Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 12:43:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1x pci-e slot only sort of works  (Read 627 times)
turtles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:51:44 PM
 #1

when I install my 5th gpu the 4th pci-e slot stops working, video card still shows up in gpu-z but without proper drivers and it wont display or mine. the pci-e LED lights up like normal and that slot works fine if im only using 4 cards.

is this a limitation of the older motherboard? its an x58 out of a dell/alienware XPS, dual core 1.86ghz xeon (Nehalem) if that matters
win7 x64 don't know if I should try another OS or not

not sure on exact motherboard specs I can find out if anyone thinks they can help
1534855381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534855381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534855381
Reply with quote  #2

1534855381
Report to moderator
1534855381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534855381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534855381
Reply with quote  #2

1534855381
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534855381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534855381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534855381
Reply with quote  #2

1534855381
Report to moderator
1534855381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534855381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534855381
Reply with quote  #2

1534855381
Report to moderator
1534855381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534855381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534855381
Reply with quote  #2

1534855381
Report to moderator
Miracek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:48:00 AM
 #2

What drivers are you using?
turtles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:03:44 PM
 #3

tried several including latest beta drivers.
I finally switched to catalyst 12.8 to get cgminer to stop crashing, but now that you mention it I don't think I've tried that slot with this version

Maybe its already fixed. I'll try it after lunch, thanks
hashrateproducts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 04:23:27 PM
 #4

when I install my 5th gpu the 4th pci-e slot stops working, video card still shows up in gpu-z but without proper drivers and it wont display or mine. the pci-e LED lights up like normal and that slot works fine if im only using 4 cards.

is this a limitation of the older motherboard? its an x58 out of a dell/alienware XPS, dual core 1.86ghz xeon (Nehalem) if that matters
win7 x64 don't know if I should try another OS or not

not sure on exact motherboard specs I can find out if anyone thinks they can help

What power supply are you using? Also are all the graphics cards the same or are they a mix?

hashratestore.com
Powered PCI-E Risers and Dual PSU Adapter Cables shipping from California
turtles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:43:45 PM
 #5

when I install my 5th gpu the 4th pci-e slot stops working, video card still shows up in gpu-z but without proper drivers and it wont display or mine. the pci-e LED lights up like normal and that slot works fine if im only using 4 cards.

is this a limitation of the older motherboard? its an x58 out of a dell/alienware XPS, dual core 1.86ghz xeon (Nehalem) if that matters
win7 x64 don't know if I should try another OS or not

not sure on exact motherboard specs I can find out if anyone thinks they can help

What power supply are you using? Also are all the graphics cards the same or are they a mix?

5 visiontek 6950's 2 seem to be unlocked with 1536 shaders the other 3 aren't, they came like that.
I've tested using an old 3870x2 as 5th card, same problem
all the videocards work fine separately or 2-4 at a time, im starting to think its just the motherboard

motherboard/hd/etc are powered by a pretty old 600w psu, the cards/risers are all fed from the single 175amp 12v rail of a 2100w dell power edge PSU.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!