Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2019, 08:21:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [BitCentury] Metabank 120Gh 65nm Asic Pre-Order Proxy [0.7W/GH - 32BTC Per Unit]  (Read 17844 times)
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 10:30:04 PM
Last edit: June 03, 2013, 10:40:12 PM by senseless
 #81

Do you know why Metabank has chosen not to ship out of Russia? What are the issues that they see that you believe will not be a problem for you?

As of yet I have not been able to find any information as to why they are not willing to ship out of Russia. I'm curious to know this myself.



1563438091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563438091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563438091
Reply with quote  #2

1563438091
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563438091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563438091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563438091
Reply with quote  #2

1563438091
Report to moderator
1563438091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563438091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563438091
Reply with quote  #2

1563438091
Report to moderator
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 10:33:50 PM
 #82

When will Metabank release additional information regarding this product? Prototypes? Videos? Pictures?

We will continually scour the russian language forums and websites looking for new information relating to testing/prototyping of devices and chips. It will likely be awhile before you see a video or picture of a functioning prototype as they're still in final stages of chip production. The chips are scheduled to be proven/tested within this month (June 2013).

 

stripykitteh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:36:00 AM
 #83

Do you know why Metabank has chosen not to ship out of Russia? What are the issues that they see that you believe will not be a problem for you?

As of yet I have not been able to find any information as to why they are not willing to ship out of Russia. I'm curious to know this myself.




I speculate that it's just easier, and because they expect to be able to sell all of the first batch of devices inside Russia. Setting themselves up to deal internationally would require expertise in foreign languages (English at least) and exporting, which they may not have. But I honestly have no idea.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:05:42 AM
 #84

We'd again like to thank everyone for their vote of confidence in us, and congratulations to all those who have made their first purchases of the fastest (and lowest power) bitcoin ASIC technology bitcoins can buy today. We have proxied the second batch of orders totaling 7 devices for a total hash power of 840Gh/s.

Quote
67e4f4a5430cad3097a20185139ac7e867b93abbbf804e5e948a7bd0057e3275

Format.C^
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:22:10 AM
 #85

Do you know why Metabank has chosen not to ship out of Russia? What are the issues that they see that you believe will not be a problem for you?
As of yet I have not been able to find any information as to why they are not willing to ship out of Russia. I'm curious to know this myself.
senseless Some questions, if you please: perhaps you still do not know much more...why do you think that  MetaBank stupid than you? And how can you guarantee delivery from Russia while abroad? You are Batman? )))
stripykitteh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:26:06 AM
 #86

Do you know why Metabank has chosen not to ship out of Russia? What are the issues that they see that you believe will not be a problem for you?
As of yet I have not been able to find any information as to why they are not willing to ship out of Russia. I'm curious to know this myself.
senseless Perhaps you still do not know much more...why do you think that  MetaBank stupid than you? And how can you guarantee delivery from Russia while abroad? You are Batman?

In the first few posts on this thread they explain their business model.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:30:05 AM
 #87

Do you know why Metabank has chosen not to ship out of Russia? What are the issues that they see that you believe will not be a problem for you?
As of yet I have not been able to find any information as to why they are not willing to ship out of Russia. I'm curious to know this myself.
senseless Perhaps you still do not know much more...why do you think that  MetaBank stupid than you? And how can you guarantee delivery from Russia while abroad? You are Batman?

Dealing with problematic customs officers/agency is nothing new to me. I've lived outside the US for a number of years (I haven't even been inside the US in the last 6 years). When receiving packages of my own I have gone through customs on numerous occasions. Luis having traveled even more extensively than I has similar experience. While I do not have direct experience with russian customs (and their own local variations on corruption) I really don't expect it will be significantly different than in any poorer asian country.

I personally processed the customs forms (as opposed to waiting for DHL to do it) on my avalon unit to get it through customs 24 hours earlier without having to pay a single bribe. When receiving in the philippines this is a tall order.

I'm sure they have a reason as to why they are not shipping out. But it does not necessarily have to be related to shipping itself. There could be existing contractual agreements or they could have alternate world wide plans. Without them specifically telling us why the rest is mere speculation.


Format.C^
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:40:21 AM
 #88

stripykitteh
OK, NP) "each chooses for himself on one's own" (Russian proverb)... good luck )
Format.C^
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:48:48 AM
 #89

senseless I understand you, don't want to write unnecessary words until the future will show how you were right ...)))
stripykitteh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:54:52 AM
 #90

stripykitteh
OK, NP) "each chooses for himself on one's own" (Russian proverb)... good luck )

I am not blind to the fact there are risks in this project. As a local, if you have some insight about why MetaBank aren't exporting I'm sure BitCentury will love to hear from you. Absent that, at the moment we can only speculate.
Format.C^
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:09:50 AM
Last edit: June 04, 2013, 05:51:02 AM by Format.C^
 #91

stripykitteh
You're right, but I have an opinion, why is only sold in Russia - at this stage MetaBank not profitable to export for many reasons ...
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:24:07 AM
 #92

Ok, tempted to pull the trigger on one of these units. Shipping to USA.

