Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 02:44:32 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I configure bitcoin-qt to see all transactions?  (Read 230 times)
Jujutu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 05:18:24 PM
 #1

Hi all,

I have just joined and this is my first post. Please forgive me if this is a common question - I have checked the forum and not found anything meself.
I am doing the Nicosia cryptocurrency MOOC and have a full Bitcoin Core node running on my computer so that I can explore the blockchain to understand things more clearly using the console.
I have now run up against the ?non-wallet? transaction error message. I understand that I need to index all transactions in the blockchain to get round this. But I do not know how to achieve this.
I am running under Windows10, with the default configuration (I cannot find a bitcoin.conf file anywhere).
Can anybody give me pointers of what to do? Edit bitcoin.conf - but where should it go? Command line parameters for bitcoin-qt?

Any and all advice gratefully received,

Julian
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
1539960272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539960272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539960272
Reply with quote  #2

1539960272
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1704


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 07:40:12 PM
 #2

In Bitcoin Core, go to Settings > Options and click the button "Open Configuration File". Add txindex=1 to the text file that is opened and save it. Then restart Bitcoin Core, it will say that a reindex is required, click OK. The blockchain will be reindexed and the transaction index will be built so that you can request any arbitrary transaction.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!