Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 04:50:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Vega 64 Mining Setup and general questions.  (Read 3026 times)
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 04:39:25 PM
 #1

Hi, ive some questions.

I already have asic miners in my farm and want to start now to build up a gpu test rig.

Iam not sure about how many gpus i should build up a rig and which os.

My thoughts were about:

13 GPU Rig Vega 64 running with Simpleminer.

or

8(or 6) GPU Rig Vega 64 running windows. (Not totally sure how many gpus windows supports, 6 ,7 or 8 GPUs?).



How would you guys calculate the PSU on those graficcards.

My problem is i would like to run those Gpus on Windows cause of better handle of overclocking and undervolting. On simpleminer iam not sure but i heard that undervolting is not possible. Is simpleminer Vega 64 ready have anyone tried it yet and which hashrates you guys got on smos? Is it really that easy on simpleminer to just flash the ssd with the os and start running the rig without any other settings?
1542775807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542775807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542775807
Reply with quote  #2

1542775807
Report to moderator
1542775807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542775807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542775807
Reply with quote  #2

1542775807
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542775807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542775807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542775807
Reply with quote  #2

1542775807
Report to moderator
1542775807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542775807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542775807
Reply with quote  #2

1542775807
Report to moderator
Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 04, 2017, 04:41:54 PM
 #2

Latest updates on Windows 10 supports more than 8 GPU-s. Better to go with Windows because you have more possibilities than with Simpleminer. With windows you can mine with Nicehash, claymore , genoil and certain other miners so you can play around with your cards until you find the sweet spot and keep the cards at these settings.




    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
              ██    ██
            ██    ██
          ██    ██
        ██    ██
      ██    ██       
    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
TRADEPLAYZ
█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   
TOURNAMENT PVP SYSTEM
  FACEBOOK |  TWITTER  |  LINKEDIN  |  TELEGRAM  |  GITHUB  |  ANN  | INSTAGRAM 

█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   

                     █▄
                     ████▄
                     ██████▄
                     ████████▄
                     ██████████▄
                     ████████████▄
                     ██████████████▄
                     ███████████████
                     ██████████████▀
                     ████████████▀
                     ██████████▀
                     ████████▀
                     ██████▀
                     ████▀
                     █
█▀
GOOGLE PLAY

                            ▄█████████████▄
                            ███████████████
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            ██████▀▀▀██████
                             ▀████▄▄▄▄████▀
  APPSTORE
Bobby_Atlas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100

Walking alone in the darkness


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 04:45:43 PM
 #3

you also can take ethos (but it cost near 39$).
In fact with it you will get no problems. Windows always bring you "surprises" and they are not good, usually.
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 321


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2017, 04:55:37 PM
 #4

Why VEGA 64? What you want to mine with that? Poor hashrate for every coin I know for that price.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V8 (CNv2) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv2 ✅
🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│🔐Protect from phishing sites with Cryptonite!🛡️│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 05:43:31 PM
 #5

Latest updates on Windows 10 supports more than 8 GPU-s. Better to go with Windows because you have more possibilities than with Simpleminer. With windows you can mine with Nicehash, claymore , genoil and certain other miners so you can play around with your cards until you find the sweet spot and keep the cards at these settings.

That information would be nice could you give me a link where i can see this? So you are sure i could run 13 GPUs on Windows 10?

Thanks for your reply.
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 05:50:26 PM
 #6

One more question.

Which and how many PSU would i need to run 13 Vega 64 cards. Could you give me any recommendations?
And which CPU and how many ram would i need to run 13 cards?
Set Ready Go
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 185
Merit: 13


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 05:55:47 PM
 #7

Even if 13 gpus works on windows 10 you will have to have both AMD and Nvidia cards as i understand it meanwhile in SMOS, Ethos, Pimp you can run 12-13?  of AMD cards.


And for psus well, 13x2=26   8 pin pcie cables,

so hmm you could buy 2x delta 2400 watt psus

but if server psus not an option maybe 2x evga 1600 g2 + 1 coolermaster v1200 platinum but it will cost ya Smiley
cpu wise i would think a cheap celeron g3900 would be ok.
8 gb of ram should also be enough
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 06:38:26 PM
 #8

Even if 13 gpus works on windows 10 you will have to have both AMD and Nvidia cards as i understand it meanwhile in SMOS, Ethos, Pimp you can run 12-13?  of AMD cards.


