Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2018, 10:15:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transaction fees/how much does it cost to send bitcoin?  (Read 2329 times)
ulhaq
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 378
Merit: 251


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 06:15:30 PM
 #1

I understand that fees to send bitcoin are based on amount of data. But how do I know how much data is required? Is there a way to estimate it without having a bitcoin wallet? I know it's dependent on the time, so assume that I would like it to occur in the next 24 hours.

This link no longer works:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=148227.0

I found this website, but am not clear on how to interpret the data:
http://bitcoinexchangerate.org/fees
1519424153
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519424153

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519424153
Reply with quote  #2

1519424153
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519424153
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519424153

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519424153
Reply with quote  #2

1519424153
Report to moderator
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1151


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2017, 07:04:43 PM
 #2

This should help: https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/1195/how-to-calculate-transaction-size-before-sending

For the optimal transaction fee rate, you can use http://bitcoinfees.21.co/.

keyscore44
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 22, 2017, 09:12:49 PM
 #3

As you wrote the amount of fee depends on the data. Some wallets have informations about that how "heavy" is transaction, and with this information you can calculate (more/less) when transaction can be taken to realization (You can calculate that with http://bitcoinfees.21.co/) . Other wallets can give you automatically optimal amount of fee. Exist also wallets which not show how "heavy" is transaction and you must set fee manually - in this situation we have problem. In other words very important is which wallet you want to use.
In situation when you can't set fee manually, or by mistake you set very low fee, to "push" this transaction you can use this service: https://www.viabtc.com/tools/txaccelerator/

RJX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1003


Get paid to watch porn Ⓡ


View Profile
March 25, 2017, 09:13:12 AM
 #4

Someone should really forge this question into an application.

Fill in adress
Fill in amount
Ping blockchain
Get transactions costs.

Would that work?

.
▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄████████████████████████████▄
█▀▀▀███████████████████████▀▀▀▀█
█      ▀▀████████████████▀      ▒█
██          ▀█████████▀▒         ███
▐███▒           ███▀▀            ████▌
██████         ██      ▄▄██     ██████
███████            ▄▄█████    ▒███████
████████        ▄▄███████    █████████
██████████    █████████▒    ██████████
▐██████████    ▒██████     ██████████▌
███████████     ████    ████████████
███████████▒    █▒    ████████████
████████████        ████████████
▀███████████     ▒███████████▀
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀














.
 



























 

▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████
▓████████████████████████████████▓
███████████████████████▒░███████████
▄█████████████████▒░      ███████████▄
█████████████░░          ░████████████
█████████░              ░█████████████
██████████▓░░          ░██████████████
██████████████▓░       ███████████████
▀███████████████▒     ░██████████████▀
████████████████▒   ░███████████████
████████████████░ ░███████████████
████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████▀
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
 ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀

▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄████████████████████████████▄
███░▒██████████████▒ ░██████████
▓███░   ░███████████     ░▒██████▓
█████░       ██████░         ▓██████
▄█████░       █████░         █▒▓█████▄
██████░       █ ░█░         ▓  ▓██████
██████░       █  ░█░      ▒█░  ▓██████
██████░       █   ░█▒    ▓▓    ▓██████
██████░       ████▒ ░█  ▓░     ▓██████
▀█████░       ████████▒█▓      ▓█████▀
███████▒░    ███████████▓░    ▓█████
█████████▓░ ███████████████░ ▓████
████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████▀
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
 ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
dacueba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10

Tipsters Championship www.DirectBet.eu/Competition


View Profile
March 25, 2017, 12:29:30 PM
 #5

Someone should really forge this question into an application.

Fill in adress
Fill in amount
Ping blockchain
Get transactions costs.

Would that work?

I think most wallets already do it, don't?
numismatist
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 25, 2017, 12:35:22 PM
 #6

I understand that fees to send bitcoin are based on amount of data. But how do I know how much data is required?
You don't need to know.

The core client takes a configuration value in bitcoins per kilobyte. You don't have to provide the data amount at any input field.
Rule by thumb (for the curious) are 500 bytes transaction size on average, smallest like 226 bytes. But again, you cannot change the size at all. You can only configure the client on satoshi amount paid per byte. Could pay 1 sat / 1 byte and let it timeout from mempool, just sending again with 1 sat. A tradeof between fees and transacting timespan.


Your one stop on fees: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees


kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 26, 2017, 06:24:04 AM
 #7

Someone should really forge this question into an application.

Fill in adress
Fill in amount
Ping blockchain
Get transactions costs.

Would that work?

I think most wallets already do it, don't?

Yeah, most wallets have a fee estimation built in. Electrum has one called Dynamic Fees and I find that it works quite well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!