Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 04:31:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't set Zero transaction fees in Electrum  (Read 14660 times)
dano777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 06:33:10 AM
 #1

Hey gang, so I've searched on this and can't seem to find a way to set zero fees in Electrum.  If I set it too small, it fails the transfer and says something like "hey, cheapskate, the community won't transfer your puny BTC, add some fees!"

But we know that, for "old" coins, and for transfers where we don't care how long they take, we can transfer with zero fees....

Sooooo, anyone know how to do this with Electrum ?

Thanks in advance

Danny
1513355482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513355482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513355482
Reply with quote  #2

1513355482
Report to moderator
1513355482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513355482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513355482
Reply with quote  #2

1513355482
Report to moderator
1513355482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513355482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513355482
Reply with quote  #2

1513355482
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513355482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513355482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513355482
Reply with quote  #2

1513355482
Report to moderator
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1892



View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 06:57:39 AM
 #2

wait until your coins get old enough and it should work

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
dano777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 03:24:59 PM
 #3

Thanks Thomas.

Tried this morning but it still forces some min transaction.  If this is open source, mind if I change it to "suggested" fee with a warning if users set it to zero ?

Danny
lophie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924

Unlimited Free Crypto


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 02:17:59 AM
 #4

Thanks Thomas.

Tried this morning but it still forces some min transaction.  If this is open source, mind if I change it to "suggested" fee with a warning if users set it to zero ?

Danny
+1

Will take me a while to climb up again, But where is a will, there is a way...
dano777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 06:32:01 AM
 #5

Well it's been about two weeks or so since I've received these very special tiny coins...

Still, when I want to transfer them from Electrum, it forces me to use a transaction fee.

How old do these coins have to be before I can set a zero transaction fee ?

Thanks

D
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1892



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2013, 08:23:53 AM
 #6

Well it's been about two weeks or so since I've received these very special tiny coins...

Still, when I want to transfer them from Electrum, it forces me to use a transaction fee.

How old do these coins have to be before I can set a zero transaction fee ?

Thanks

D


see the technical info : https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees
if your transaction does not have a priority higher than the threshold described there, it will not be propagated by the Bitcoin network.

the Electrum client prevents you from sending a transaction that would otherwise not be propagated by the Bitcoin network.
when this protection was not there, the transaction was visible only at one server, misleading users.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2013, 10:09:53 AM
 #7

Transactions are only free if the amount sended is higher than 0.01BTC, the address was used some time ago the last time and the transaction itself isnt big in Bytes. Otherwise one has to pay a minimum fee.
Once electrum allowed to send out very small amounts without a fee. The effect was that nothing happened. blockchain.info didnt know the transaction because no node accepted it. So it never got confs.
That only meant trouble to developers. So now its a better solution.
Mikko8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 05:42:12 PM
 #8

Well it's been about two weeks or so since I've received these very special tiny coins...

Still, when I want to transfer them from Electrum, it forces me to use a transaction fee.

How old do these coins have to be before I can set a zero transaction fee ?

Thanks

D


see the technical info : https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees
if your transaction does not have a priority higher than the threshold described there, it will not be propagated by the Bitcoin network.

the Electrum client prevents you from sending a transaction that would otherwise not be propagated by the Bitcoin network.
when this protection was not there, the transaction was visible only at one server, misleading users.


Does it mean that transactions below the priority cannot be propagated at all or that these transactions cannot be propagated without a fee? Electrum error message requires a higher fee but my understanding was that the user determines the fee and that it can differ from the suggested fee. If this truly is the case, then how does Electrum determine the appropriate fee, why does it not show it and why is it not just a suggestion?

14FfG7TC7yWP86xyRQXCtC1sBmici5avvi
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1892



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2013, 07:02:11 PM
 #9

Does it mean that transactions below the priority cannot be propagated at all or that these transactions cannot be propagated without a fee?
this question does not make sense.
there are rules in the network that determine if a tx can be propagated.
please read the documentation link I provided.

Quote
my understanding was that the user determines the fee and that it can differ from the suggested fee.
that is correct

Quote
If this truly is the case, then how does Electrum determine the appropriate fee,
the fee depends on the length.
it is the fee per kilobyte that you set in your preferences multiplied by the number of kilobytes of the transaction.

Quote
why does it not show it and why is it not just a suggestion?
what makes you think it is not the case?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Mikko8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 08:22:28 PM
 #10

Quote
Transactions need to have a priority above 57,600,000 to avoid the enforced limit

What does the enforced limit mean? That I cannot send relatively young satoshis even if I pay a fee?

14FfG7TC7yWP86xyRQXCtC1sBmici5avvi
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2013, 09:13:15 PM
 #11

Quote
Transactions need to have a priority above 57,600,000 to avoid the enforced limit

What does the enforced limit mean? That I cannot send relatively young satoshis even if I pay a fee?

You can always send satoshis when you pay the needed minimumfee. Its a bit tricky but its mostly to prevent that the network is attacked with too many useless transfers.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 02:22:09 AM
 #12

so we can't consolidate a bunch of dust from free sites? What would it take to do that?
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 04:01:48 PM
 #13

so we can't consolidate a bunch of dust from free sites? What would it take to do that?


"To everyone wringing their hands over the recent 5430 satoshi "dust" transaction limit, consider this."

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1drocs/to_everyone_wringing_their_hands_over_the_recent/

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!