Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 05:10:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU for 5x7950 Rig  (Read 1359 times)
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:54:14 AM
 #1

I've spent a few hours searching but haven't been able to find good answers. How large of a PSU do I need to run a 5x 7950 rig? 1250W or 1500W? If 1500, what are some good models?

Also, can I safely run 1/2 of these on a residential circuit (North America)?

Thanks in advance.
1513314650
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513314650

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513314650
Reply with quote  #2

1513314650
Report to moderator
1513314650
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513314650

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513314650
Reply with quote  #2

1513314650
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513314650
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513314650

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513314650
Reply with quote  #2

1513314650
Report to moderator
1513314650
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513314650

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513314650
Reply with quote  #2

1513314650
Report to moderator
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 01:16:32 PM
 #2

Bump
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 01:43:39 PM
 #3

There was recently a really good deal on an 850W Seasonic.  Using 2x of those shouldn't have any issues.  If your overclocking the 7950 your looking at 300-315W each.  A normal 15A residential circuit without any other high powered devices on it would handle 1/2 the load just fine 10A shouldn't have issues either.

Either way I doubt your going to be able to find a ("affordable") single PSU that can handle all 5 possibly if you run stock and get the best you can find.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:06:53 PM
 #4

Are they really 300W each? When I spent 2 hours searching here/Reddit/Google most of the replies I saw were that I could expect 200-225-250 each. I'm going to be using the Gigabyte cards with the updated bios.
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:08:24 PM
 #5

IF you heavily overclock them.  With a modest OC you can probably keep them under 250W.  Stock is around 205W.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:49:46 PM
 #6

Thanks for the help. How can I accurately calculate for the amps on a residential circuit? I'm looking to build a few rigs so I want to make sure I do it right.
Oldie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:16:05 PM
 #7

Thanks for the help. How can I accurately calculate for the amps on a residential circuit? I'm looking to build a few rigs so I want to make sure I do it right.

Engineering class... Watts = Amps x Volts, so in your case, Amps=Watts/Volts.  For 300w on a 120v circuit, that draws 2.5a.  On a 20amp circuit, you can theoretically put 2400w

Smiley
TheOrri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:21:29 PM
 #8

You might want to go safe with a seasonic 1250W, the difference in price isn't that great with a 850W.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!