Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:03:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Catalyst 11.7 Preview + OpenCL 2.5.684.211  (Read 16188 times)
huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 01:28:54 AM
 #1

Hi guys! I just installed this and wanted to check out if there are any performance improvements. Maybe we can all test this one out.
With my 5850 @ 960/300/1.174v | poclbm 6.27.2011 + aoclbf 1.74

Catalyst 11.7 = 389-393 Mhash/sec.
Catalyst 11.6 = 390 Mhash/sec.

Some guys reported improvements on OCL performance here http://bit.ly/iPSObE (Post 41).

It's a new AMD APP runtime as well as driver.  Here is the download link also from the thread (thanks for users out there)  Smiley
http://bit.ly/kDIiWo

Enjoy!

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
1481040202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040202
Reply with quote  #2

1481040202
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:40:40 PM
 #2

What about phatk performance?
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 01:34:59 AM
 #3

I just found out this.

http://developer.amd.com/tools/gDEBugger/Pages/default.aspx

The 11.7 Early has the SDK 2.5 in that package.

HD6870 from 284 to 292, HD6850 245 to 253.

CPU usage bug is still unfixed.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 02:21:09 AM
 #4

I'm very interested. Patiently waiting to see some results on the 5xxx series  Grin
theunforgiven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:15:12 AM
 #5

5850 - 392MHash/s to 398MHash/s
dalamchops
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:24:43 AM
 #6

5850 - 392MHash/s to 398MHash/s

What sdk/driver did u upgrade from.
theunforgiven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:28:35 AM
 #7

5850 - 392MHash/s to 398MHash/s

What sdk/driver did u upgrade from.

Catalyst 11.5b
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:02:27 AM
 #8

It seems like you don't need dummy plug anymore on Windows 7  Shocked

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:12:41 AM
 #9

oh, good find.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:41:52 AM
 #10

Still getting the same hash rate but not having to use a dummy plug is actually a big plus.  Smiley

EDIT:  Seems you still need a dummy plug if you're overclocking.  Figures.  Sad
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:38:48 AM
 #11

not with CCC oc at least.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
pennytrader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:24:58 PM
 #12

re the no dummy plus thing, does it work with remote desktop (RDP)?

please donate to 1P3m2resGCP2o2sFX324DP1mfqHgGPA8BL
ricksta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77

Co-founder and CEO of CoinFresh.com


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 06:46:27 PM
 #13

didn't make a difference for my asus 5850

ricksta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77

Co-founder and CEO of CoinFresh.com


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 07:06:44 PM
 #14

actually, it broke my machine when i restarted. now gui miner can't see my cards.

huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:55:04 PM
 #15

Hi! Maybe we can merge with this thread : http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=24891.0. No dummy plugs? I'll test it on my dual-gpu rig. So far, no increase or loss in performance on the 5850. Maybe the 6800/6900 series have a boost?

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
dalamchops
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 08:35:46 PM
 #16

my friend saw an increase ~2% with 2.1 sdk and 11.7 on his 5850/70. YMMV
icaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 10:24:32 PM
 #17

What about phatk performance?
poclbm 27.06.2011 comes with phatk instead of the old poclbm kernel.

1KaohAcY7Zjq7eVa8WvVGrVnry3CqgkcmH
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 12:28:59 AM
 #18

Any news on the unneccesary CPU usage while mining?

If I was of any help, donations are appreciated - 1FrCtiQsVoy2YTTYqgjsvVvdgvHS4Umah4
8x Sapphire 5830 @950/300 in 2 dedicated mining rigs -> 2500Mhash/s
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2011, 02:17:25 AM
 #19

So basically SDK 2.5 is looking to be as fast as 2.1.

qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 02:31:10 AM
 #20

Any news on the unneccesary CPU usage while mining?

No fix yet, at least for me.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!