Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 08:11:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: avalon Chip Frequency could run over 300Mh  (Read 3206 times)
dylan186 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2013, 11:39:20 PM
 #1

somebody recompilation avalon drivers and run avalon Frequency 332Mh,it's hash ability about 80G.
1714119086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714119086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714119086
Reply with quote  #2

1714119086
Report to moderator
"You Asked For Change, We Gave You Coins" -- casascius
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714119086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714119086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714119086
Reply with quote  #2

1714119086
Report to moderator
1714119086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714119086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714119086
Reply with quote  #2

1714119086
Report to moderator
TheSwede75
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 20, 2013, 11:39:58 PM
 #2

somebody recompilation avalon drivers and run avalon Frequency 332Mh,it's hash ability about 80G.

Is this a question, a statement or what?
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


What's a GPU?


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 01:38:37 AM
 #3

It is entirely doable Smiley

I will be selling boards that run the Avalon chips at 350mh/s. Check my signature link!

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 01:57:58 AM
 #4

It is entirely doable Smiley

I will be selling boards that run the Avalon chips at 350mh/s. Check my signature link!


Would it be software to use someone like yours firmware & flash them to our actual avy units?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


What's a GPU?


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:00:35 AM
 #5

It is entirely doable Smiley

I will be selling boards that run the Avalon chips at 350mh/s. Check my signature link!


Would it be software to use someone like yours firmware & flash them to our actual avy units?

Technically this is possible, but certainly not advisable because the Avalon spec boards are not designed to handle the boost in power draw.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:03:15 AM
 #6

somebody recompilation avalon drivers and run avalon Frequency 332Mh,it's hash ability about 80G.

Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?



   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   }

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1039
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:25:04 AM
Last edit: June 21, 2013, 11:50:22 AM by OnkelPaul
 #7

If the frequency division logic does not do some weird things, this code should work for any frequency (as far as the hardware supports it):
buf[6] = (int)(frequency * 8.01 + 0.5) % 256;
buf[7] = (int)(frequency * 8.01 + 0.5) / 256;

The formula yields exactly the same values for your given frequencies, so you can just drop the cascade of if statements and replace it by those two lines.
Caveat: I did not try it, don't have an ASIC, if you blow up your hardware it's your fault and nobody else's.

(see below, this formula might generate wrong values)

Onkel Paul

-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 11:28:55 AM
 #8

somebody recompilation avalon drivers and run avalon Frequency 332Mh,it's hash ability about 80G.

Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?



   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   }
It was explained to me that only certain values are actually accepted by the hardware. However the values are simply little endian values with a fairly precise linear relationship with the corresponding frequency so it seems it's a simple multiplier.

0x0803 = 2051 = 256 * 8
0x0873 = 2163 = 270 * 8
and so on
so if you want to try 325 etc it would be

325 * 8 = 0x0A28 so it would be buf[6]=0x28 buf[7]=0x0a
350 buf6=0xf0 buf7=0x0a
375 buf6=0xb8 buf7=0x0b

but bear in mind the power supply probably won't take that, and I have no idea what the other components would do, nor if it will actually accept those values.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1039
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:39:27 AM
 #9

ckolivas is probably right about the multiplier being 8, then the lower 2 (or 3) bits of buf[6] could be flag values and should probably be kept at binary 011.
If that's the case, these expressions might be better:
Code:
buf[6] = frequency * 8 % 256 + 3;
buf[7] = frequency * 8 / 256;

Onkel Paul

-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 11:47:20 AM
 #10

For grins, I have tried this and it worked at 325, 350 and 375. The error rate at 375 meant the useful hashrate was lower than at 300, but it worked at 325 and 350 quite well and I got 81GH. The power usage went up by 5W (at the wall) at 325 and 10W at 350.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dylan186 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:39:29 PM
 #11

For grins, I have tried this and it worked at 325, 350 and 375. The error rate at 375 meant the useful hashrate was lower than at 300, but it worked at 325 and 350 quite well and I got 81GH. The power usage went up by 5W (at the wall) at 325 and 10W at 350.
ckolivas:Could you share your firmware?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 02:41:07 PM
 #12