- How is it so cheap ?
- On-board ethernet ? Wireless ? USB ?
- Dimensions of product ?
- Power supply ?
- If I place an order, and there is no significant product update in the next 29 days, I can be refunded my 32BTC ?
- When are working prototypes expected ?
- How long has this been and development, and what stage are they presently at ?
jarias
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 07:06:02 AM
 #93

Hi.
Sorry for my question (and for my bad english), but perhaps you can offer anything like this: Do you have any plans to offer hosting and sell mining-shares? For example, you can sell (120 / 32) 3.75 Gh/s per BTC and host (in your office in Russia) for a 4-5% fee.

Kind regards.
punin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:10:25 PM
 #94


What are the specifications of the Bitfury Asic?

Technical Details (Translated from various Bitfury Posts)
  • 8 Bitcoin hashing cores per chip

Each chip is capable of 5-10Gh/s using an 8 core design


IIRC, the chip has a "sea-of-hashers" design with 756 hashing cores.

Head of Product Development
Bitfury Group
www.bitfury.com
dvdrewritable
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 13



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:28:24 PM
 #95

Quote
I am not blind to the fact there are risks in this project. As a local, if you have some insight about why MetaBank aren't exporting I'm sure BitCentury will love to hear from you. Absent that, at the moment we can only speculate.

amongst the other issues, since this is hashing SHA256 also need notification from FSB & Minpromtorg export license Cheesy

senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:35:08 PM
 #96

Ok, tempted to pull the trigger on one of these units. Shipping to USA.

- How is it so cheap ?
- On-board ethernet ? Wireless ? USB ?
- Dimensions of product ?
- Power supply ?
- If I place an order, and there is no significant product update in the next 29 days, I can be refunded my 32BTC ?
- When are working prototypes expected ?
- How long has this been and development, and what stage are they presently at ?

1) Once you produce the mask for the chip, the chips themselves cost you nothing. I would not be surprised if 24 chips to make up the 120Gh/s cost them more than 24$ to make.

2) We do not know for sure what the exact specifics of the PCB board itself yet. We're still going through various posts, translating and reading so that we can make a determination. At this time it does appear it will be a stand alone unit thought it is unknown if there will be ethernet AND wireless or just one of the two.

3) Unknown at this time. I believe the focus has been on the chips; I'm not sure if they're running PCB design concurrently or planning to do the design once the chips are finished (or if the design is already done).

4) Yes, We're offering a full refund within 29 days of your order.

5) The chip is expected to be tested and proven in the next 30 days (waiting on the production).

6) The initial prototypes will be produced after the first batch of test chips have been tested and proven.

7) It was announced in April 2013 but there is evidence that bitfury was working on the design prior to that (Aprox 1 year ago).  The current stage as i mentioned above, they are presently waiting on the initial batch of chips to be printed and tested thus proving the design. After that they will go into mass production.

 

senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:35:42 PM
 #97

Hi.
Sorry for my question (and for my bad english), but perhaps you can offer anything like this: Do you have any plans to offer hosting and sell mining-shares? For example, you can sell (120 / 32) 3.75 Gh/s per BTC and host (in your office in Russia) for a 4-5% fee.

Kind regards.

There are currently no plans to offer any services along this line. Our main focus is to get our hands on these devices; and then to get them out of russia.


senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:37:46 PM
 #98


What are the specifications of the Bitfury Asic?

Technical Details (Translated from various Bitfury Posts)
  • 8 Bitcoin hashing cores per chip

Each chip is capable of 5-10Gh/s using an 8 core design


IIRC, the chip has a "sea-of-hashers" design with 756 hashing cores.

Based upon previous Bitfury posts it seems that the design will have 8 full hasher cores. We are still going through and getting together as much information as possible. Some of the translations cannot be done via google and require manual translation.




stripykitteh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:22:35 PM
Last edit: June 04, 2013, 01:33:00 PM by stripykitteh
 #99

Quote
I am not blind to the fact there are risks in this project. As a local, if you have some insight about why MetaBank aren't exporting I'm sure BitCentury will love to hear from you. Absent that, at the moment we can only speculate.

amongst the other issues, since this is hashing SHA256 also need notification from FSB & Minpromtorg export license Cheesy

I don't know if this would be relevant or not:

http://www.rsa.com/rsalabs/node.asp?id=2333

It claims a license is required to export cryptography products from the Russian Federation. It also claims a license is needed to export crypto goods from China, so either AM and Avalon have such a license or SHA256 is not considered to be within the definition.

This thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=115213.msg1242541#msg1242541

claims it is possible to import SHA hardware into Russia from the USA.

Unlike China, Russia is a member of the Wassenaar Arrangement:

http://www.wassenaar.org/controllists/index.html

Other member countries routinely allow export of Bitcoin-related mining hardware.

BitCentury, can you say whether you'd need a license from the Russian Ministry of Industry and Trade to export this hardware?

EDIT: One other link to look at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cryptography#Export_controls

Usually the purpose of export controls for crypto is to prevent classified technology from falling into enemy hands. SHA256 is a public, well-known hashing algorithm. At a cursory glance, I don't see what security risk export of it presents.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 541



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:34:33 PM
 #100

BitCentury, can you say whether you'd need a license from the Russian Ministry of Industry and Trade to export this hardware?

At present we are unable to confirm that a license is required for export. Importation is obviously problematic and requires a license (as mentioned); but we do not see export being an issue. We have our legal team going over the books to check, and double check all of the legislation, treaties and regulations to make sure that there is nothing that will pose a problem for shipment. At present we have found nothing legally speaking that would present a problem in the export of these devices from russia.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!