Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:27:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Slow Booting time, Bad HDD, Dead SSD?  (Read 261 times)
Ultegra134
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 12:39:11 PM
 #1

I bought my laptop (Asus N551Jx) as refurbished back on September, it had a 320gb Seagate HDD listed and I also found a Kingston SSD on the Bios but nowhere to be found on Windows.
Can the slow booting time be caused by the slow HDD? Even loading screens in games take quite some time to load, could the SSD cause any issues and slow down the booting time? Is there any chance for the SSD to work, or is it dead since it's nowhere to be found on Windows?
Thanks in advance
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511152057
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152057

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152057
Reply with quote  #2

1511152057
Report to moderator
1511152057
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152057

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152057
Reply with quote  #2

1511152057
Report to moderator
MisO69
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


Shal'kek nem'ron


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 01:14:59 PM
 #2

I checked the specs and your laptop has only 1 hard drive. Maybe that SSD showing up is because the hard drive is a hybrid drive SSD/HDD. Slow access is usually because of an old hard drive. Over time the motor that moves the read/write heads wears out and the spindle motor also wears.

If the hard drive is close to 5 years old then you can bet this is the problem. Best thing to do is buy a real SSD and just replace it. Maxing out the memory is a good idea as well if you haven't already done so.
Ultegra134
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 10:43:11 PM
 #3

Thanks for the reply, my laptop from the factory comes in a variety of versions. Mine is the one with the i5 4200H, Full HD screen and 500GB HDD and 128gb SSD. The 500Gb was probably taken out (Possibly from the shop I bought it, I don't have a clue) and replaced with an old 320Gb one which has at least 2 or 3 years of use if I am not mistaken according to HD Sentinel. The SSD is still inside the laptop (I will have to remove the full case to have access) connected on a M.2 port, it's only recognized in BIOS.
ripplehd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=507103.0


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2017, 11:56:24 PM
 #4

Thanks for the reply, my laptop from the factory comes in a variety of versions. Mine is the one with the i5 4200H, Full HD screen and 500GB HDD and 128gb SSD. The 500Gb was probably taken out (Possibly from the shop I bought it, I don't have a clue) and replaced with an old 320Gb one which has at least 2 or 3 years of use if I am not mistaken according to HD Sentinel. The SSD is still inside the laptop (I will have to remove the full case to have access) connected on a M.2 port, it's only recognized in BIOS.
checked that he didnt put a dusty piece of shit in your laptop

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=507103.0 And Use "ripplehd1" as a discount when purchasing Cryptocurrency automatic trader.
Ultegra134
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 08:24:21 AM
 #5

Thanks for the reply, my laptop from the factory comes in a variety of versions. Mine is the one with the i5 4200H, Full HD screen and 500GB HDD and 128gb SSD. The 500Gb was probably taken out (Possibly from the shop I bought it, I don't have a clue) and replaced with an old 320Gb one which has at least 2 or 3 years of use if I am not mistaken according to HD Sentinel. The SSD is still inside the laptop (I will have to remove the full case to have access) connected on a M.2 port, it's only recognized in BIOS.
checked that he didnt put a dusty piece of shit in your laptop
The current Seagate 320gb HDD has 1128 days of use and 8300 start/stop count, quite old + slow HDD, I will look into replacing it with another one sooner or later, not having the funds at the moment.
mrbitcoin2017
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90

:)


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2017, 08:32:30 AM
 #6

Old systems.. Reinstall Op?

Ultegra134
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 08:42:56 AM
 #7

Old systems.. Reinstall Op?
Already tried that, didn't affect booting time at all, it's the ASUS screen that stays up for long, loading Bios, my best bet would be to change the HDD to a new, faster one I guess.
Red John
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149



View Profile
May 19, 2017, 09:19:10 AM
 #8

What is your boot option, Legacy or UEFI?
Ultegra134
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 02:55:13 PM
 #9

What is your boot option, Legacy or UEFI?
According to System information, my Bios mode is Legacy, that's what you mean right?Not really into the Bios stuff.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!