Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 01:13:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Proper way to overclock rx 570's?  (Read 4844 times)
tgejesse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 10:44:08 PM
 #1

Hey! So I currently have 6 rx 570's mining at about 24 mh/s each (Eth). I'm looking into overclocking, and I want to make sure I go about this the right way. I cant seem to find any easy and clear tutorials on how this is done. Does anyone here have experience with overclocking 570's? (or even 580's)?

Thanks!
1508246028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508246028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508246028
Reply with quote  #2

1508246028
Report to moderator
1508246028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508246028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508246028
Reply with quote  #2

1508246028
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508246028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508246028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508246028
Reply with quote  #2

1508246028
Report to moderator
1508246028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508246028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508246028
Reply with quote  #2

1508246028
Report to moderator
1508246028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508246028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508246028
Reply with quote  #2

1508246028
Report to moderator
deaddealer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 10:54:40 PM
 #2

What manufacturer is the memory in the video card?
From whichvideo card manufacturer?
tgejesse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 11:29:31 PM
 #3

What manufacturer is the memory in the video card?
From whichvideo card manufacturer?
Sapphire Radeon rx 570's 4gb
coinscrow
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 294


minerstat.com owner


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2017, 02:17:04 AM
 #4

maybe elpida memory card.
need custom strap edited bios. that card has dual bios. 1: 2:

I get 29-30Mh/s with these cards.

tgejesse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 02:41:35 AM
 #5

maybe elpida memory card.
need custom strap edited bios. that card has dual bios. 1: 2:

I get 29-30Mh/s with these cards.
How do you go about editing the bios without messing it up?
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 03:38:38 AM
 #6

maybe elpida memory card.
need custom strap edited bios. that card has dual bios. 1: 2:

I get 29-30Mh/s with these cards.
How do you go about editing the bios without messing it up?

It's pretty simple to modify the memory straps of your original bios, which is a good start. All you need is atiflash and Polaris Bios Editor:

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

https://github.com/caa82437/PolarisBiosEditor

Extract the Atiflash zip to a folder on your Desktop and open a command prompt in that folder. The first step is to backup your original bios in case something goes bad. At the command prompt type:

Code:
atiflash -s 0 BACKUP.ROM

The above command assumes the index of video card you want to backup is 0. It's best to flash the cards one at a time and remove any other cards so you won't make a mistake. After you backup the bios, extract the Polaris bios editor zip to another folder on your Desktop and copy the bios you backed up to that folder. Run Polaris bios editor and open the bios in it. On the bottom right box, you will see the memory timing values. Most people start with copying the value in the 1500 or 1625 MHz box and replacing all the higher frequency values so they are the same. What works best is highly dependent on the type of card you have and the type of memory it uses, so you will have to research what works best for the cards you have. For example on my Asus RX 480 with Samsung memory, the 1750 strap works best.

Once you adjust the memory straps save the bios and copy it to the atiflash folder. Flash the bios to your card with:

Code:
atiflash -p -f 0 MEMSTRAP.ROM

After it finishes loading the bios, don't reboot as it asks you to. Since you are using a modified custom bios and the new AMD drivers since 16.12 check for a valid bios signature, you need to patch the driver or use a driver older than 16.12 for Windows to recognize the card. To patch the driver download atikmdag-patcher:

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

and use it to patch the driver before rebooting.
tgejesse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 05:56:46 PM
 #7

Once you adjust the memory straps save the bios and copy it to the atiflash folder. Flash the bios to your card with:

Code:
atiflash -p -f 0 MEMSTRAP.ROM

After it finishes loading the bios, don't reboot as it asks you to. Since you are using a modified custom bios and the new AMD drivers since 16.12 check for a valid bios signature, you need to patch the driver or use a driver older than 16.12 for Windows to recognize the card. To patch the driver download atikmdag-patcher:

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

and use it to patch the driver before rebooting.
Assume Jesse is an idiot, and didn't know this. Jesse hypothetically rebooted before doing this, and now one of his cards wont boot -_-. Is it safe to patch the driver (on the other bios on the same card using the switch) and then switching back?
Razziel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 06:14:29 PM
 #8

Once you adjust the memory straps save the bios and copy it to the atiflash folder. Flash the bios to your card with:

Code:
atiflash -p -f 0 MEMSTRAP.ROM

After it finishes loading the bios, don't reboot as it asks you to. Since you are using a modified custom bios and the new AMD drivers since 16.12 check for a valid bios signature, you need to patch the driver or use a driver older than 16.12 for Windows to recognize the card. To patch the driver download atikmdag-patcher:

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

and use it to patch the driver before rebooting.
Assume Jesse is an idiot, and didn't know this. Jesse hypothetically rebooted before doing this, and now one of his cards wont boot -_-. Is it safe to patch the driver (on the other bios on the same card using the switch) and then switching back?

