Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2014, 03:13:43 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18  All
  Print  
Author Topic: USB ASIC ERUPTER - Setup & Config. BCG Miner, cgminer & Hubs "Oh Pi"!  (Read 86414 times)
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 11:10:49 AM
 #41

Thanks for the quick reply!

No I haven't installed any drivers. I just tried to build the one you linked to but it fails.

Ubuntu 13.04 uses the 3.8.0-22 kernel which as far as I know already has the driver built in. /dev/ttyUSB0 appears so I guess this implies it does. Here's my syslog when i plug the device in :

Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.804377] usb 1-1.1.4: new full-speed USB device number 27 using ehci-pci
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.898123] usb 1-1.1.4: New USB device found, idVendor=10c4, idProduct=ea60
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.898133] usb 1-1.1.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.898140] usb 1-1.1.4: Product: CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.898146] usb 1-1.1.4: Manufacturer: Silicon Labs
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.898151] usb 1-1.1.4: SerialNumber: 0001
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.899049] cp210x 1-1.1.4:1.0: cp210x converter detected
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59068.972376] usb 1-1.1.4: reset full-speed USB device number 27 using ehci-pci
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin kernel: [59069.065156] usb 1-1.1.4: cp210x converter now attached to ttyUSB0
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin mtp-probe: checking bus 1, device 27: "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb1/1-1/1-1.1/1-1.1.4"
Jun  6 11:09:43 admin mtp-probe: bus: 1, device: 27 was not an MTP device

When I try and communicate directly with "screen /dev/ttyUSB0 115200" I get not output. Never tried this before so not sure if that means anything.

I would like to get this running on Linux (eventually my Raspberry Pi) and I don't have Windows so I'm unable to try any Windows programs / guides.

sorry, have to ask - hub is connected to external supply/wall wart?

Otherwise, your built in driver may be icompatible

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
1397790823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397790823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397790823
Reply with quote  #2

1397790823
Report to moderator
1397790823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397790823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397790823
Reply with quote  #2

1397790823
Report to moderator
GAWMiners.com
ASIC Scrypt Miners
Guaranteed Satisfaction + Same-Day Shipping For FREE!
Simply Enter "freeshipping" at checkout

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397790823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397790823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397790823
Reply with quote  #2

1397790823
Report to moderator
1397790823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397790823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397790823
Reply with quote  #2

1397790823
Report to moderator
1397790823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397790823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397790823
Reply with quote  #2

1397790823
Report to moderator
sdz123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 12:33:34 PM
 #42

Yes. I will look further into the possibility that its a driver issue. My gut tell's me it isn't but I'm running out of ideas and suspect that perhaps the Erupter may be faulty :/

Thanks anyway Smiley

sorry, have to ask - hub is connected to external supply/wall wart?

Otherwise, your built in driver may be icompatible

I'm open to any other suggestions from other users ?
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 02:23:21 PM
 #43

Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 02:42:57 PM
 #44

Using cgminer on windows 7

What version of cgminer?

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 02:57:49 PM
 #45

Using cgminer on windows 7

What version of cgminer?
I've tried both 3.1.1 & 3.2.0
Same thing happens.  I wish I could take my *ish to someone's house.  You guys would probably fix it in 2 minutes.  Anyone live in Northern VA?

1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 03:21:22 PM
 #46

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

hmm - what is that "d" for?

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 03:25:49 PM
 #47

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

hmm - what is that "d" for?
Stands for "dont' know"   jk
No clue, took it out and no change.

1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 04:03:31 PM
 #48

Okay, new problem.  I gave up on cgminer and thought I'd try bfgminer.  When I run it, I get this System Error:

"The program can't start because libcurl-4.dll is missing from your computer.  Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

How do I fix this?

1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
runam0k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 04:09:42 PM
 #49

Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

Try COM3 instead of //./COM3

Are you sure you are using capital S?

And set the directory.

So you should have this in your bat:
Quote
cd \cgminer
cgminer-nogpu.exe --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy
pause
(pause optional)
sdz123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 04:15:21 PM
 #50

Mine just started working Smiley Problem is I can't see what i did any different this time. It does mention here that you have to replug it in between trying different versions. I left it plugged in while i was trying different versions etc... Will post if I find out any more info that might be of use to others in the same situation.
Rounder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 04:42:51 PM
 #51


I plan to get cgminer compiled on my Raspberry Pi Model B. Can anyone help a Linux noob compile cgminer 3.1.1 on a Raspberry Pi?
 Embarrassed

Which linux distribution are you running on your raspberry pi?
2013-05-25-wheezy-raspbian
http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

Its debian but made for the pi.

