Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 06:17:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer farm now operational!  (Read 7586 times)
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 01:35:29 AM
 #1

After months of planning, stressing, and budgeting my mining operation is finally up and running! The electrician just installed three 30 amp 240v circuits/outlets, and I'm using heavy duty tripp lite pdu's to distribute power to all miners. My makeshift hot/cold isle is working nicely and keeping temps in a very acceptable range. I'm using insulated tarp to keep the hot exhaust air separate from the cooler intake air so the exhaust can be vented out of the window, and I'm using a 14,000 BTU AC to assist in the cooling process. Let me know what you guys think or if you have any questions.

I still have plenty of electrical overhead so I'm offering hosting for a handful of miners. If you're looking for hosting at a competitive rate in a well managed environment, message me.
1524291441
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524291441

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524291441
Reply with quote  #2

1524291441
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
thiec
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 02:28:14 AM
 #2

I think you should replace those tarpaulin with more solid thing like plywood.
Also tarpaulin seem to be more easier to be burned
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 03:24:23 AM
 #3

I think you should replace those tarpaulin with more solid thing like plywood.
Also tarpaulin seem to be more easier to be burned

Yeah, plywood would definitely be a good long term solution, but this was much easier/quicker to work with and I can't imagine it spontaneously catching fire just from relatively high ambient temperatures.
thiec
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 07:08:49 AM
 #4

I think you should replace those tarpaulin with more solid thing like plywood.
Also tarpaulin seem to be more easier to be burned

Yeah, plywood would definitely be a good long term solution, but this was much easier/quicker to work with and I can't imagine it spontaneously catching fire just from relatively high ambient temperatures.

Overall, i like how you set it up.
Its seem split the room between cooling room and hot room is better as i also do for my farm
Mr_Snipes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2017, 10:36:24 AM
 #5

Nice setup!
Which PSU are you using ?
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1113


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2017, 10:52:33 AM
 #6

Good lookin' setup.

I'm 99% sure those are Bitmain APW5 power supplies.

FrenchinHK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 11:13:26 AM
 #7

Nice, how much you pay electricity ?
Yuhee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 11:58:09 AM
 #8

Oh my god!.Did you just build that alone with your own funds? 19 antminers? seriously? How fast can that mine? This is the farm site i actually want to develop also. I guess the real profit is just starting from now. Hope the investment is worth it. could you tell us how much you paid over of that? its ok if you want it private.

                                     
                                    ▄██
                                  ▄████
                                ▄██████
                              ▄████████
                            ▄██████████
                          ▄████████████
                        ▄██████████████
                      ▄████████████████
                    ▄██████████████████
                  ▄████████████████████
                ▄██████████████████████
▄███████████▀ ▄████████████████████████
██████████▀ ▄█████████████████████████▀
████████▀
██████▀
████▀
██▀


=
PARETO 

██
 █
██
 █
██
 █
  The first Peer to Peer Financial Content 
& Information Marketplace

██
 █
██
 █
██
 █
  Pre-Sale is now Live,
         with a 39% bonus!       

██
 █
██
 █
██
 █
              WHITEPAPER             
TELEGRAM ■■ FACEBOOK ■■ TWITTER ■■ LINKEDIN
     MEDIUM ■■ YOUTUBE ■■ GITHUB ■■ BOUNTY
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 01:17:07 PM
 #9

I think you should replace those tarpaulin with more solid thing like plywood.
Also tarpaulin seem to be more easier to be burned

Yeah, plywood would definitely be a good long term solution, but this was much easier/quicker to work with and I can't imagine it spontaneously catching fire just from relatively high ambient temperatures.

Overall, i like how you set it up.
Its seem split the room between cooling room and hot room is better as i also do for my farm

Yeah, the hottest that any of them are running at is 61c. I guess server farms use hot/cold isles for a reason, it works!

Nice setup!
Which PSU are you using ?

HagssFIN guessed correctly, they're the APW5 power supplies. I originally ordered the APW3++ but I got an email and they supposedly ran out of parts for them so they shipped these instead. I think they're considered an upgrade though, being able to handle much more, so that's cool.

Nice, how much you pay electricity ?

I pay $0.10 kW/h. Not the lowest electricity rates in the world, but it doesn't even matter when the L3+ is so profitable anyway. Don't let people tell you that you can't make money with anything above $0.05 or $0.08 for electricity.

timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 964
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 01:18:17 PM
 #10

How much money did you spend for that farm?  The miners, power system, racks, everything?  Call your power company and see if you can get a deal on a better rate for high use, like for business industrial rates.  Or tell them you have an electric car, some give discounts for that.

