Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 04:53:34 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help Building -QT on Mac OSX?  (Read 1532 times)
shakezula (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 08:52:56 PM
 #1

Ok, I'm stuck. I've tried a lot of things yet I can simply NOT get past this:


Undefined symbols:
  "MapPort()", referenced from:
      OptionsModel::setData(QModelIndex const&, QVariant const&, int)in optionsmodel.o
  "_fUseUPnP", referenced from:
      OptionsModel::setData(QModelIndex const&, QVariant const&, int)in optionsmodel.o
ld: symbol(s) not found
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

When it tries to build. I have tried on multiple VMs with multiple QT and GCC versions, nearly all end up with this error. Here's what I did on the latest build:

Installed OSX 10.6 in VMWare
Updated through 10.6.8 and all available software through today
Installed XCode 3.2.6
Installed MacPorts
$sudo port install boost db48 git-core openssl miniupnpc
went in to ~/bitcoin and tried to do:
qmake and then make

When it errored out, I tried installing QT Creator just to take the qmake line and tried this one:

$ qmake /Users/adam/bitcoin/bitcoin-qt.pro -r -spec macx-g++ CONFIG+=x86_64 "USE_UPNP=-"

but when I make it errors out the same. I've tried editing the .pro file with /opt/local/ includes for MINIUPNPC and all others. I've also tried building another VM from scratch and doing the SAME thing without ports, using homebrew instead. SAME ISSUES!

Please, I know this has to be something easy I'm missing, anyone anyone help?
1714841614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714841614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714841614
Reply with quote  #2

1714841614
Report to moderator
1714841614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714841614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714841614
Reply with quote  #2

1714841614
Report to moderator
1714841614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714841614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714841614
Reply with quote  #2

1714841614
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714841614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714841614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714841614
Reply with quote  #2

1714841614
Report to moderator
jayo89
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180
Merit: 100


The All-in-One Cryptocurrency Exchange


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 05:52:37 AM
 #2

Bump for interest.  I'm having trouble compiling for mac as well.

「   B e a x y   」   THE ALL-IN-ONE CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE
[ WHITEPAPER ]              Instant Deposit                   24/7 Support                    Referral Program              [ LIGHTPAPER ]
ANN THREAD     ●     BOUNTY THREAD     ●     FACEBOOK     ●   TWITTER     ●     TELEGRAM
shakezula (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 01:59:06 PM
 #3

I solved it, no help from the peanut gallery.  Roll Eyes

The solution for me was to comment out the second bit of code in the -qt.pro file related to UPNP. Basically even if I did "qmake "USE_UPNP=-" it would return "Building without UPNP" and then just under it "Building with UPNP." Following that, I realized that the if ==/else== is seemingly wrongly syntaxed in the .pro file. I changed that section in the .pro file to look like this:

# qmake "USE_UPNP=-" (not supported)
contains(USE_UPNP, -) {
    message(Building without UPNP support)
}

and re-ran qmake/make and voila. Yes, this is a dirty way to do it. Yes, my -qt has no UPNP support (no, I don't care). I have no formal C/C++ training so this is how I learn, trial and error. Cheesy

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!