I don't create firmware, I write the software and build binaries which I load directly. However, I have committed the code supporting the higher speeds to the git master tree for cgminer and xiangfu will create new test firmware shortly supporting the new speeds. Mine has been stable at 350 now for a few hours, averaging ~82GH.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dylan186 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:53:00 PM
 #13

I don't create firmware, I write the software and build binaries which I load directly. However, I have committed the code supporting the higher speeds to the git master tree for cgminer and xiangfu will create new test firmware shortly supporting the new speeds. Mine has been stable at 350 now for a few hours, averaging ~82GH.
ckolivas:Thanks for everything
J35st3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 03:41:44 PM
 #14

I don't create firmware, I write the software and build binaries which I load directly. However, I have committed the code supporting the higher speeds to the git master tree for cgminer and xiangfu will create new test firmware shortly supporting the new speeds. Mine has been stable at 350 now for a few hours, averaging ~82GH.

I love it how you guys keep coming up with tweaks to push the performance further and further. Oh for a time machine to go back to the early days of bitcoin with a recent copy of cgminer and fire it up on a GPU. A look at Satoshi's face when (s)he sees the nethash rate would be priceless  Grin

Then again there are more fun things you can do with a time machine, eg Primer ... http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0390384/
They started with ASIC (well JTAG actually but its sort of relevant) and ended up with a time machine. Didn't end well though.
Sort of ... be careful what you wish for, and geeks and ethics don't mix. Anyway I liked the film.
[/OT]

1Jest66T6Jw1gSVpvYpYLXR6qgnch6QYU1 NumberOfTheBeast ... go on, give it a try Grin
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1183


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 04:09:25 PM
 #15

For grins, I have tried this and it worked at 325, 350 and 375. The error rate at 375 meant the useful hashrate was lower than at 300, but it worked at 325 and 350 quite well and I got 81GH. The power usage went up by 5W (at the wall) at 325 and 10W at 350.

That power increase seems strange. Its as if the chips aren't drawing any more power for the same clock rate - which is understandable [fixed voltage]. If they're stable at that speed, then it suggests:

1) Likely is voltage headroom at stock speeds [for undervolting]
2) Temps shouldn't be an issue
3) Longevity shouldn't be affected.

EDIT: UNLESS, we're maxing something out somewhere which is limiting power draw. Although the chips don't need it, they want it. And something somewhere in the chain is bouncing off its max, which could be dangerous or reduce life.

tldr: we don't know

candoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Vertrau in Gott


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:15:43 PM
 #16

Would anyone compile bfgminer with the settings for 325 350  and 375? please!

Einer trage des andern Last, so werdet ihr das Gesetz Christi erfüllen.
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1026


Mining since 2010 & Hosting since 2012


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 05:42:28 PM
 #17

I don't create firmware, I write the software and build binaries which I load directly. However, I have committed the code supporting the higher speeds to the git master tree for cgminer and xiangfu will create new test firmware shortly supporting the new speeds. Mine has been stable at 350 now for a few hours, averaging ~82GH.

What temps are you keeping your room at to achieve these speeds?

Hosting: Low as $60.00 per KW - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 08:03:10 PM
 #18

I don't create firmware, I write the software and build binaries which I load directly. However, I have committed the code supporting the higher speeds to the git master tree for cgminer and xiangfu will create new test firmware shortly supporting the new speeds. Mine has been stable at 350 now for a few hours, averaging ~82GH.

+1

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 09:16:54 PM
 #19

Actually

This is working on Avalon 2


 case 356:
                        buf[6] = 0xf3;
                        buf[7] = 0x0a;

                        break;


cgminer version 3.2.0 - Started: [2013-06-21 16:12:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):79.63G (avg):81.75Gh/s | A:1026  R:227  HW:119  U:169.3/m  WU:1159.7/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 5983  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to us3.eclipsemc.com diff 62 with stratum as user 
 Block: 00142ffb0e8b1b37...  Diff:19.3M  Started: [16:12:28]  Best share: 20.6K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AVA 0: 25/ 48C 2640R | 79.27G/82.26Gh/s | A:1027 R:227 HW:120 U: 169.47/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
k9quaint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 09:23:25 PM
 #20

The overclocking opportunities on custom boards are very interesting.
Finally, I have a use for all this liquid helium I have laying around.  Grin

Bitcoin is backed by the full faith and credit of YouTube comments.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!