Bitmain site says $1291 each for those miners, times 19 = $24,529 , plus power supplies, plus racks, PDUs, electrician work, etc.  You've got at least $40,000 sitting there! 
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 06, 2017, 02:50:05 AM
 #11

How much money did you spend for that farm?  The miners, power system, racks, everything?  Call your power company and see if you can get a deal on a better rate for high use, like for business industrial rates.  Or tell them you have an electric car, some give discounts for that.

Bitmain site says $1291 each for those miners, times 19 = $24,529 , plus power supplies, plus racks, PDUs, electrician work, etc.  You've got at least $40,000 sitting there! 

I paid more than $1291 for each because I pre-ordered them months in advance, from that surprise batch they released at 6 am. Well worth it though!
ImHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500

segwit=lower fees


View Profile
November 06, 2017, 07:45:50 AM
 #12

Antminer L3 is a LTC miner correct? If so then you should post this in altcoin mining section, Anyhow I love what you have done, Neat and beautiful, A few days ago my brother told me that his friend has a workshop, Apparently they have been using a lot of electricity but with the magical help of some kind of device their electricity consumption was reduced into almost half, They are paying half the money of the times when they weren't using that device, Do you have any clue what that might be?
Agostosmori
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 06, 2017, 07:56:40 AM
 #13

Is it more profitable to mine an Alt coin, specifically litecoin, rather than bitcoin? You got a very nice setup and the amount you invested is huge for this. I'am just wondering why you opted to mine litecoin rather than mining bitcoin. just a noob question perhaps.,

GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 06, 2017, 07:37:09 PM
 #14

Is it more profitable to mine an Alt coin, specifically litecoin, rather than bitcoin? You got a very nice setup and the amount you invested is huge for this. I'am just wondering why you opted to mine litecoin rather than mining bitcoin. just a noob question perhaps.,

The L3+ is more profitable and more efficient than the S9 so that's what I went for.
ShopemNL
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 969
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2017, 08:31:57 PM
 #15

Is it more profitable to mine an Alt coin, specifically litecoin, rather than bitcoin? You got a very nice setup and the amount you invested is huge for this. I'am just wondering why you opted to mine litecoin rather than mining bitcoin. just a noob question perhaps.,

The L3+ is was more profitable and more efficient than the S9 so that's what I went for.

Not anymore..

GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 06, 2017, 08:43:54 PM
 #16

Is it more profitable to mine an Alt coin, specifically litecoin, rather than bitcoin? You got a very nice setup and the amount you invested is huge for this. I'am just wondering why you opted to mine litecoin rather than mining bitcoin. just a noob question perhaps.,

The L3+ is was more profitable and more efficient than the S9 so that's what I went for.

Not anymore..

The S9 isn't more profitable than the L3+.

L3+ profitability, ~$17.13/day: https://www.nicehash.com/profitability-calculator/bitmain-antminer-l3?e=0.1&currency=USD
S9 profitability, ~$14.20/day: https://www.nicehash.com/profitability-calculator/bitmain-antminer-s9?e=0.1&currency=USD

Even if those numbers were switched around it wouldn't matter, they're both very profitable.
ShopemNL
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 969
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2017, 08:46:34 PM
 #17

Is it more profitable to mine an Alt coin, specifically litecoin, rather than bitcoin? You got a very nice setup and the amount you invested is huge for this. I'am just wondering why you opted to mine litecoin rather than mining bitcoin. just a noob question perhaps.,

The L3+ is was more profitable and more efficient than the S9 so that's what I went for.

Not anymore..

The S9 isn't more profitable than the L3+.

L3+ profitability, ~$17.13/day: https://www.nicehash.com/profitability-calculator/bitmain-antminer-l3?e=0.1&currency=USD
S9 profitability, ~$14.20/day: https://www.nicehash.com/profitability-calculator/bitmain-antminer-s9?e=0.1&currency=USD

Even if those numbers were switched around it wouldn't matter, they're both very profitable.

S9 is cheaper than L3+ Smiley Mining BCC with the S9 will give you 18$/day (non nicehash)

But yes i agree, very profitable

timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 964
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 02:36:37 AM
 #18

I remember back in the summer of '13, I had 11 GPUs mining LTC, and with the difficulty holding right around 1,000 , I was collecting about 10 LTC per week for a few months.
casey808c
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 07:14:22 PM
 #19

Awesome setup you having going there. Looking into the L3, did you purchase these all from the wholesaler?
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 08, 2017, 02:22:46 AM
 #20

Awesome setup you having going there. Looking into the L3, did you purchase these all from the wholesaler?

Direct from Bitmain.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!