Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 04:13:07 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gekko - a javascript trading bot and backtesting platform  (Read 147807 times)
Gimmoroy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 05:10:32 PM
 #261

It would be awesome to see this bot converted over to talib and coffeescript so methods could be easily imported from cryptotrader.  Not sure how much work that would be, any thoughts?

By the way there is standalone tool similar to Gekko that supports all Cryptotrader.org features https://github.com/pulsecat/cryptrade  


Standalone tool or in fact Cryptotrader.org client (as written on github) ? I'm not too much experienced to understand at a glance the way it operate. Smiley
1715184787
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715184787

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715184787
Reply with quote  #2

1715184787
Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715184787
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715184787

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715184787
Reply with quote  #2

1715184787
Report to moderator
pulsecat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 220
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 10, 2013, 05:16:23 PM
 #262

It would be awesome to see this bot converted over to talib and coffeescript so methods could be easily imported from cryptotrader.  Not sure how much work that would be, any thoughts?

By the way there is standalone tool similar to Gekko that supports all Cryptotrader.org features https://github.com/pulsecat/cryptrade 


Standalone tool or in fact Cryptotrader.org client (as written on github) ?

Well, the tool is fed with market data downloaded from the site, but all trading is performed on client side.

CryptoTrader.org - Cloud-based Automated Trading on Bitstamp/BTC-E/CEX.IO/Bitfinex/Kraken | Discussion topic at Bitcointalk.org | Automated Trading Contest (Prize 2 BTC)
daybyter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 965
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:15:15 PM
 #263

I'm working on such stuff, but it will need some time, before it is ready for release. Looking for a collab, but no interest so far...

Gimmoroy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 07:37:49 PM
Last edit: November 10, 2013, 08:43:38 PM by Gimmoroy
 #264

Well, the tool is fed with market data downloaded from the site, but all trading is performed on client side.

IMHO - very bad idea. Bitcoincharts is well known "stable" service. This days I have a satanic problems as my bots must load historical data from it, but have 404,502 and more shit.

Maybe you build a really better service, but I don't need this.

I (as a user) need a standalone bot, which:
 
can sit on some VDS and keep all it need in local environment
have trading algorithm which can be modified or completely rewritten without head ash
have interface to major exchanges API (bitstamp,btce,btcchina)
have modular structure, which allow it to be real open source, but not the one more programmer's toy (old,without eye and paw on github's attic)  

Something like QtBitcoinTrader or MT4,  but concentrated on easy implementation of different trade strategies on different exchanges. Based on node.js.




  
daybyter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 965
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 12:44:22 AM
 #265

I totally agree with almost everything you said. But I won't use javascript for such a project.

Gimmoroy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 11, 2013, 01:10:41 AM
 #266

I totally agree with almost everything you said. But I won't use javascript for such a project.

Written in Java it will not be popular
in php it will be stupid because anyway it will use JS for interfaces
Pithon - it will not be reliable.. one more "Basic like" - C# - win only

You have no choice  Wink

node.js is just like bitcoin: you can resist, but you can't ignore. People make very powerful (including high loaded )  projects on it.
 


 
TradesLikeAPotato
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 01:21:19 AM
 #267

Well, the tool is fed with market data downloaded from the site, but all trading is performed on client side.

IMHO - very bad idea. Bitcoincharts is well known "stable" service. This days I have a satanic problems as my bots must load historical data from it, but have 404,502 and more shit.

Maybe you build a really better service, but I don't need this.

I (as a user) need a standalone bot, which:
 
can sit on some VDS and keep all it need in local environment
have trading algorithm which can be modified or completely rewritten without head ash
have interface to major exchanges API (bitstamp,btce,btcchina)
have modular structure, which allow it to be real open source, but not the one more programmer's toy (old,without eye and paw on github's attic)  

Something like QtBitcoinTrader or MT4,  but concentrated on easy implementation of different trade strategies on different exchanges. Based on node.js.




  


Agreed. Cryptotrader is the closest I've found but nothing as of yet can handle the algorithms I have in mind. I wish I had more programming experience so I could do it myself.
daybyter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 965
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 01:45:29 AM
 #268

So far I'm very happy with my java code.

TradesLikeAPotato: I am still looking for a collab, if you want to discuss your ideas ...

TradesLikeAPotato
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 01:58:50 AM
 #269

So far I'm very happy with my java code.

TradesLikeAPotato: I am still looking for a collab, if you want to discuss your ideas ...


I've sent you a message.
San1ty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 09:55:07 AM
 #270

Why are we discussing cryptotrader in the Gekko topic?

It would be awesome to see this bot converted over to talib and coffeescript so methods could be easily imported from cryptotrader.  Not sure how much work that would be, any thoughts?

This bot doesn't do anything special (trading-algo wise). This is nothing you can't write in 5 minutes in coffeescript.
Perhaps more people here should do some self education on what good / bad indicators are and try to understand them.

BTW: Because none of the current bots out there were working for me, I coded my own one in Node.JS in 2 days, working perfectly. All of you could do this if you put a little effort in it...

