Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2018, 12:20:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to create new Electrum Wallet on Same Computer?  (Read 582 times)
viking02
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


🌟 COMSA ICO: 10/02/17 🌟


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 06:08:55 PM
 #1

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.





                               ,,,,╓╖µpp╖╖,,,,
                         ,╓g▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄µ╖          ,╖
                     ,╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓Ñ╖    ,@▓▌
                  ,á▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓µ╫▓▓▓▌
                ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀╜╙            '╙▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
              ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀`                       ╙▀▓▓▓███████▌
             @▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▀`            ,,,,,         ,g▓███████▀`
           ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓██▀         ,µ▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▄@, ,@▓███████▀
          ]▓▓▓▓███▓`       ╓▄▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█████████████▓╜
         ]▓▓▓▓█▓█╝       ╓▓█████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▀╜
         ▓▓▓▓███▌       ╙▓███████▓▒       "▀▓██████▀`
        ╫▓▓▓███▌          "▀████████▄        '▓██▀
        ▓█▓███▓▒            `▀████████▄,       `
       ]▓█████▌                ╙████████▓,
       ]▓█████▌                  ╙▓█▓█▓▓▓█▓╖
       ]▓█████▌                    ╙▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ▓█████▓[            ,,       `▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄
        ▓██████[            ╓@        ╙▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ╠██████▓          ╓▓▓▓▓m        ╙▓█▓▓▓▓▓█▓@
         ▓█████╜       ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄╖╖,,,╓╖▓▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓
         └▓█▓╜       ,@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▓▓█▀
          '"       ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▓▓▓▓█████████████▀╙        ,
                 ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╜    ╙▀▀▀▀▓▓▓▀▀▀▀╜          ╓▓▓▓╖
               g▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓`                          ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓w
            ,g▓██████████▓▄,                    ,╓@▓▓█▓▓▓█▓██╜
            ▓████████████████▓▄▄p╖,,     ,,╓µ▄▄▓██████████▓╜
            ▓█████╜╙▀███████████████████████████████████▀`
            ▓██▓╜     "▀▀███████████████████████████▀╜`
            ▓▀`            ╙▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀"
. COMSA
ICO: Oct 2 - Nov 6
█████
▄▄▄
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
█████
█████
▄▄▄▄▄
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
█████
1534897233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534897233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534897233
Reply with quote  #2

1534897233
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534897233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534897233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534897233
Reply with quote  #2

1534897233
Report to moderator
1534897233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534897233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534897233
Reply with quote  #2

1534897233
Report to moderator
1534897233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534897233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534897233
Reply with quote  #2

1534897233
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1090


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 06:16:37 PM
 #2

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.


Electrum is designed to support multi-wallet function.
Click "file">"new/restore", give your new wallet a name and follow the same installation steps you did previously.

viking02
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


🌟 COMSA ICO: 10/02/17 🌟


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 06:46:30 PM
 #3

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.


Electrum is designed to support multi-wallet function.
Click "file">"new/restore", give your new wallet a name and follow the same installation steps you did previously.


Hi there when i do this... let say i call it wallet b for example.

So that means i would have 2 electrum programs on my desktop?  Or i would still have 1 of them but 2 different wallets?  So when i open up electrum from my desktop which one would it open from then?

Do people here have more than 1 electrum wallet?  And if so, why do they?


                               ,,,,╓╖µpp╖╖,,,,
                         ,╓g▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄µ╖          ,╖
                     ,╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓Ñ╖    ,@▓▌
                  ,á▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓µ╫▓▓▓▌
                ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀╜╙            '╙▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
              ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀`                       ╙▀▓▓▓███████▌
             @▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▀`            ,,,,,         ,g▓███████▀`
           ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓██▀         ,µ▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▄@, ,@▓███████▀
          ]▓▓▓▓███▓`       ╓▄▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█████████████▓╜
         ]▓▓▓▓█▓█╝       ╓▓█████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▀╜
         ▓▓▓▓███▌       ╙▓███████▓▒       "▀▓██████▀`
        ╫▓▓▓███▌          "▀████████▄        '▓██▀
        ▓█▓███▓▒            `▀████████▄,       `
       ]▓█████▌                ╙████████▓,
       ]▓█████▌                  ╙▓█▓█▓▓▓█▓╖
       ]▓█████▌                    ╙▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ▓█████▓[            ,,       `▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄
        ▓██████[            ╓@        ╙▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ╠██████▓          ╓▓▓▓▓m        ╙▓█▓▓▓▓▓█▓@
         ▓█████╜       ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄╖╖,,,╓╖▓▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓
         └▓█▓╜       ,@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▓▓█▀
          '"       ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▓▓▓▓█████████████▀╙        ,
                 ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╜    ╙▀▀▀▀▓▓▓▀▀▀▀╜          ╓▓▓▓╖
               g▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓`                          ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓w
            ,g▓██████████▓▄,                    ,╓@▓▓█▓▓▓█▓██╜
            ▓████████████████▓▄▄p╖,,     ,,╓µ▄▄▓██████████▓╜
            ▓█████╜╙▀███████████████████████████████████▀`
            ▓██▓╜     "▀▀███████████████████████████▀╜`
            ▓▀`            ╙▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀"
. COMSA
ICO: Oct 2 - Nov 6
█████
▄▄▄
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
█████
█████
▄▄▄▄▄
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
█████
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1090


