setopt(curl, CURLOPT_PROXY, "socks://127.0.0.1:11334");
curl_easy_setopt(curl, CURLOPT_PROXYTYPE, CURLPROXY_SOCKS5);

works like a charm...

1EoGYM5vBqdzReQnFcfXDTLy9r4wVzrxQn
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!