This page has a good overview of how to build cgminer:
http://techblog.sethleedy.name/?p=24276

1. Install the dependencies using apt-get
2. Download cgminer v3.1.1 from here: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/tags
3. Unzip or untar it somewhere in your home directory.
4. cd into the cgminer directory
5. Run "./autogen.sh" since you downloaded the zip/tar from github
6. Run "./configure --enable-icarus" (icarus support is required for the erupter)
7. Run "make" to build cgminer
8. Run cgminer with the icarus options listed earlier in this thread and one -S /dev/ttyUSBX for each of your erupters, where X is the number of the unit starting from zero.

If you get errors in any of the autogen/configure/make steps, it's likely there is a missing dependency that needs to be installed with apt-get.

HTH
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 05:18:11 PM
 #52

Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

Try COM3 instead of //./COM3

Are you sure you are using capital S?

And set the directory.

So you should have this in your bat:
Quote
cd \cgminer
cgminer-nogpu.exe --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy
pause
(pause optional)
This is what I get.  Without the pause, the window closes.



1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
CommanderVenus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


Zoinks! Its the Miner Miner Forty-Niner


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 07:12:57 PM
 #53

Rounder, Thank you so much! Ill have to try this out tonight after work.
Cheesy

joae1975, Try running cgminer.exe instead of the cgminer-nogpu.exe with a .bat that just has this one line.
Quote
cgminer.exe --disable-gpu --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3

In my experience with cgminer 3.1.1, it asked me for the pool information the first time i started it up and continues to use it whenever i close and re-open cgminer. If it doesnt ask, you can go into the [p]ool settings and add your pool yourself. You can check out my post on page two of this thread and see if what i did could help you at all. Im using windows 7 32 bit and cgminer as well.
Wink

Also, im sure you did this correctly but i gotta ask anyway, COM3 is the correct COM# for your erupter right?

CommanderVenus-
BTC: 1VenusEubcLC9W7ykckHbdEzo5MVhPmCb - NXT: 15182624396855992605
DOGE: DFSd16bvB7H2HieZNAjPhBoCwZpmNujN9B - BTQ: 14b2QFPwFtBC3tcRW9F61aaRXP2ns3fh1m
ashpooler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 09:02:13 PM
 #54

Well for what it's worth, here are my results of building and testing cgminer 3.2.0 on a Raspberry Pi running MinePeon-2013-05-25 (all in all pretty straightforward). Please consider, as a test, I did all this as root which might not be the best choice if you want to "update" your Minepeon system with it later on.

Imagine I'm logged in through ssh, I did a system upgrade beforehand.
Code:
pacman -Syu

Then I got the sources from the repo and built cgminer (btw, you need at least "--enable-icarus" for the USB Block Erupter to be supported). It suggests a little different compile flags in the README, you might consider using those.
Code:
cd ~ ; mkdir src ; cd src
git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
cd cgminer
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex
make

This should compile cgminer without errors obviously. Don't forget to stop any mining tool that might be running.
Code:
systemctl stop cgminer
systemctl stop bfgminer

Optional but lets start cgminer in a screen window, always nice.
Code:
screen

Then I just ran cgminer without any special options.
Code:
cd ~/src/cgminer
./cgminer -o http://<poolurl>:<port> -u <workername> -p <workerpassword> (or to set difficulty if supported by pool i.e. "d=2")

It threw some "comms error" msgs but after a sec all miners showed up and started hashing.  Cool

Here are my stats with a diff of 1 at start and 2 hours later (2 Lancelots and 5 USB Erupter). I still have to investigate the exceptionally high HW errors on 2 of the USB Erupters (But I got them too using the "build-in" versions of cgminer and bfgminer when I started hashing with these babys).





(seems cgminer sometimes reports wrong speeds like on BLT 1 in the 2nd pic, but that is sporadic and it is correct again after a short while, well here at least)

So all in all cgminer performs pretty nicely on my Pi. Thanks to the devs for all the effort they put into it!

Here's my setup: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195037.msg2388932#msg2388932
USB Hub I'm using (5V/3.5A): http://www.amazon.de/DeLock-Externer-USB-A-Buchse-Netzteil/dp/B002YCIPD6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8
joae1975
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 10:38:32 PM
 #55

Rounder, Thank you so much! Ill have to try this out tonight after work.
Cheesy

joae1975, Try running cgminer.exe instead of the cgminer-nogpu.exe with a .bat that just has this one line.
Quote
cgminer.exe --disable-gpu --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3

In my experience with cgminer 3.1.1, it asked me for the pool information the first time i started it up and continues to use it whenever i close and re-open cgminer. If it doesnt ask, you can go into the [p]ool settings and add your pool yourself. You can check out my post on page two of this thread and see if what i did could help you at all. Im using windows 7 32 bit and cgminer as well.
Wink

Also, im sure you did this correctly but i gotta ask anyway, COM3 is the correct COM# for your erupter right?
I can't run plain cgminer.  My computer gives a system error, "The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer.  Try reinstalling the program to fix the problem."

