Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:52:27 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Graphics cards not detected with my new PCI-E risers...  (Read 2593 times)
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:18:56 PM
 #1

Hi guys, I just got in my PCI Express x16 risers today.

I've risen all of the video cards, but now, the mobo only detects # 0 and 2, with it unable to get any operating information out of #1. If I've done this correctly (which I believe so), it should be able to detect all of them!  (0, 1, 2, 3)

Have any of you experienced problems such as this?

1480773147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773147
Reply with quote  #2

1480773147
Report to moderator
1480773147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773147
Reply with quote  #2

1480773147
Report to moderator
1480773147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773147
Reply with quote  #2

1480773147
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773147
Reply with quote  #2

1480773147
Report to moderator
1480773147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773147
Reply with quote  #2

1480773147
Report to moderator
timberfox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:32:20 PM
 #2

Have you troubleshooted to make sure its not the cables; ie switching the working cables/card combinations around to eliminate that variable?

next, i would see if when you remove the working 2 if the others get detected.

my pic-e 16x risers work fine by themselves, but my mobo makes me jump the pci-e 1x hooked up to a card with a wire to force the auto detection of a card or something...

anyways, other people will likely wanna know the specifics of your machine before they can troubleshoot anymore.
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:46:05 PM
 #3

Have you troubleshooted to make sure its not the cables; ie switching the working cables/card combinations around to eliminate that variable?

next, i would see if when you remove the working 2 if the others get detected.

my pic-e 16x risers work fine by themselves, but my mobo makes me jump the pci-e 1x hooked up to a card with a wire to force the auto detection of a card or something...
anyways, other people will likely wanna know the specifics of your machine before they can troubleshoot anymore.

I second this, did you get your auto detection wire in place ?

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:50:42 PM
 #4

Have you troubleshooted to make sure its not the cables; ie switching the working cables/card combinations around to eliminate that variable?

next, i would see if when you remove the working 2 if the others get detected.

my pic-e 16x risers work fine by themselves, but my mobo makes me jump the pci-e 1x hooked up to a card with a wire to force the auto detection of a card or something...
anyways, other people will likely wanna know the specifics of your machine before they can troubleshoot anymore.

I second this, did you get your auto detection wire in place ?

I'm not using the x1 port.

Switched the wires, it seems like it's the card's problem. Weird, hadn't have any problems until today. Hope I didn't damage any resistors.

[Edit: Now Ubuntu hangs on the purple loading screen indefinitely.]

1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:56:00 PM
 #5

Can someone explain what an auto detection wire is?
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:05:48 PM
 #6

chick try pushing the riser just in that little bit more a lot of the time its just not 100% in even tho it looks right
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:09:36 PM
 #7

chick try pushing the riser just in that little bit more a lot of the time its just not 100% in even tho it looks right

No, I've even tried plugging in the card directly into the socket, however, it does the same thing.

It looks like I've damaged one of the resistors / transistors on the thing... I've going to get an exchange from Newegg since it's been less than 2 weeks.

zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:19:36 PM
 #8

oh well if you have tried the card direct in the board. On a line that you know is working then its dead. RMA it Smiley.

Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:32:39 PM
 #9

oh well if you have tried the card direct in the board. On a line that you know is working then its dead. RMA it Smiley.



Holy crap, I was going to mail it. However I have ten 5830 boxes. I don't know which one to mail! They all have different numbers on the bottom of each box.  Huh

1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:36:32 PM
 #10

should be able to match the stickers on the box with the one on the back of the video card pcb
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!