Lol GJ Jesse Smiley
tgejesse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 07:37:44 PM
 #9

Lol GJ Jesse Smiley
Yeah yeah. I try.
doktor83
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 434


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 08:06:10 PM
 #10

switch to working bios. boot in windows. switch to bricked bios. flash bios. happy working bios.
vacs03
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
May 06, 2017, 08:37:22 PM
 #11

maybe elpida memory card.
need custom strap edited bios. that card has dual bios. 1: 2:

I get 29-30Mh/s with these cards.

I don't know if I'm blind but my rx 570 pulse with elpida doesn't have a bios switch
carloshell
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 06, 2017, 10:42:27 PM
 #12

maybe elpida memory card.
need custom strap edited bios. that card has dual bios. 1: 2:

I get 29-30Mh/s with these cards.

I don't know if I'm blind but my rx 570 pulse with elpida doesn't have a bios switch

Hello,

From my experience working with RX sapphire, only the nitro+ have dual bios.

Do not expect all the cards having that dual bios option.
mmek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
August 03, 2017, 02:10:27 AM
 #13

Vann: are you still with us? Would you be able to help?

tgejesse: did you get it to work? how is the bios?
lrdc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 04, 2017, 04:55:21 PM
 #14

I have a Sapphire RX580 4GB (Hynix), and the maximum I can get is 26Mh/s.

Followed all the instructions about bios, polaris, memory timmings, etc...
tf2addict
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 02:37:24 PM
 #15

I have a Sapphire RX580 4GB (Hynix), and the maximum I can get is 26Mh/s.

Followed all the instructions about bios, polaris, memory timmings, etc...

I have a 570 Hynix and I can't get above 23.x!  This Hynix memory is crap.
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 03:22:14 PM
 #16

I have a Sapphire RX580 4GB (Hynix), and the maximum I can get is 26Mh/s.

Followed all the instructions about bios, polaris, memory timmings, etc...

I have a 570 Hynix and I can't get above 23.x!  This Hynix memory is crap.

No, it is not.
Back in April/May my 3 Sapphire RX 570s with Hynix all did 29.5 with a simple strap copy from 1750 to 2000   with mem overclocked to 2050 and core at 1100.
Now they do about 26 because of the DAG size increase.

Mining Hobbyist
tf2addict
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 01:47:33 AM
 #17

I have a Sapphire RX580 4GB (Hynix), and the maximum I can get is 26Mh/s.

Followed all the instructions about bios, polaris, memory timmings, etc...

I have a 570 Hynix and I can't get above 23.x!  This Hynix memory is crap.

No, it is not.
Back in April/May my 3 Sapphire RX 570s with Hynix all did 29.5 with a simple strap copy from 1750 to 2000   with mem overclocked to 2050 and core at 1100.
Now they do about 26 because of the DAG size increase.

26 is still better than what I'm getting.  I now have two 570s, Sapphire and XFX and both can't get over 23.x ETH-only.  Doesn't matter what BIOS changes I make or what clocks I use.  In fact if anything messing with things actually creates worse hashrates and thrashing of hashrates!

I won't be buying any more RX cards until I can figure this out, and even then I may not until AMD can fix the DAG efficiency drop time bomb.  I ran the -benchmark option in Claymore for my RX 570 and GTX 1070 (dates are estimated of course):

8/17/2017  EPOCH 140: ETH: GPU0 23.807 Mh/s, GPU1 31.197 Mh/s
10/1/2017  EPOCH 150: ETH: GPU0 22.501 Mh/s, GPU1 31.164 Mh/s
11/14/2017 EPOCH 160: ETH: GPU0 20.258 Mh/s, GPU1 30.621 Mh/s
12/29/2017 EPOCH 170: ETH: GPU0 18.232 Mh/s, GPU1 31.195 Mh/s
2/12/2018  EPOCH 180: ETH: GPU0 16.754 Mh/s, GPU1 31.135 Mh/s

In five months or so the RX cards will lose another 30% performance.  Of course ETH PoS may change everything anyway before then.  If 1070s drop to $300 or even close that will be my card of choice, hands down.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!