Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 02:27:59 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Wallet reading incorrect Wallet.Dat  (Read 210 times)
explorex_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 10:58:14 AM
 #1

I downloaded the standard 'Bitcoin Core' wallet onto my laptop however due to the size of the file containing all the block i stored all the data on my PORTABLE hard drive. Once it completed downloading I noticed all the files spread across the hard drive directory. I like keeping things clean so i cut the files and pasted it in a folder named bitcoin in my hard drive.

Next time I loaded bitcoin the files were 'missing' as I'd moved their location but I saw it generated a new bunch of files and thought nothing of it as I saw the wallet.dat was there, again I idiotically placed it in a bitcoin2 folder.

Now the third it did it I came to realise that each wallet.dat is essentially new wallet, so only my first wallet contains the bitcoin I own. However, I have no idea how to make it read the original wallet.dat file, I have tried researching either everyone prompting it to rescan in the cmd, however, these methods are based on windows 7 and now windows 10 doesn't have a cmd option for the software at that location

Can anyone tell me how I can retrieve and rescan the wallet.dat I originally had.

Regards, a clear amateur.
1537799279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799279
Reply with quote  #2

1537799279
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537799279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799279
Reply with quote  #2

1537799279
Report to moderator
1537799279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799279
Reply with quote  #2

1537799279
Report to moderator
ABitBack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 30, 2017, 11:08:28 AM
 #2

When it says 'missing' you can link to a directory which stores the blocks, in this case on your external HD. Dont just continue otherwise yes, its going to build the blocks from the beginning on you HD with a new wallet.dat. I'm a bit worried you have overwritten the original wallet.dat 2x now "again I idiotically placed it in a bitcoin2 folder" if that folder is your external HD block directory. Hope you made a backup.

ABitBack.com - Shutdown due to Shiftcode gross negligence Domain for sale PM if interested
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1992


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2017, 11:46:45 AM
 #3

I downloaded the standard 'Bitcoin Core' wallet onto my laptop however due to the size of the file containing all the block i stored all the data on my PORTABLE hard drive. Once it completed downloading I noticed all the files spread across the hard drive directory. I like keeping things clean so i cut the files and pasted it in a folder named bitcoin in my hard drive.
You can't just move the files without telling Bitcoin Core where they are. Use this as a startup option:
Code:
 -datadir=<dir>
       Specify data directory directory

Quote
I have no idea how to make it read the original wallet.dat file, I have tried researching either everyone prompting it to rescan in the cmd, however, these methods are based on windows 7 and now windows 10 doesn't have a cmd option for the software at that location
Use this option:
Code:
 -wallet=<file>
       Specify wallet file (within data directory) (default: wallet.dat)
I don't use Windows 10, but I assume you can still add startup options to any shortcut on your desktop.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!