Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 07:27:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new rx480 keeps crashing  (Read 479 times)
Crystz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:11:05 AM
 #1

Hello,

I have purchased 5 rx 480 8gb, but one of them seems to be faulty.
It was mining at 24mh/s like the rest of the graphic cards, but it started to fall gradually from 24->20->14->8->0,
and now it just sits at 0 and will not go up. The fan is running just like the other graphic cards, but it is also 10 degrees C cooler than the rest. I have swapped out the pcie risers already and tested it on different ports. What could be causing this?

Best,
Crystz
1513236426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513236426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513236426
Reply with quote  #2

1513236426
Report to moderator
1513236426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513236426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513236426
Reply with quote  #2

1513236426
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513236426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513236426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513236426
Reply with quote  #2

1513236426
Report to moderator
1513236426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513236426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513236426
Reply with quote  #2

1513236426
Report to moderator
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:27:07 AM
 #2

If you already tried different risers, cables and PCI-E slots, you can also try the card by itself or on another machine to make sure. Otherwise it sounds like a bad card. Return it or get an exchage under warranty.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:38:57 AM
 #3

what is it clocked to :

stock bios
stock clock

what is the psu?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 10:41:57 AM
 #4

try to plug a monitor or dummy plug to that card

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
Crystz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:42:39 AM
 #5

I have EVGA 1300 g2 gold, mem clock set at 2000, and cor at 1180. I have plugged in the monitor but the monitor does not recognize the card. Does it matter where the pcie port is connected for it to show up on the monitor?

Edit: I plugged in the monitor on the faulty gpu, the monitor is working fine on it, but I have still getting 0 hash. also this gpu is currently in PCIE slot 2, im not sure if that matters.
Edit2: Something I realized is that the monitor screen glitches out right before the GPU dies. Thank you for telling me to plug in the monitor. Idk what this implies, but it seems like the gpu is faulty.

ronin82srb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 11:50:45 AM
 #6

Make sure that the card is visible in device manager as active device, and look in to gpuz after setting the clocks (does it accsept the clocks as the other 4 cards), I have a same problem with one of my cards, one of them not accsept clocks at first atempt, so I had to click in afterburner 2 or 3 times to get desired gpu and mem clock, after that all 4 cards hashing the same..
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 11:56:09 AM
 #7

are all 5 cards same make and model?

try  gpu-z  and see if the ram is different.

My guess is the drivers are corrupted on the card.

Does happen  when you have 4 or more cards.

Sometimes  mixed cards
Sometimes same cards different ram

Sometimes  a card  just says fuck you on mobo A  and works fine on mobo B

Do you have a testing mobo?


 Edit2: Something I realized is that the monitor screen glitches out right before the GPU dies. Thank you for telling me to plug in the monitor. Idk what this implies, but it seems like the gpu is faulty.

^
^
drivers loaded poorly or a bad clocking for that card.  

how did you set core?
how did you set memory?
did you flash these?

did you under volt? with msi afterburner?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Crystz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 12:10:47 PM
 #8

Yes all five of them are the same. I haven't flashed or done anything to them. Theyre cor is set to 1180 and mem to 2000.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 12:27:54 PM
 #9

Yes all five of them are the same. I haven't flashed or done anything to them. Theyre cor is set to 1180 and mem to 2000.

boot/restart the rig 2 times in a row


 then try   1150 and 1950.

if that does not work

remove the amd drivers then reinstall

if that does not work

consider the card for rma.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Crystz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 12:55:46 PM
 #10

Another one of my GPU is going through the same thing now.. thanks for all the help I think i will try to return them after I reinstall the drivers.
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 01:33:17 PM
 #11

What motherboard are u using ? Did all of your cards ever worked fine ? Did you set pcie in the bios to gen1 or gen2 ? If you switching around ur cards in the PCIE slots , always the same card give u trouble ?
If only the problematic card plugged in to the system , nothing else , the card is still hashing with 0 ?

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
Crystz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:54:16 PM
 #12

Update: I am using z170a on ETHos. Now 4/5 xfx cards are not working so im starting to think its not the GPU but something else.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 11:56:32 PM
 #13

Update: I am using z170a on ETHos. Now 4/5 xfx cards are not working so im starting to think its not the GPU but something else.

Try simplemining free download his thread is in this section

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!