How do I reinstall that?  Reformat?

COM3 is what my devices menu call it.

Thanks!

1Ps75i3NWnSvGRoeagdUsb1rLCetw6EZUD
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 11:13:35 PM
 #56

I can't run plain cgminer.  My computer gives a system error, "The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer.  Try reinstalling the program to fix the problem."

How do I reinstall that?  Reformat?

COM3 is what my devices menu call it.

Thanks!

Install the OpenCL SDK included w AMD's Catalyst drivers.
(It's an open source platform for GPU hardware)

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
CommanderVenus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


Zoinks! Its the Miner Miner Forty-Niner


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2013, 11:51:02 PM
 #57

This page has a good overview of how to build cgminer:
http://techblog.sethleedy.name/?p=24276

1. Install the dependencies using apt-get
2. Download cgminer v3.1.1 from here: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/tags
3. Unzip or untar it somewhere in your home directory.
4. cd into the cgminer directory
5. Run "./autogen.sh" since you downloaded the zip/tar from github
6. Run "./configure --enable-icarus" (icarus support is required for the erupter)
7. Run "make" to build cgminer
8. Run cgminer with the icarus options listed earlier in this thread and one -S /dev/ttyUSBX for each of your erupters, where X is the number of the unit starting from zero.

If you get errors in any of the autogen/configure/make steps, it's likely there is a missing dependency that needs to be installed with apt-get.

HTH
SUCCESS! Thank you so much!
 Cheesy

I have been running my Raspberry Pi with cgminer 3.1.1 and just one block erupter. Does the pi give the erupters high hardware failures for everyone?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fpxc6q94gqix9zl/RPi-CGMiner-1Erupter-1Hour.png

I can't run plain cgminer.  My computer gives a system error, "The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer.  Try reinstalling the program to fix the problem."

How do I reinstall that?  Reformat?

COM3 is what my devices menu call it.

Thanks!

Install the OpenCL SDK included w AMD's Catalyst drivers.
(It's an open source platform for GPU hardware)
Yes. This. I got mine from here.

http://developer.amd.com/tools-and-sdks/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

CommanderVenus-
BTC: 1VenusEubcLC9W7ykckHbdEzo5MVhPmCb - NXT: 15182624396855992605
DOGE: DFSd16bvB7H2HieZNAjPhBoCwZpmNujN9B - BTQ: 14b2QFPwFtBC3tcRW9F61aaRXP2ns3fh1m
DBOD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile

Ignore
June 07, 2013, 01:36:51 AM
 #58

This guy has some good intructions.

http://rdmsnippets.com/2013/05/29/setting-up-asicminer-block-erupters-on-windows-7/

I got mine up and running on a Windows 7 and a Windows XP machine.

Download the correct drivers from http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/Pages/USBtoUARTBridgeVCPDrivers.aspx

I had problems letting Windows search for the driver on the XP machine. It found the wrong one. Under Devices in the Ports section it should say Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COM3) 

Yours may have a different COM number. Mine was 3. It is important for the command line later on.

I was initially unsuccessful with CGminer 3.2.0 but it may have been my problem.

I backed down to cgminer 3.1.1. Created a short cut to cgminer-nogpu.exe.

The I edited the properties of the short cut so the Target  looks like this on the Windows 7 machine

C:\cgminer\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o  stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u yourusername_2 -p 123 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

And this on the Windows XP machine

"C:\cgminer\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer-nogpu.exe" -o  stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u yourusername_3 -p 123 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

Note the parenthesis on the XP command. I do not know if it is critcal but it defaults that way.

The name after -u is really the worker name for btcguild. Which in btcguild is yourusername_suffix. So I have two workers called yourusername_2 and yourusername_3. Some of the examples have periods instead of underscores and I don't think that works with btcguild. I have played with any other options. Both units are hashing around 334M. And btcguild does not care about passwords for the stratum servers so use "123"
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile

Ignore
June 07, 2013, 03:54:21 AM
 #59


Is it stable with that hub??

i am thinking of getting one....

Do you think it will handle all 10 connected? I also saw a 12 port version. Would it work?

Thanks
ckolivas
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile WWW

Ignore
June 07, 2013, 04:30:07 AM
 #60

Well hopefully the new version of cgminer (3.2.1) that has a significant bugfix for these devices will allow people to move to it instead of sticking to the old version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0  148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq
ONLY ignoring luke-jr
-ck
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!