Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:39:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: hardware mining question ATI  (Read 1656 times)
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:15:33 AM
 #1

Hello,

I understand the 3800 ATI series can not mine. I read it was a hardware issue about a cache missing or such.
I kind of understand that but .... I came across a distributed.net client that supports the 3800's and it appears to work.
So my question is, if distributed.net can create a client that can access the ATI GPU on the 3800's (using stream)
Why couldn't someone savvy create a mining client that will put the 3800's to work?
It just seems to me if DNET can get the GPU to crunch, than it should be able to mine right?

My apologies if this is beating a dead horse. I realize the consensus is the 3800's can't mine and that is all there is to it.

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
1481121596
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121596

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121596
Reply with quote  #2

1481121596
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481121596
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121596

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121596
Reply with quote  #2

1481121596
Report to moderator
1481121596
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121596

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121596
Reply with quote  #2

1481121596
Report to moderator
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:16:21 AM
 #2

It's very simple. The ATI mining client is made in OpenCL that is supported from the 4000 series (so also 5000 and 6000)

The 2000 and 3000 series support CAL but as far as i know there is no mining client in CAL

The projects you name have a CAL client, that's why they run without problems on 3000 cards


Is a mining client in CAL doable? I think yes, should not be "too" hard... it will also make 6000 guys happy, no more freeze/crash when they use the GPU for something else...
Seuros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:32:13 AM
 #3

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!

1LQBkdUjMyjjGxob2ggWu52DKYJgp3NXXC
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:36:17 AM
 #4

thank you for helping me understand better.
I looked at the source for the dnet client. It seemed very doable, maybe even borrowing heavily from their code with their permission of course.
but I'm not a programmer.  Embarrassed

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!
What miner are you using?

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:15:29 PM
 #5

bumping to find the CAL mining client.
Or to get support to have a client developed to put them 3800's to work.

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
rampagewsu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:18:48 PM
 #6

bumping to find the CAL mining client.
Or to get support to have a client developed to put them 3800's to work.

I'd like to see some info on this as well.

 *Link Removed*
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:55:06 PM
 #7

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!
My spider sense tell me this is bullshit  Roll Eyes
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:10:47 PM
 #8

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!
My spider sense tell me this is bullshit  Roll Eyes
I know right? I've done too may google search's for the client and haven't found anything yet.
Found plenty saying 3800's don't have the hardware to do it but I think the Dnet client proves that wrong.

The newbie section probably isn't the best place for this thread but it's the only place I can post for now..

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:24:13 AM
 #9

Is it possible for a mod to move this to the development/technical section of the forum?
I was going to post a new thread there linking back to this for more discussion on it.

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
X68N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:53:35 AM
 #10

It is not worth for mining because it is to slow.
Just sell your Card/s on Ebay and buy a better card you could afford like 4xxx or 5xxx :-)
Dont try to race with your Shopping-Cart against an Army of tuned Ferrari's ;-)

Coinbase - All your money are belong to us  Cheesy -> http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_your_base_are_belong_to_us
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 03:11:27 AM
 #11

Maybe maybe not. Depends on if someone is doing it for fun or trying to make a profit off it.

it's more about another option for a client, maybe give someone an idea on how to improve current clients.
You could use your argument against the people running 2 6990's vs the people running 4 boxes+ of 4 6990's.
That isn't stopping people from doing 2 5830's either. See what I'm saying?
Moar options are always good and maybe it won't even be useless Tongue




https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
Dimsum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 03:12:30 AM
 #12

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!

Oh look.. its mr funny guy =/

To the OP... even to create a client, its probably not worth it in terms of the Mhash/s you will get from it. So this is probably the main factor that nobody has done so. You are just better off upgrading to a 5xxx card minimum at this point to just get something at least.
matt_b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 03:18:49 AM
 #13

Are all the miners about the same in speed? I'm using poclbm....is there a faster one out there? Maybe one done in C++ instead of Python?

Matt
TigolBitteez
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 05:05:29 AM
 #14

Get the Radeon 5830 or other 5 series at a reasonable price. With the right Overclocking (Trixx at 980/300) you should be at a 300 Hash rate.
SlipperySlope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

Stephen Reed


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 05:28:05 AM
 #15

You might have to settle for the readily available, as of late June 2011, HD 5770 GPU cards.  Mine do 202 MH/sec when overclocked and work = 128.  They do not run too hot.
magicrat80
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 05:48:14 AM
 #16

Someone has already mentioned it, but the ATI HD5830 are a great little card to start off with.
I'm pulling 285-300 m/hashs based on 975/350 settings with afterburner and windows 7.
In Australia, you can pick them up for around $140-$150 depending on where you shop.
X68N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:39:43 AM
 #17

Maybe maybe not. Depends on if someone is doing it for fun or trying to make a profit off it.

it's more about another option for a client, maybe give someone an idea on how to improve current clients.
You could use your argument against the people running 2 6990's vs the people running 4 boxes+ of 4 6990's.
That isn't stopping people from doing 2 5830's either. See what I'm saying?
Moar options are always good and maybe it won't even be useless Tongue

No thats wrong,
If you are significant too slow it makes no Sense, that should but clear.
If it is fun to Waste Energy, Money, Calculating Time - ok that must be a rare fetish ;-)

If you are in the midfield with your hashrate (average) it is Ok,
More Speed is better but not nessessary to make Profit.
Logically the More Speed the more you get (but the Card is also more expensive...)

So my guideline is the Mhash per Watt Ratio.
My Advice 2 or more Mhash per Watt.

Coinbase - All your money are belong to us  Cheesy -> http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_your_base_are_belong_to_us
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:19:25 AM
 #18

Here in europe we have online shops with 5830 at 99€ and they are available  Cheesy
Seuros
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:11:05 PM
 #19

thank you for helping me understand better.
I looked at the source for the dnet client. It seemed very doable, maybe even borrowing heavily from their code with their permission of course.
but I'm not a programmer.  Embarrassed

I using CAL for mining in 5870 and 6990, and the speed is 40-50% faster!
What miner are you using?

"Whitepixel" with my own sha256 module!

1LQBkdUjMyjjGxob2ggWu52DKYJgp3NXXC
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:43:41 PM
 #20

don't assume you might make an ass out of yourself.
Someone has already mentioned it, but the ATI HD5830 are a great little card to start off with.
I'm pulling 285-300 m/hashs based on 975/350 settings with afterburner and windows 7.
In Australia, you can pick them up for around $140-$150 depending on where you shop.
Here in europe we have online shops with 5830 at 99€ and they are available  Cheesy
no not all miners are equal in speed from what I have seen.
and I'm locking this from the haters and assumers maybe a programmer will be enlightened if they see this.

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!