And for psus well, 13x2=26   8 pin pcie cables,

so hmm you could buy 2x delta 2400 watt psus

but if server psus not an option maybe 2x evga 1600 g2 + 1 coolermaster v1200 platinum but it will cost ya Smiley
cpu wise i would think a cheap celeron g3900 would be ok.
8 gb of ram should also be enough

Could you please explain me the diffrence between a server psu and a normal psu? Is it only the noise?



As i understand it on SMOS its possible to connect easily 13 amd gpus. But it would be nice if its possible to connect 13 amd gpus to windows.

So my setup would be:

Celeron g3900                     
2x 4 GB Arbeitsspeicher           
Biostar TB250-BTC PRO         
12x Vega 64                           
12x PCI Riser 1 zu 16x             
PSU                                           not sure yet            (would need help on choosing psu for my set up)               
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 321


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2017, 06:46:35 PM
 #9

Even if 13 gpus works on windows 10 you will have to have both AMD and Nvidia cards as i understand it meanwhile in SMOS, Ethos, Pimp you can run 12-13?  of AMD cards.


And for psus well, 13x2=26   8 pin pcie cables,

so hmm you could buy 2x delta 2400 watt psus

but if server psus not an option maybe 2x evga 1600 g2 + 1 coolermaster v1200 platinum but it will cost ya Smiley
cpu wise i would think a cheap celeron g3900 would be ok.
8 gb of ram should also be enough
For this many GPU I would say he will need at least Pentium, if Celeron so G3930 would be minimum.
Still I don't get why buy Vega for mining... if you want mine ETH like I think you want...
For the price of Vega you can have 2x R570 even if they are overpriced like they are now (normal price RX 580) even if you had bad luck in silicon lottery and use stock bios you would have higher hashrate than on Vega...  Roll Eyes

Server PSU is for server obviously and PC PSU is for PC. Server PSU are meant to be run 24/7.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V8 (CNv2) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv2 ✅
🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│🔐Protect from phishing sites with Cryptonite!🛡️│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 07:29:54 PM
 #10

Even if 13 gpus works on windows 10 you will have to have both AMD and Nvidia cards as i understand it meanwhile in SMOS, Ethos, Pimp you can run 12-13?  of AMD cards.


And for psus well, 13x2=26   8 pin pcie cables,

so hmm you could buy 2x delta 2400 watt psus

but if server psus not an option maybe 2x evga 1600 g2 + 1 coolermaster v1200 platinum but it will cost ya Smiley
cpu wise i would think a cheap celeron g3900 would be ok.
8 gb of ram should also be enough
For this many GPU I would say he will need at least Pentium, if Celeron so G3930 would be minimum.
Still I don't get why buy Vega for mining... if you want mine ETH like I think you want...
For the price of Vega you can have 2x R570 even if they are overpriced like they are now (normal price RX 580) even if you had bad luck in silicon lottery and use stock bios you would have higher hashrate than on Vega...  Roll Eyes

Server PSU is for server obviously and PC PSU is for PC. Server PSU are meant to be run 24/7.


Thank you for your reply.

I want to stay on vega i think there is more space on hashrate for vega 64 in the future.
Could you tell me which Pentium CPU would be enaugh? Maybe this one? Intel Pentium G4560, 2x 3.50GHz, boxed
And could you tell me which Server PSU would you recommend?
Set Ready Go
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 185
Merit: 13


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 08:59:43 PM
 #11

    hey, so i cant recommend any server psu because i have no experience from them, i have heard others who have bought
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/rev2-ultimate-2400watt-power-supply-kit-for-gpu-mining-94-platinum-efficiency-200v240v-w-32pcie-plugs/  this 2400 watt powersupply.

they have several diffrent versions with diffrent breakout boards on em.

also if you are going with the server psus you will need http://www.parallelminer.com/product/180watt-max-24pin-atx-power-module-included-sata-molex-cpu-power-connectors-ditch-your-atx-power-supply-entirely/

so it will add some money for u aswell.

you could get like 3  evga gq 1000  power supplys and just get a  https://cryptomined.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=291_292&products_id=293&zenid=kfv1bm63e90bqlfeb8mdbgt9v6

then you can hook up all your psus so they start and shut down together.

so then you would get 8  6 pin pcie risers the other 4 u could get molex riser or sata riser maybe.

atleast with the evga psus u would get 5 years warranty instead of 6 months with server psus.


