Bitcoin Forum
September 30, 2016, 08:20:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Join a pooled bitcoin mining effort  (Read 50387 times)
mestar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
December 26, 2010, 05:25:50 PM
 #181

Good point BitLex.
1475223634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475223634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475223634
Reply with quote  #2

1475223634
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475223634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475223634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475223634
Reply with quote  #2

1475223634
Report to moderator
1475223634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475223634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475223634
Reply with quote  #2

1475223634
Report to moderator
1475223634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475223634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475223634
Reply with quote  #2

1475223634
Report to moderator
puddinpop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
December 26, 2010, 06:31:00 PM
 #182

Bitcoin as a protocol can handle sub cents perfectly fine.  In fact, the generation of such blocks demonstrates that capability.  The issue is with the GUI when selecting which transactions to include in new transactions and then ignoring the sub cents left over.  The 0.01 fee is for entire transactions less than 0.01, correct?  So you should be able to include as many sub 0.01 inputs as needed to get over the 0.01, or use a larger input transaction with sub cents, and get the correct sub cent change back.

Anyway, since the source of the pooled server is open, you can easily change the generation behavior if it doesn't suit you.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422


View Profile
December 27, 2010, 02:11:44 AM
 #183

The 0.01 fee is for entire transactions less than 0.01, correct?

No. It applies if any output is less than 0.01.

Bitcoin could choose coins intelligently to reduce the number of bitcoins thrown away, but it doesn't, so sub-cent amounts are nearly worthless currently.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373



View Profile
December 27, 2010, 04:21:17 AM
 #184

Honestly, given the current exchange rates, I could care less about the sub-cents issue.  There isn't a USD coin small enough to represent the maximum possible loss you can get from using one generation method over the other at this point.  It would take 4 instances of generating 0.00999999 BTC (and thus actually getting 0.00) to equal a penny that you should have gotten but didn't.  The most I've ever seen one penny buy is 12 minutes at a parking meter in a small town.  It's a non-issue.

If (and probably when) Bitcoins become worth more per unit of local currency, then perhaps that argument will be a bit more valid.  Until that happens, people need to find better arguments to support their side of the issue.  Nothing wrong with people using the method they happen to like better, or whichever server happens to be up at the moment, etc.
puddinpop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
December 27, 2010, 03:18:24 PM
 #185

The 0.01 fee is for entire transactions less than 0.01, correct?

No. It applies if any output is less than 0.01.

Bitcoin could choose coins intelligently to reduce the number of bitcoins thrown away, but it doesn't, so sub-cent amounts are nearly worthless currently.

Alright, so there really is no reason why the current client couldn't determine the best inputs so that <0.01 wouldn't happen unless there are no other better transactions available.

Help needed for rpcminer

Questions about the RPC miners should go in the RPC miners thread.

fabianhjr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Do The Evolution


View Profile
December 28, 2010, 04:59:00 AM
 #186

Anyone knows what's wrong with 91.121.29.91? Had been offline for 3 days now. :/

cdnbcguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2010, 03:01:04 AM
 #187

Anyone knows what's wrong with 91.121.29.91? Had been offline for 3 days now. :/

I'd like to know too. Time is money here. There's no excuse for this.

Annona ad! Please keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with Bitcoin itself. All it's scandals are caused by wonky websites and sleazy people exploiting it. The light attracts bugs.

When all this bullshit drys up and blows away, Bitcoin will be stronger than ever.
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
January 03, 2011, 10:05:53 AM
 #188

Could anyone volunteer to run a new server?
FairUser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
 #189

Could anyone volunteer to run a new server?

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.0

FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2011, 09:24:53 PM
 #190

Anyone knows what's wrong with 91.121.29.91? Had been offline for 3 days now. :/

I'd like to know too. Time is money here. There's no excuse for this.

No excuse needed. Feel free to give us a server to connect to yourself.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 10:08:01 PM
 #191

I'm trying to get into this pool mining but I cant find an easy way to set one up. Im in win7, is there a GUI that makes this easier for people like me? This client seems easy to use, but theres no server. Other clients are a little too complex for me.
schmidt.kendra1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 04:02:41 PM
 #192

I'm trying to get into this pool mining but I cant find an easy way to set one up. Im in win7, is there a GUI that makes this easier for people like me? This client seems easy to use, but theres no server. Other clients are a little too complex for me.

Bitjet,

I knew nothing about pool mining, until last night, and I am also running Windows 7 with an ATI 5770.

Following the instructions (see the section titled "How to Start") on https://deepbit.net/, I was up and running in about 30 minutes.

I had to download the OpenCL drivers from ATI's website, before I could use my GPU, and I used the GUIMiner to handle all the command line options for me. I found the GUIminer by following the link, on this post: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=1334.0, under the heading "GUI."

I'm certainly no expert, but having been successful so recently, you're welcome to ask any specific questions you might have while setting it up.

Good luck!

P.S. By the way, I used the Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer at http://www.geeks3d.com/20090414/gpu-caps-viewer-170-available-with-cuda-support/ to monitor the temperature of my GPU while I set it up. I found that adding "-s0.01" to the "Extra flags" field, gave me a little peace of mind, at a cost of about 10Mh/s. I may remove that, as it seems the GPUs fan is doing a good job of keeping up with the temperature. (Despite my signature, it seems I'm averaging about 120Mh/s... don't know why the signature shows less.)

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!