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 06:58:33 PM
 #4

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.


Electrum is designed to support multi-wallet function.
Click "file">"new/restore", give your new wallet a name and follow the same installation steps you did previously.


Hi there when i do this... let say i call it wallet b for example.

So that means i would have 2 electrum programs on my desktop?  Or i would still have 1 of them but 2 different wallets?  So when i open up electrum from my desktop which one would it open from then?

Do people here have more than 1 electrum wallet?  And if so, why do they?

There are many people that will have 2 electrum wallets.
For example:
You may want an electrum wallet for your phone that you can control and fund from your computer - you need two wallets on the computer because, if you have a large amount, say 10BTC you don't want to be carrying it around in your pocket. Instead, you'd carry 0.5 or 1 btc and have the opportunity to send more bitcoins to it later. (much better than trying to remember a 24-35 character address to put into your computer).

You will have only ONE wallet that you can see at one time.
If you wanted to get past this, you could always download another copy of electrum again and load each electrum program with a different wallet file. If that doesn't work, then I know you can download two different versions of the wallet software and use each of those for each wallet.

viking02
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


🌟 COMSA ICO: 10/02/17 🌟


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 07:07:56 PM
 #5

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.


Electrum is designed to support multi-wallet function.
Click "file">"new/restore", give your new wallet a name and follow the same installation steps you did previously.


Hi there when i do this... let say i call it wallet b for example.

So that means i would have 2 electrum programs on my desktop?  Or i would still have 1 of them but 2 different wallets?  So when i open up electrum from my desktop which one would it open from then?

Do people here have more than 1 electrum wallet?  And if so, why do they?

There are many people that will have 2 electrum wallets.
For example:
You may want an electrum wallet for your phone that you can control and fund from your computer - you need two wallets on the computer because, if you have a large amount, say 10BTC you don't want to be carrying it around in your pocket. Instead, you'd carry 0.5 or 1 btc and have the opportunity to send more bitcoins to it later. (much better than trying to remember a 24-35 character address to put into your computer).

You will have only ONE wallet that you can see at one time.
If you wanted to get past this, you could always download another copy of electrum again and load each electrum program with a different wallet file. If that doesn't work, then I know you can download two different versions of the wallet software and use each of those for each wallet.


Hi there bit confused with this.  There is an electrum wallet on iphone IOS?  I use a computer and an iphone but i dont have bitcoin on iphone.  So when i send bitcoin, i have to use my computer which has electrum etc.

But based on what i mentioned, i want 1 electrum program on my computer.  But have 2 different wallets right?  Thus the new wallet will have a new 12 word phrase?  So when i open electrum up from my desktop, which wallet is it going to open?  The first one or the second one?  Will it give me a choice like you want to open wallet 1 or 2 etc?


                               ,,,,╓╖µpp╖╖,,,,
                         ,╓g▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄µ╖          ,╖
                     ,╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓Ñ╖    ,@▓▌
                  ,á▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓µ╫▓▓▓▌
                ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀╜╙            '╙▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
              ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀`                       ╙▀▓▓▓███████▌
             @▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▀`            ,,,,,         ,g▓███████▀`
           ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓██▀         ,µ▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▄@, ,@▓███████▀
          ]▓▓▓▓███▓`       ╓▄▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█████████████▓╜
         ]▓▓▓▓█▓█╝       ╓▓█████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▀╜
         ▓▓▓▓███▌       ╙▓███████▓▒       "▀▓██████▀`
        ╫▓▓▓███▌          "▀████████▄        '▓██▀
        ▓█▓███▓▒            `▀████████▄,       `
       ]▓█████▌                ╙████████▓,
       ]▓█████▌                  ╙▓█▓█▓▓▓█▓╖
       ]▓█████▌                    ╙▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ▓█████▓[            ,,       `▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄
        ▓██████[            ╓@        ╙▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ╠██████▓          ╓▓▓▓▓m        ╙▓█▓▓▓▓▓█▓@
         ▓█████╜       ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄╖╖,,,╓╖▓▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓
         └▓█▓╜       ,@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▓▓█▀
          '"       ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▓▓▓▓█████████████▀╙        ,
                 ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╜    ╙▀▀▀▀▓▓▓▀▀▀▀╜          ╓▓▓▓╖
               g▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓`                          ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓w
            ,g▓██████████▓▄,                    ,╓@▓▓█▓▓▓█▓██╜
            ▓████████████████▓▄▄p╖,,     ,,╓µ▄▄▓██████████▓╜
            ▓█████╜╙▀███████████████████████████████████▀`
            ▓██▓╜     "▀▀███████████████████████████▀╜`
            ▓▀`            ╙▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀"
. COMSA
ICO: Oct 2 - Nov 6
█████
▄▄▄
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
█████
█████
▄▄▄▄▄
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
█████
Coin-Keeper
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 502



