Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:42:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x 5870 Mining rig is unstable when more than 1 card is in - need help  (Read 944 times)
Funkypala
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 02:58:49 PM
 #1

Hi i have build a mining rig with 3 radeon 5870 (1 5850 is planned to come in as soon as i have it).

I use a msi 890 fxa gd70 motherboard and a 1000W psu from corsair.

I used Nattys Narwhale guide for mining. With the phoenix miner, but i also tried the diablo miner and it didn t work with that one either.


My Problem:
when i have 1 Grafic card on the board its all working fine and i can mine with no problems, but a soon as i put the others on the board the whole thing gets unstable and isn t working anymore.

I already tried a completely new installation of the system but it isn t working. I also tried Installing it without sdk but no success.



If anyone has an idea, what i can do to get this thing running please help me Smiley


I will give you all information i can to get this problem solved.

Thanks
( i can t write in the mining forum, thats why i write it here. If someon could relocate this thread i would be very pleased Wink )


 
1481107321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107321
Reply with quote  #2

1481107321
Report to moderator
1481107321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107321
Reply with quote  #2

1481107321
Report to moderator
1481107321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107321
Reply with quote  #2

1481107321
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107321
Reply with quote  #2

1481107321
Report to moderator
User-name
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:11:17 PM
 #2

My guess would be your power supply. What model is it?
kostia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:16:32 PM
 #3

Did you connect power to cards by 4 pin connectors?
Funkypala
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:19:33 PM
 #4

It is a corsair hx 1000 Watt PSU


I have not yet used 4 pins to connect the card. There are enough pcie express pins for 3 cards.

Should i use 4 pins?
kostia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:26:13 PM
 #5

I have not yet used 4 pins to connect the card. There are enough pcie express pins for 3 cards.

Should i use 4 pins?


Plug cards to pci-e slots AND plug appropriate wires from your PSU to card's 4 pin connectors, those are for additional power directly from PSU to cards.
Funkypala
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:38:58 PM
 #6

I will try that when im home, but i think two of the cards are already on both, the 6 pins and the 4 pins, but im not sure.
Thanks

Any other ideas?
User-name
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 03:40:25 PM
 #7

What about a fresh driver install? Could also rule out faulty gpu and PCI-E slots.
Funkypala
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:39:39 PM
 #8

Im not sure how, but i finally got it to work, after hours of installing actions Smiley


I m really gratefull for your input.

Thanks to everyone who answered.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!