Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 04:40:56 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Join a pooled bitcoin mining effort  (Read 50969 times)
doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
December 15, 2010, 01:48:10 AM
 #161

What the logs say, will the new pool have a site?

I'm keeping my server running until it generates a block so the people who've contributed hashes for the last couple of days haven't wasted their time. Hopefully not too many people will switch before that happens otherwise it'll be forever before it generates.

I'll update the bitcoin-pool page with the new IP address and a note that someone else is running it when that happens.
1481388056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388056
Reply with quote  #2

1481388056
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481388056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388056
Reply with quote  #2

1481388056
Report to moderator
1481388056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388056
Reply with quote  #2

1481388056
Report to moderator
1481388056
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388056

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388056
Reply with quote  #2

1481388056
Report to moderator
Enky1974
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250



View Profile
December 15, 2010, 09:16:08 PM
 #162

OK, i'll wait before switching.
Cya

__________________________________
My Blog at http://btctrading.wordpress.com/ | « O Fortuna,velut Luna statu variabilis, semper crescis aut decrescis »
Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373



View Profile
December 16, 2010, 04:01:16 AM
 #163

I'll be contributing to both until the old one solves a block.  Half as efficient, sure, but oh well.
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
December 20, 2010, 12:59:57 PM
 #164

Are the servers dead?
mico
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2010, 03:10:44 PM
 #165

yes, seems that server is down.

Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373



View Profile
December 20, 2010, 10:27:40 PM
 #166

Are the servers dead?
yes, seems that server is down.

Use 91.121.29.91 instead of the one on the webpage.  It's had its ups and downs but is chugging along for me right now.
mico
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile WWW
December 21, 2010, 08:02:07 AM
 #167

That is the server we are talking about. It was down for more than 8 hours yesterday and is down today again :-)

stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
December 21, 2010, 12:43:44 PM
 #168

It's back up at the moment. Join the effort! Smiley
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
December 23, 2010, 01:38:47 PM
 #169

Hi,

I just learnt about bitcoin & stuff. I joined the pooled bitcoin mining using remote (bitcoin-remote-20101211-win32bin).
I am using remoteminer-cuda.exe -server=91.121.29.91 -address=1PieWFhxSDFZEd6RfFkY73M7Au6d7AwehZ
Is any other servers there for backup.....
Also, if for any reason i have to change my address?
I heard for every transaction the address needs to be new.
Do i have to change the address if somewhat by luck or chance i got bitcoin from mining?
Thanks,

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
December 23, 2010, 05:25:24 PM
 #170

Is any other servers there for backup.....

This is the only puddinpop server currently online as far as I know.

Quote
Do i have to change the address if somewhat by luck or chance i got bitcoin from mining?

No. That's a recommendation for the sake of anonymity, but it isn't required.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
hacim
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
December 24, 2010, 06:21:29 PM
 #171

It looks like 91.121.29.91:8335 isn't responding

15yns1RVpBHZ8uj8mGVUJVCyPh5ieW3FQx
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
December 24, 2010, 06:23:51 PM
 #172

yes, server not responding...

is server down..........................??
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2010, 01:01:31 PM
 #173

Now we should can use new puddinpop's RPC Miners.

Register workers at http://mining.bitcoin.cz/ and use -url, -user and -password instead of -server and -address.

It will be something like...
Code:
@echo off
cls
:reconnect
rpcminer-cuda -gpu -url=http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -user=worker_login -password=worker_password
goto reconnect

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
puddinpop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
December 25, 2010, 02:01:00 PM
 #174

Now we should use puddinpop's RPC Miners.

No.  Those clients are only for those miners using the RPC method.  This thread is about the open source pooled mining, which uses different miners.  People should continue using whatever miners they've been using for this pool.

LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2010, 06:06:49 PM
 #175

Yes, but it seems that 91.121.29.91 is down. So miners may join some other
pool. Your clients successfully connect to the server http://mining.bitcoin.cz/
through RPC and compute hashes using a valid worker's login and password.

If it really works with pool, I'll add them to homepage.

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
mestar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
December 26, 2010, 04:13:11 PM
 #176

So, for now we have two incompatible protocols and two different sets of clients for pooled mining.

Also, we have only two servers, one for each protocol. The first one is "open sourced pooling server", clients listed at the first page of this thread.  The address of the server is 91.121.29.91, and sometimes the server is down.

example command lines:
remoteminer-cuda.exe -server=91.121.29.91 -address=19nYw...
remoteminer-cpu.exe -server=91.121.29.91 -address=19nYw...


Other is "shash's" server that uses RPC protocol. The server address is http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332, and also you have to register trough his web page.

example command lines:
minerd -t 4 --url http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 --userpass username.workername:passwd
poclbm.exe  -u username.workername --pass=passwd -o mining.bitcoin.cz -p 8332 -d 0


The first server has a better way of paying out, your address gets listed in the actual block that was generated.   Slash will first take it all, then give 10% to the one who found the block, then wait for the block to mature then send it.

The other issue is that of performance on Core Duo and Quad processors, the client for the first server has 20% better performance, and there is no way to get that performance on Intel cpu for Shash's server.




BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2010, 04:55:04 PM
 #177

The first server has a better way of paying out, your address gets listed in the actual block that was generated.   
please explain in which way this is "better".

Quote
Slash will first take it all, then give 10% to the one who found the block
untrue,
he has got "an idea" about it, he didn't even ask what his users think about it and i guess i'm not the only one who doesn't like that idea.

and i wouldn't be as sure as you are about puddinpop's miner being the fastest possible on CPUs,
maybe it's your setup.







mestar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
December 26, 2010, 05:04:24 PM
 #178

please explain in which way this is "better".

It is better because you see your mined share right away, and it is listed as "Generated" in the standard Bitcoin client.
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2010, 05:15:32 PM
 #179

that's correct, but you're also losing sub-cents.

let's say you contribute and generate 0.05436279 bitcoins.
the GUI tells you "Generated 0.05btc.." and as soon as you send those 0.05btc to another address, you've lost 0.00436279 bitcoins.
that's even worse if you just contribute very little CPU power and only generate 0.00999999btc or less per block,
you'll see that you "Generated 0.00btc...", but you will not be able to spend/send them, without losing them.

i can't see how this is "better", can you?

mestar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
December 26, 2010, 05:23:32 PM
 #180

and i wouldn't be as sure as you are about puddinpop's miner being the fastest possible on CPUs,
maybe it's your setup.


CPU mining became pretty worthless today, so this discussion is becoming irrelevant, but anyway:

Inter Core Duo, 2.66, and Core Quad 2.66, Win7-64, I get those speeds per core:

Bitcoin client 0.3.19:  1200 khash/sec
Puddinpop's remoteminer-cpu.exe:  1200 khash/sec
Garzik's minerd.exe, default 'c' algo:  1020 khash/sec

also:
minerd.exe, -a 4way:  670 khash/sec
minerd.exe, -a via:  crashes
minedr.exe, -a cyrptopp: 750 khash/sec
minerd.exe, -a cryptopp_asm32: 1200 khash/sec, but all work is rejected by the server.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!