Example of your setup:
Mobo:Biostar TB250 btc pro 12 pcie mobo
Cpu: Intel Pentium G4560
Ram:  2x 4 GB Arbeitsspeicher
Harddrive: 32 gb usb 3 stick
Psu: 3 Evga GQ 1000 golden power supply
Triple PSU 24 Pin (20+4) Power SuppLink Cable 3 Power Supplies
Gpu: 12 Rx vega 64
Riser: 8 PCI-E 1X-16X USB3.0 Riser Version.009 6Pin , 3 PCI-E 1X-16X USB3.0 Riser Version.008 Sata, 1 PCI-E 1X to 16X USB3.0 Riser Version.009 Molex
[/center]

Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 269


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 09:34:03 PM
 #12

From the sounds of your posts, this would be the very first GPU rig of any kind that you have mined with? If so I suggest starting out smaller until you learn the basics rather then building the most expensive and complicated rig you can when you don't even know how to choose a PSU yet.  I mean that in the best way, no offense intended, just trying to save you some headache. Smiley
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 321


👉MINING-BIOS.eu💲⛏


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2017, 09:40:25 PM
 #13

Thank you for your reply.

I want to stay on vega i think there is more space on hashrate for vega 64 in the future.
Could you tell me which Pentium CPU would be enaugh? Maybe this one? Intel Pentium G4560, 2x 3.50GHz, boxed
And could you tell me which Server PSU would you recommend?

Yeah it should be good, but I haven't seen Vega in action, so I can't really tell. I would say every Kaby Lake Pentium should be good enough.
I don't use server PSU, all my rigs running with Corsair HX series. It has 10 years warranty. But EVGA is good too.
Well probably with tuned miners yes, but it uses HBM2, I don't know changes from HBM, but that was pretty slow memory and for memory algos like ETH or XMR it's pretty bad. For core intensive algos there are NVIDIA much better.

Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.euPBE 1.7PBE 3 PRO👌⛏│AFFILIATE system 10% ref 💰💲BTC│👉 XMR-AEON-STAK 🔝⛏ Monero V8 (CNv2) ✅│XMRig AMD🔝⛏ CNv2 ✅
🚀Upcoming/Active ICO list📈🤑│🔐Protect from phishing sites with Cryptonite!🛡️│👉Free Bitcoin BTC Faucet💰💲│Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│
CRYPTO to FIAT BTC💲💳│ How to Mine XMR/RYO and CN coins + Miners Downloads💰⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON💰⛏
monerobiosedit@gmail.com│✅Did I help you? Give me some +Merit 🤜🤛👌
Shnikes101
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 242
Merit: 109


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 09:49:54 PM
 #14

From the sounds of your posts, this would be the very first GPU rig of any kind that you have mined with? If so I suggest starting out smaller until you learn the basics rather then building the most expensive and complicated rig you can when you don't even know how to choose a PSU yet.  I mean that in the best way, no offense intended, just trying to save you some headache. Smiley

x2... I'd really encourage going smaller for the first one. There are better cards for hash/watt

I have 3 rx vega 64s and depending on what I'm doing I'm pulling between 620 - 900 watts of total system power from the wall. Would definitely recommend going server PSUs. I'm also not convinced Windows is going to be the best platform for these cards. You may want to take a hard look at Linux

CryptoWatcher420
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 258

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 10:43:18 PM
 #15

you also can take ethos (but it cost near 39$).
In fact with it you will get no problems. Windows always bring you "surprises" and they are not good, usually.

not if you've got a nice friend whom will hook you up that already has ethos

6pin to EPS 12v 4+4pin w/pigtail & 2.5mm barrel plug for Pico Psu for SERVER PSU ONLY GPU MINING RIGS! | Donations: BTC-  | Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2017, 06:14:17 PM
 #16

Thanks for your replys.
Iam sorry iam in holidays now thats why i didnt replied.

