Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2018, 02:59:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New rig with old hardware?  (Read 655 times)
pccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 22, 2013, 06:34:14 PM
 #1

Just a couple of questions before I start putting a rig together.

Building a rig from some old hardware, do you see any problems with this set-up?
I'd like to be able to run 3 cards(hopefully 7970s) in the rig.

MB: Asus Crosshair - 2x16 PCIe and 1x4 PCIe - Should be able to run 3 cards??
      I'll have to run at least one card on a riser, can't get to the x4 PCIe slot.

Processor: AMD 6400+ AM2 - 2.2Ghz
Ram: 2GB

Power supply 1000W or 1250W?

Do I need dummy plugs for each card running Xubuntu 12.04?

Run on USB Drive or should I get a hard drive?

Or should I just use a new motherboard that can accept 4 cards ... do you think building a rig that can run only 3 cards is a waste of money?


Edit: I'm planning on using this for Litecoin as well as bitcoin. I've read that Litecoin uses more ram but I'm currently running one card mining Litecoin and as far as I can tell there is no ram usage to speak of. Maybe I have something configured wrong?




1534777151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534777151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534777151
Reply with quote  #2

1534777151
Report to moderator
1534777151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534777151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534777151
Reply with quote  #2

1534777151
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534777151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534777151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534777151
Reply with quote  #2

1534777151
Report to moderator
1534777151
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534777151

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534777151
Reply with quote  #2

1534777151
Report to moderator
pajak666
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 01:20:59 AM
 #2

you don;t need dummy plugs, even on windows with drivers new than 11.8 I think.
1000W PSU is for sure enough for 3 cards.
I run 5970 and 5850 with 600W PSU.
Ram should be enough for older card types 5XXX 6XXX but I am not quite sure about 7XXX series.
I run those two on 2gb (win7 32)
Running OS from usb reduces power usage, when compared to HDD.
you probably will have to shorten pins on your riser
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36061.0
this might be helpfull also
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.msg1256502#msg1256502



Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!