Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 03:51:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: System Hangs - Black Screen No Signal  (Read 327 times)
MrN1ce9uy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 12:47:24 AM
 #1

I have 2 system plugged in to the same receptacle.

System 1 = 4 GPUs

Sysetm 2 = 1 GPU

System 2 keeps hanging by going to a black screen and sending no signal to the monitor. It is my daily use PC. I have a box fan plugged in to the adjacent wall's receptacle. I just now noticed that I can change the speed on the box fan and it will immediately trigger System 2 to hang like it has been doing about once a day randomly for the past 2 weeks (since I installed the new (refurbished) motherboard) which I suspected to be the issue and I've already ordered a replacement.

Both system 1 & 2 are grounded to the same ground. What could be the issue here?

*Edit: Just moved the power source (via extension chord  Undecided) of the system that hangs to another room in the house and the issue is no longer present, at least when i switch the fan speed.
1513266713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266713
Reply with quote  #2

1513266713
Report to moderator
1513266713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266713
Reply with quote  #2

1513266713
Report to moderator
1513266713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266713
Reply with quote  #2

1513266713
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513266713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266713
Reply with quote  #2

1513266713
Report to moderator
1513266713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266713
Reply with quote  #2

1513266713
Report to moderator
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:46:33 AM
 #2

Black screen after BIOS splash? Any POST beeps? Windows installed on the system already? Does the power button shut the system down instantly, or do you need to hold it? Your description tells us nothing, troubleshoot a bit, try different things, give greater details.
MrN1ce9uy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:58:17 AM
 #3

Sorry,

System is running normally and will boot fine, but randomly the display will go out when just browsing the web or sitting idle, black screen as in no signal to monitor. But the other system uses the same monitor and everything is fine with it. Power button has to be held to turn it off after display goes black. The 1 GPU in it stops mining when this happens. No heat issues.

The 2 systems are plugged in to the same surge protector when this is happening. Why is the one system doing this but not the other? *Note that I have used an extension chord to plug the system that hangs in to another room, and it is no longer hanging up. But I'd still like to know for sure what is happening.


System 1:
EVGA 850 B2
Celeron G1840
8GB DDR3 1600
GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
120GB SSD
2x RX 470 4GB
2x RX 480 4GB


System 2:
EVGA 500B
Pentium G4560
8GB DDR4 2400
MSI Z270M MORTAR
240GB SSD
1x RX 470 4GB
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 02:06:31 AM
 #4

the surge protector  may have been to close to its limits.

the 850 watt system was always pulling  close to 700 watts...

so you were close to the surge protectors limits  using 2 pc's

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 02:09:30 AM
 #5

also, look at the capacitors on the mainboard for any signs of failure.

MrN1ce9uy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 02:21:57 AM
 #6

also, look at the capacitors on the mainboard for any signs of failure.

Well i did do that a couple weeks ago when the issue first started and all the caps look good. The motherboard is refurbished and i already started the return process because it's only been a couple weeks. But I think it may be an electrical problem in my house as it is an old house. I wish I knew more about electricity. From what I've read it could be noise in the lines causing unstable voltages. But again, why is it just the one system that is affected?

*
the surge protector  may have been to close to its limits.

the 850 watt system was always pulling  close to 700 watts...

so you were close to the surge protectors limits  using 2 pc's

Actually, I switched the 500W system to the wall (same receptacle) to test that theory and it is still happening when I switch the box fan speed (plugged in to the adjacent wall receptacle) the system hangs and the display goes out.
MrN1ce9uy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 04:14:33 AM
 #7

Okay so with the system running off of the extension chord to the other room it has hung up again.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!