View Profile
August 07, 2017, 07:10:39 PM
 #6

Electrum opens the LAST wallet you had open before you closed it.  I have at least a half dozen wallets running on one Electrum installation.  You could have many more.  I control Electrum with TOR port 9150 through the network option.  I do that so I can mount Electrum before connecting to TOR.  This way Electrum mounts and I can see which wallet I am going to work with.  During this process there is NO internet connection to any server.  Once I get the wallet open that I want to use (no others open) I then connect to TOR, which immediately places me on an onion Electrum server.  I do this so there never is a connection between any of my wallets being online at the same time using the same IP.  Make sense?  I know this is way past your beginning question, but I went on here trying to show you how you can control so much with Electrum and some knowledge.

BTC: 1PYSBbuKM3kW19xe9TXJQfq64rPhd8XorF
Staked and Verified: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.msg17102755#msg17102755
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1090


View Profile
August 07, 2017, 07:19:42 PM
 #7

Hey all got a question.  I have bitcoins in electrum.  I have the 12 word phrase etc. 


However i would like to create a new electrum wallet with a new 12 word phrase etc.  Can someone tell me the best way to do this?  Would i need to send the bitcoin to blockchain first?


The thing is if i create a new electrum wallet, does that remove the old one from it?  The thing is i want to create a new wallet where i have a new and different 12 word phrase for electrum etc.


Electrum is designed to support multi-wallet function.
Click "file">"new/restore", give your new wallet a name and follow the same installation steps you did previously.


Hi there when i do this... let say i call it wallet b for example.

So that means i would have 2 electrum programs on my desktop?  Or i would still have 1 of them but 2 different wallets?  So when i open up electrum from my desktop which one would it open from then?

Do people here have more than 1 electrum wallet?  And if so, why do they?

There are many people that will have 2 electrum wallets.
For example:
You may want an electrum wallet for your phone that you can control and fund from your computer - you need two wallets on the computer because, if you have a large amount, say 10BTC you don't want to be carrying it around in your pocket. Instead, you'd carry 0.5 or 1 btc and have the opportunity to send more bitcoins to it later. (much better than trying to remember a 24-35 character address to put into your computer).

You will have only ONE wallet that you can see at one time.
If you wanted to get past this, you could always download another copy of electrum again and load each electrum program with a different wallet file. If that doesn't work, then I know you can download two different versions of the wallet software and use each of those for each wallet.


Hi there bit confused with this.  There is an electrum wallet on iphone IOS?  I use a computer and an iphone but i dont have bitcoin on iphone.  So when i send bitcoin, i have to use my computer which has electrum etc.

But based on what i mentioned, i want 1 electrum program on my computer.  But have 2 different wallets right?  Thus the new wallet will have a new 12 word phrase?  So when i open electrum up from my desktop, which wallet is it going to open?  The first one or the second one?  Will it give me a choice like you want to open wallet 1 or 2 etc?

I'm not sure they do it for iPhone, they make it or android and that's what the majority of people use.

Electrum opens the LAST wallet you had open before you closed it.

This is correct, but it's very simple to switch between wallets.
All you need to do is click file>recently open>*walletName* and your other wallet opens

Coin-Keeper
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 502



View Profile
August 07, 2017, 07:28:01 PM
 #8

I edited in some OPsec stuff to my post above.  For many the IP part of my OPsec may mean little.  But for others that are trying to run wallets with no apparent relationship to each other, it might clarify how to accomplish doing so.

BTC: 1PYSBbuKM3kW19xe9TXJQfq64rPhd8XorF
Staked and Verified: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.msg17102755#msg17102755
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!