So i did some changes on my setup:

Motherboard: ASRock H110 Pro BTC+
Grafic cards: 8x XFX Vega 64 8 GB
PSU: http://www.parallelminer.com/product/rev2-ultimate-2400watt-power-supply-kit-for-gpu-mining-94-platinum-efficiency-200v240v-w-32pcie-plugs/
CPU: Intel Pentium G4400, 2x 3.30GHz, boxed
RAM: D4 8 GB 2133 - 15 Viper4 XMP2,0 1,2 V
SSD: SanDisk Plus 120GB, SATA


This setup is right now for 8 cards but i ill buy the parts so it would be also enaugh for 13 cards.
For 13 Cards (8Vega 5 Nvidia). If i add later 5 more cards i would also have to buy one more PSU.

Right now i would need your help on the PSU adapter.
Which one do i need 160 or 180 watt:
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/160watt-24pin-atx-power-module-included-sata-molex-cpu-power-connectors-bypass-your-atx-power-supply-entirely/
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/180watt-max-24pin-atx-power-module-included-sata-molex-cpu-power-connectors-ditch-your-atx-power-supply-entirely/

And could you please check would the RAM and the CPU also fit for 13 GPUs?
Now my 2400 Watt server PSU should be enaugh to run 8 Vega right?


Thank you guys!
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1002


View Profile
September 16, 2017, 06:40:58 PM
 #17

Thanks for your replys.
Iam sorry iam in holidays now thats why i didnt replied.

So i did some changes on my setup:

Motherboard: ASRock H110 Pro BTC+
Grafic cards: 8x XFX Vega 64 8 GB
PSU: http://www.parallelminer.com/product/rev2-ultimate-2400watt-power-supply-kit-for-gpu-mining-94-platinum-efficiency-200v240v-w-32pcie-plugs/
CPU: Intel Pentium G4400, 2x 3.30GHz, boxed
RAM: D4 8 GB 2133 - 15 Viper4 XMP2,0 1,2 V
SSD: SanDisk Plus 120GB, SATA


This setup is right now for 8 cards but i ill buy the parts so it would be also enaugh for 13 cards.
For 13 Cards (8Vega 5 Nvidia). If i add later 5 more cards i would also have to buy one more PSU.

Right now i would need your help on the PSU adapter.
Which one do i need 160 or 180 watt:
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/160watt-24pin-atx-power-module-included-sata-molex-cpu-power-connectors-bypass-your-atx-power-supply-entirely/
http://www.parallelminer.com/product/180watt-max-24pin-atx-power-module-included-sata-molex-cpu-power-connectors-ditch-your-atx-power-supply-entirely/

And could you please check would the RAM and the CPU also fit for 13 GPUs?
Now my 2400 Watt server PSU should be enaugh to run 8 Vega right?


Thank you guys!

You need more then 8gb of RAM to have HBCC enabled for Vega.
HBCC is needed to increase performance on memory hard algos with a lot of video memory usage.
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 08:04:57 AM
 #18

How much do you think i would need for 8 Vega 64 cards?

Would be 16 GB enaugh ?

Btw. thanks for that information :-)
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1002


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 09:20:14 AM
 #19

How much do you think i would need for 8 Vega 64 cards?

Would be 16 GB enaugh ?

Btw. thanks for that information :-)
16gb will be ok
I would be carefull with Vega 8 card setup.
With one mistake in downvolting your card can easily go from 150-300watt to 300-600watt (low wattage xmr, high wattage eth+lbc). If your multiply it by 8 you'll feel the diff ))
So never put +PL to have some fault tolerance.
rubine2323
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 09:48:33 AM
 #20

Ok thank you 2133 ram would be enaugh or has the ram speed also a little effect on the hashrates?

2400 Watt server psu would be enaugh ?

And is my cpu also enaugh ?

Thank you verry much.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!