Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 04:04:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: mining hardware in a rented rack in a datacenter ?  (Read 1230 times)
MatCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 05:27:26 AM
 #1

Hello,
I'm planning to buy some mining hardware from Bitmain to install it in a rented rack in a datacenter.

Anyone has done this ? Usually the datacenter companies accept a mining set up ? Or I shouldn't tell them ?

I know it varies from one datacenter to another, but anyone who can share his experience will be helpfull.

Thanks,
Mat
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508299496
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508299496

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508299496
Reply with quote  #2

1508299496
Report to moderator
frodocooper
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 05:54:55 AM
 #2

Hello,
I'm planning to buy some mining hardware from Bitmain to install it in a rented rack in a datacenter.

Anyone has done this ? Usually the datacenter companies accept a mining set up ? Or I shouldn't tell them ?

I know it varies from one datacenter to another, but anyone who can share his experience will be helpfull.

Thanks,
Mat

I would advise against colocating bitcoin mining hardware in a traditional datacenter. Bitcoin miners draw a lot of power and produce a lot of heat, far more than a typical server. Traditional datacenter racks therefore typically do not support miners' demanding power and cooling requirements. Even if they do, expect to pay a large premium, as you would most likely have to rent an entire cage — it would be extremely unlikely for a traditional datacenter to allow your miners to share rack space with other servers.

Even if you don't tell them, they will eventually find out. It's their datacenter anyway. And I doubt they would be happy having to deal with the extra heat and noise.

You're far better off colocating your miners at any one of these miner colocation service providers. As always, be sure to do your research on power costs, colocation fees, and service provider reputation before committing to one.

Edit: I would also advise against buying Bitmain hardware. There has lately been an uptick in customer dissatisfaction, with most complaints revolving around late shipments, unresponsive and uncooperative customer service, receiving faulty hardware, receiving faulty replacements for the original faulty hardware, and more unresponsive and uncooperative customer service when confronted about said faulty replacements. Canaan, the manufacturer of the AvalonMiner line of miners, has so far been the more reliable and more cooperative of the current two leading mining hardware manufacturers. The only downside of the AvalonMiner line of miners is their poorer (on paper) stats compared to the Antminers.
NiHaoMike
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 05:57:27 AM
 #3

What rates are they charging? Most likely in a datacenter you'll pay a lot for bandwidth, which Bitcoin doesn't need very much of.
Datacenters are generally very noisy places to begin with so the extra noise would likely be the least problematic.

Those who have/had free electricity have wanted a way to turn that into money. With cryptocurrency, that has become a reality, but there's still no free lunch.
unholycactus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


https://reg-charity.org/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 12:18:38 AM
 #4

There's an extremely high chance it won't be profitable.
Whatever they will charge you for power or just renting the space will be way too high.

vm1990
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


bloginhell.me


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2017, 12:42:25 PM
 #5

depends how many you plan on trying to fit in the data center, you should really tell them so they can set everything up for you needs, youd probably save alot on bandwidth as miners dont use anywhere near as much as a server. BUT youd be putting extra stress on there systems, E.G cooling, and more importantly power supply. if its a good data center you might be able to request that they bypass the back up supplys (might charge a fee to set this up but will save money in the long run) a data center is set up to have backups if the main power fails, if you ask nicely they might take you off the backup system so you just use the main power (saving the datacenter time and money on redundancy) last thing is the cooling youd be putting extra stress on it BUT if its a data center than accepts GPU's in servers they will be more than capable of dealing with the extra heat as size wise miners are on par with GPU's.

things to consider is the power and how much to rent the space, youd have to work all that out and see if you can still turn a nice profit. 1 bitmain S9 would put out around the same as 4 GPU's in heat (rough figures)

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
.JOIN THE CLUB !
 Bitcointalk.club
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
BLOG:  www.bloginhell.me        BTC: 192tyaiwWxJ2UhSxUCbQW4JuA3Le5CEhWH                 Free 5GB Storage Cloud.Bloginhell.me 
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


+1-844-248-6246


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2017, 10:03:18 PM
 #6

traditional data center, please check with them first!  power consumption available per rack may able to handle only a few units.

If you need Mining Hardware hosting, we offer fully managed hosting service for Antminer and GPU

Antminer wise, while your ants are being hosted, repair can be free or heavily discounted and no need to ship out units for repair.  for brand new units, first 180 day factory warranty be honored on site via our support team



Hello,
I'm planning to buy some mining hardware from Bitmain to install it in a rented rack in a datacenter.

Anyone has done this ? Usually the datacenter companies accept a mining set up ? Or I shouldn't tell them ?

I know it varies from one datacenter to another, but anyone who can share his experience will be helpfull.

Thanks,
Mat

BitmainWarranty Repair: +1-844-BIT-MAIN  (844-248-6246)     Skype: BitmainEnglish (Voice Only)
E-mail: support@bitmainwarranty.com    Теперь сервисное обслуживание доступно на Русском и Украинском языках!
Return Address: Bitmain Warranty 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
Dr Charles
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


Get it how you live


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 10:05:32 PM
 #7

Yea I got a couple quotes on units when the SP30's were first being released and several data centers had a hard time accommodating the power consumption and heat output for the rack size so in turn they charged extremely high fees. Find someone who specialized in mining equipment if you go down the co-locating road.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!