Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2018, 12:19:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU for 5x7950 Rig  (Read 1359 times)
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:54:14 AM
 #1

I've spent a few hours searching but haven't been able to find good answers. How large of a PSU do I need to run a 5x 7950 rig? 1250W or 1500W? If 1500, what are some good models?

Also, can I safely run 1/2 of these on a residential circuit (North America)?

Thanks in advance.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526861973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526861973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526861973
Reply with quote  #2

1526861973
Report to moderator
1526861973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526861973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526861973
Reply with quote  #2

1526861973
Report to moderator
1526861973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526861973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526861973
Reply with quote  #2

1526861973
Report to moderator
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 01:16:32 PM
 #2

Bump
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 01:43:39 PM
 #3

There was recently a really good deal on an 850W Seasonic.  Using 2x of those shouldn't have any issues.  If your overclocking the 7950 your looking at 300-315W each.  A normal 15A residential circuit without any other high powered devices on it would handle 1/2 the load just fine 10A shouldn't have issues either.

Either way I doubt your going to be able to find a ("affordable") single PSU that can handle all 5 possibly if you run stock and get the best you can find.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:06:53 PM
 #4

Are they really 300W each? When I spent 2 hours searching here/Reddit/Google most of the replies I saw were that I could expect 200-225-250 each. I'm going to be using the Gigabyte cards with the updated bios.
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:08:24 PM
 #5

IF you heavily overclock them.  With a modest OC you can probably keep them under 250W.  Stock is around 205W.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Ultraviolet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 02:49:46 PM
 #6

Thanks for the help. How can I accurately calculate for the amps on a residential circuit? I'm looking to build a few rigs so I want to make sure I do it right.
Oldie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:16:05 PM
 #7

Thanks for the help. How can I accurately calculate for the amps on a residential circuit? I'm looking to build a few rigs so I want to make sure I do it right.

Engineering class... Watts = Amps x Volts, so in your case, Amps=Watts/Volts.  For 300w on a 120v circuit, that draws 2.5a.  On a 20amp circuit, you can theoretically put 2400w

Smiley
TheOrri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:21:29 PM
 #8

You might want to go safe with a seasonic 1250W, the difference in price isn't that great with a 850W.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!