Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2017, 05:10:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin server eating CPU  (Read 1309 times)
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 02:05:06 AM
 #1

Ok, so I've been participating in Bitcoin mining for almost a month now and it's been going smoothly on my desktop rig (NVidia Card).

(Edit: Question one removed and title changed.  Turns out that I was misreading GUIMiner's status screen.  Now I feel like a doof.)

So I've been running Bitcoin solo mining on my old desktop for a few weeks now and it works absolutely fine running Bitcoin 3.21.  My new rig that I built (dual 5830s OC'd to 900Mhz) works fine connecting to mining pools and to my other desktop.  The issue I'm having is that whenever I try to connect to a locally running Bitcoin server (version 3.23), the Bitcoin application CPU usage spikes to consume a whole core and doesn't respond to mining clients.  I copied over my desktop's 3.21 version and it works fine.  What could be causing this and what can I do to fix it?
TLDR: New rig runs Bitcoin 3.21 as a server fine, but on client connect with Bitcoin 3.23, process CPU usage maxes out and server goes unresponsive.

If you need any details on my system setup, please feel free to ask.

Any advice or help is appreciated.  I'm a fairly technical person, so feel free to get nitty gritty.

Thanks in advance!

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
1485234654
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234654

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234654
Reply with quote  #2

1485234654
Report to moderator
1485234654
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234654

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234654
Reply with quote  #2

1485234654
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485234654
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234654

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234654
Reply with quote  #2

1485234654
Report to moderator
1485234654
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234654

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234654
Reply with quote  #2

1485234654
Report to moderator
1485234654
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234654

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234654
Reply with quote  #2

1485234654
Report to moderator
bsd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 06:36:08 PM
 #2

Do you have a multicore CPU? The best thing to do for now is to run the miner on one core only by changing the "affinity". This way the miner can only max out one core. You can do this by doing a ctrl-alt-del and going to the miner process and right mouse click - affinity. The better way to set the affinity is by using a batch script to start the miner and/or bitcoin.exe and have it start with "start /affinity 1 ..." Also, I don't see why it would be a problem using a slightly older bitcoin.exe if it works.

There are a lot of people whose CPUs are maxed out by miners in Windows. Use the search (there are 5+ threads on this). Unfortunately, it appears that very few people are able to fix the problem without switching to Linux. The general advice is to downgrade the ATI Catalyst video drivers and SDK.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!