Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2018, 04:42:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Supermicro PWS-1K41P-1R Power Supply  (Read 624 times)
JaredKaragen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1036


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 03:09:16 AM
 #1

K guys.... finally got it working.... well, finally got around to properly testing it.

My buddy Tiger was able to get a good deal on these power supplies, and they are 100-140/180-250v compatible.  He left me a free sample to play with.  I see them on ebay for as low as $40 shipped OBO.

Supermicro PWS-1K41P-1R: 80 Plus Gold rated.

In 110V mode they supply 1100W(92A of +12V)
In 220V mode they supply 1400W(116A of +12V)

Looking at the top of the edge connector in the back, the large rail on the right is +12V.  The large rail on the right underside is GND.

If you bridge GND to the pin on the left edge connector that is "cut short" at the end (it stands out from ALL the rest, trust me)...  It will power on the +12V rail.

I think ill be using these on my personal miners from now on.

I am having trouble sourcing board-edge connectors (like block erupters I think, but with small pin spacing) to make an adaptor card to plug into this supply.   I could just hack some PCIE cables and whatnot and solder to the edge connector, but I'd like something that takes a little less time to assemble.  If I had to compare this card edge connector to anything, it's closest to looking like a PCIE slot.  It's a 44 pin double sided connector.


Any thoughts?

1537288938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537288938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537288938
Reply with quote  #2

1537288938
Report to moderator
1537288938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537288938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537288938
Reply with quote  #2

1537288938
Report to moderator
1537288938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537288938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537288938
Reply with quote  #2

1537288938
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537288938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537288938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537288938
Reply with quote  #2

1537288938
Report to moderator
1537288938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537288938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537288938
Reply with quote  #2

1537288938
Report to moderator
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 19, 2017, 09:51:08 PM
 #2

https://www.supermicro.com/products/powersupply/80PLUS/80PLUS_PWS-1K41P-1R.pdf
  Is this what your talking about?

This is what came in the chassis that the PSU would plug into-
http://www.ebay.com/itm/SuperMicro-SC827-Chassis-24-Pin-Power-Distribution-Unit-Part-PDB-PT827-S2488-/182450015923
JaredKaragen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1036


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 12:18:37 AM
 #3


exactly;  I need to source those connectors....


Even if that module is bought for $40;  its still a cheaper power supply than off the shelf for the wattage and rating....   I may snatch one of those up to remove the silver rated coolmax 1600w supply in my rackminer and replace it with this one.  I dont think Ill ever put 1600W on this supply ever;  The miners will usually stay >1000W when I build them for versatility sake.

hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 20, 2017, 01:09:09 AM
 #4

Well $40 isn't a bad buy. But  the part number is something you could start your research and maybe find a better deal on. These PSU's are able to be hot swapped with that chassis system. The part number I posted is for a 2U sized chassis. These same PSU's can go into about 6 different adapters depending on which chassis its in and how many PSU's will be added. I mention that because the seller is a business/recycler and you might contact them and see what else he has with the same adapter/different configuration. Look close at the picture and you will see its set up for TWO PSU's but you don't have to populate them both.
JaredKaragen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1036


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 08:02:41 AM
 #5

Yeah, I figured i would ever only need to use one PSU;  and my original idea was to populate a connector with a MB power connector and a handfull of PCIE pairs as pigtails.

These power supplies are extremely compact for the power delivery.  Me likey.

I just need to see if there's a nice way to secure it all in a chassis in a not-so-ghetto way.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!