Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 02:42:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin 0.3 win64 - broken access to APPDATA if non-latin characters in username  (Read 3712 times)
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
July 08, 2010, 09:33:16 AM
 #1

I know it's not the smartest move to name my user account using non-latin characters. Anyway, 0.2 has no problems with this.

Verified as follows... created a 'normal' new user and 0.3 opened the data folder. Created new, fresh data folder and copied it to the non-standard user - 0.3 fails with DB_RUN_RECOVERY.

1511016169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511016169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511016169
Reply with quote  #2

1511016169
Report to moderator
1511016169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511016169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511016169
Reply with quote  #2

1511016169
Report to moderator
1511016169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511016169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511016169
Reply with quote  #2

1511016169
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511016169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511016169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511016169
Reply with quote  #2

1511016169
Report to moderator
1511016169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511016169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511016169
Reply with quote  #2

1511016169
Report to moderator
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 08, 2010, 06:24:19 PM
 #2

Thanks for finding that.  We switched from ANSI in 0.2 to UTF-8 in version 0.3, so it must be related to that.

Just to confirm, if you log in with the non-latin character username, not having an appdata/Bitcoin directory yet, and run Bitcoin and let it create the database from scratch, does it work or not?
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 09, 2010, 03:01:35 AM
 #3

I think I see where the problem is.  Coincidentally, I recently coded a replacement for the function in question which should fix it.  It's not enabled yet, but in the SVN version it prints a debug message in debug.log showing the new directory value and old value for comparison.
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 09, 2010, 03:37:05 PM
 #4

I tested this with a non-lower-ASCII account name on XP and confirmed the bug, then tested that the new GetDefaultDataDir fixed it.  This change is revision 102 of the SVN.
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 08:26:21 AM
 #5

I wasn't able to respond for a while.

Satoshi, your are fast Shocked! Thanks for fixing this!

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!