Found my posts helpful? Consider buying me a beer :-)!:
BTC - 1San1tyUGhfWRNPYBF4b6Vaurq5SjFYWk NXT - 17063113680221230777
Gimmoroy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 10:53:12 AM
 #271

Why are we discussing cryptotrader in the Gekko topic?

BTW: Because none of the current bots out there were working for me, I coded my own one in Node.JS in 2 days, working perfectly. All of you could do this if you put a little effort in it...

Want to make it open source?


 
San1ty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 11:01:53 AM
 #272

Why are we discussing cryptotrader in the Gekko topic?

BTW: Because none of the current bots out there were working for me, I coded my own one in Node.JS in 2 days, working perfectly. All of you could do this if you put a little effort in it...

Want to make it open source?

I'm thinking of making a GitHub repository yes. The code still needs a lot of cleaning and testing (currently running for over 48 hours and I'm double-checking it's decision making). I'll make my own topic when the time comes.

Currently I'm not using a vanilla (basic) indicator. And I might want to keep that to myself or have the bot call a server of mine for it's decision making and open-source the rest. Or I could add a simpler indicator for the open-source version.

So still a lot of things to consider.

Found my posts helpful? Consider buying me a beer :-)!:
BTC - 1San1tyUGhfWRNPYBF4b6Vaurq5SjFYWk NXT - 17063113680221230777
Gimmoroy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 11:49:03 AM
 #273

Can you publish logs or smt to estimate real efficiency of bot/algo?
San1ty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 12:08:01 PM
 #274

Sure, when I get back to my testing machine, I'll have a look through the logs. Which reminds me, I definitely still need a profit reporting module.

Found my posts helpful? Consider buying me a beer :-)!:
BTC - 1San1tyUGhfWRNPYBF4b6Vaurq5SjFYWk NXT - 17063113680221230777
andrepcg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 13, 2013, 12:15:43 AM
 #275

I have not tried to run the bot with real trading and I was looking in the code for more details how it works and I found the buy/sell part of it:

Code:
if(this.infinityOrderExchange)
   amount = 10000;
else
   amount = this.getBalance(this.currency) / this.ticker.ask;

MtGox has infinityOrder so it will try to buy/sell 10000 Bitcoins everytime or usdBalance/currentBTCprice otherwise.

My suggestion is to enable in the config some parameter that sets the amount (in USD) you ware willing to spend every trade. I don't want to run the bot on the full amount of my MtGox account, I want to setup some max value I'm willing to spend.

I think it's a pretty good sugestion
whydifficult (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2013, 12:17:13 AM
 #276

I have not tried to run the bot with real trading and I was looking in the code for more details how it works and I found the buy/sell part of it:

Code:
if(this.infinityOrderExchange)
   amount = 10000;
else
   amount = this.getBalance(this.currency) / this.ticker.ask;

MtGox has infinityOrder so it will try to buy/sell 10000 Bitcoins everytime or usdBalance/currentBTCprice otherwise.

My suggestion is to enable in the config some parameter that sets the amount (in USD) you ware willing to spend every trade. I don't want to run the bot on the full amount of my MtGox account, I want to setup some max value I'm willing to spend.

I think it's a pretty good sugestion

Good point, I am looking into changing the whole config structure to make everything more clear.

Gekko a nodejs bitcoin trading bot!
Realtime Bitcoin Globe - visualizing all transactions and blocks
Tip jar (BTC): 1KyQdQ9ctjCrGjGRCWSBhPKcj5omy4gv5S
andrepcg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 13, 2013, 12:28:03 AM
 #277

Good!

I was thinking something like this: I set the max trade value at 10 USD, so it tries to buy X BTC with the available 10USD. Later, when the sell order is activated (presumably at a higher price) it stores the profits and keep "betting" the same USD. Maybe some people will like to use the profits for the next trade so a configuration for this would be good.

One more way to improve the bot. Implement a stop loss config so if the EMA crosses down and the price is falling, don't sell the BTC unless they're less than the stop loss, and maybe in the long run it could be beneficial. As the price rises, the stop loss could rise to so it could be a percentage of drop after the top or something like that.

A couple of suggestions to improve the bot, I'm not asking for anything, I could code them myself.

Keep up the good work!
Queenvio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 838
Merit: 533



View Profile
November 21, 2013, 04:09:07 PM
Last edit: November 22, 2013, 02:25:08 PM by Queenvio
 #278

Hey, first of all, this project is a nice idear.

I installed it and want to trade at BTC-e


But I get the Error-Message:

Code:
Failed to load historical trades from bitcoincharts

the "Interval" is set to 30 mins at the moment, I also tryed 15 and 5 mins.


Has someone a solution?

Greetings


Edit: MtGox is working, but im looking for BTC-e

P.S. Also if I dont want to trade at Bitstamp, I get the Error
Code:
/home/gekko/methods/realtime-candle-fetcher.js:98
    throw 'Failed to load historical trades from ' + this.watcher.name;
                                                   ^
Failed to load historical trades from Bitstamp
tropicthunder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 01:15:22 AM
 #279

What is the best bot to use?
silvermario
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 10:50:10 PM
 #280

What is the best bot to use?

Best to use a bot that makes money in the long run Wink
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!