Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2017, 07:40:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RFC for feature : force rescan of blockchain against an arbitrary wallet  (Read 1462 times)
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


1davout


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2010, 01:52:17 AM
 #1

As far as I understand, the client won't pick up the balance available to a wallet if you just drop it in place of another wallet.
So, is there another way other than simply discard your blockchain and force a re-download ? Or maybe I missed something Smiley

1484595611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484595611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484595611
Reply with quote  #2

1484595611
Report to moderator
1484595611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484595611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484595611
Reply with quote  #2

1484595611
Report to moderator
Satoshi is no god. He did not come down from the mountain with 10 golden rules engraved in stone for no one to question.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484595611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484595611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484595611
Reply with quote  #2

1484595611
Report to moderator
1484595611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484595611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484595611
Reply with quote  #2

1484595611
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534


View Profile
December 23, 2010, 03:33:45 AM
 #2

Right now you have to delete the block database. It is possible for Bitcoin to re-scan the blocks. It doesn't look too difficult: loop through every block and run AddToWalletIfMine on each tx.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
jib
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
December 23, 2010, 04:04:39 AM
 #3

I've also been hit by this problem once (back when I had a poor internet connection and really didn't want to redownload the block chain). It'd be a useful feature.

Looking forward to quantum computing so we can have qubitcoins.
ender_x
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 03:29:38 PM
 #4

I concur. This would be handy. Then it wouldn't matter which version of your wallet you had backed up.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2011, 04:13:38 PM
 #5

The -rescan argument in 0.3.20 does this.


How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


1davout


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2011, 09:12:04 PM
 #6

The -rescan argument in 0.3.20 does this.
Is it possible (not necessarily in the CLI, a function in the code could do too), to rescan against a single key ?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!