Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:16:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: List of motherboard that require shorting pin A1 B17 for pci-e 1x to work.  (Read 83679 times)
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 12:35:02 AM
 #1

Asus A8N-E
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3
MSI xpower Big Bang x58
EVGA 680i SLI (122-CK-NF68-A1)
EVGA 680i SLI (122-CK-NF68-T1)
Gigabyte EP45-DQ6 (bottom slot only)
Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0 (had unstable behavior with the 4th GPU)
ASUS A8N32-SLI
ASUS P5K
ASROCK N7AD-SLI
ASUS P5N-T (On both x1 -> x16 in x16 and in x1 slot)
ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 : Mixed results https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36061.msg847139#msg847139
MSI 990FXA-GD80
Asus - P7P55D-E Pro
EVGA 790i SLI Ultra needs shorting on 1x and 16x slots.
EVGA P55 Micro: x1 needs shorting
GA-M55S-S3
MSi K9N Neo-F V3  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=191530.msg2020681#msg2020681
ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z
...

1481163371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163371
Reply with quote  #2

1481163371
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481163371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163371
Reply with quote  #2

1481163371
Report to moderator
1481163371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163371
Reply with quote  #2

1481163371
Report to moderator
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 01:49:31 AM
 #2

here's two more i have and tested:

MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3
MSI xpower Big Bang x58

cyberlync
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:28:25 AM
 #3

Asus P5K

Giving away your BTC's? Send 'em here: 1F7XgercyaXeDHiuq31YzrVK5YAhbDkJhf
Supercrit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 04:22:43 AM
 #4

You can get some very cheap extenders now! You don't need to put a x16 card directly on the slot if you get an extender for 4 bucks.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36106.msg445182#msg445182
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 04:29:44 AM
 #5

You can get some very cheap extenders now! You don't need to put a x16 card directly on the slot if you get an extender for 4 bucks.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36106.msg445182#msg445182
You don't get it, problem is when you can't plug an 1x extender into an 1x slot and have it working.
Supercrit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 04:33:10 AM
 #6

You can get some very cheap extenders now! You don't need to put a x16 card directly on the slot if you get an extender for 4 bucks.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36106.msg445182#msg445182
You don't get it, problem is when you can't plug an 1x extender into an 1x slot and have it working.

So they don't work even with extenders?
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 04:57:06 AM
 #7

You can get some very cheap extenders now! You don't need to put a x16 card directly on the slot if you get an extender for 4 bucks.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36106.msg445182#msg445182
You don't get it, problem is when you can't plug an 1x extender into an 1x slot and have it working.
oh wait, i think i may have read it wrong. the boards i listed is for x1 extender into x16 slots. i think boards should work find plugging x1 extender into x1 motherboard slots without shorting pins.

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 05:17:42 AM
 #8

Anyway with this pin shorting tip I think we have yet to find a board with a pcie that can't be used for mining.
cirz8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 05:27:58 PM
 #9

Here are two more:

EVGA 680i SLI (122-CK-NF68-A1)
EVGA 680i SLI (122-CK-NF68-T1)

Mandatory?  123ABCcirz8CcieVh9UwThEX2vkoJF33Te
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 03:27:26 PM
 #10

ECS P45T-A requires it, but the board also got toasted after a few days, so I wouldn't suggest it. Smiley
flyswatta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 07:07:51 PM
 #11

  • Asus A8N-E
  • MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3
  • MSI xpower Big Bang x58
  • ...
Please give me another one so we can call this a list.   Grin


Glad you posted this - i just got my hands on an Asus A8N-E.  I think you prolly saved me a lot of frustration.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2011, 04:12:48 PM
 #12

Any word for a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P v1.6? That requires this trick?

This should be a sticky thread.
The bottom slot on EP45-DQ6 (8x) require the mod.

Maybe it's like yours.

PS : no problem with UD3R
caish5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 324



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 05:23:06 AM
 #13

Anyone know if this trick works with asus P5EVM-HDMI

Bitvolcano YAC, BBQ and WDC P2Pools at http://bitvolcano.com
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 08:12:58 AM
 #14

ECS P45T-A requires it, but the board also got toasted after a few days, so I wouldn't suggest it. Smiley

It failed for another reason. Pins A1-B17 are meant to be shorted. Perhaps you pulled too much current on the motherboard's 12V rail.
maxll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 955


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 06:22:52 PM
 #15

ASUS A8N32-SLI too.


█████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
more than a coin
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
September 02, 2011, 05:20:36 AM
 #16

Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0 had some crazy behavior with the 4th GPU,

The mod seems to have fixed it. (first slot)
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
September 07, 2011, 05:27:44 PM
 #17

Note to self : shorting B1 with A17 will destroy the slot, but not the card.   Cheesy
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 01:49:51 AM
 #18

Note to self : shorting B1 with A17 will destroy the slot, but not the card.   Cheesy

wait, what? I was just trying to short these pins and now you guys re telling me it'll fry my board? so whats the point of this thread?

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 03:44:21 AM
 #19

He said B1-A17. The right pins are A1-B17.

If you can't pay attention to these details, maybe you shouldn't even be trying to short them  Roll Eyes
Zoomer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
September 14, 2011, 12:44:42 AM
 #20

Actually, looking at the pinout, shorting B17 to either B16 or B18 should work. Just disconnect the thing from the motherboard if you don't have anything connected.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!