Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 08:42:39 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ledger Nano S Not Showing Confirmed Transaction  (Read 160 times)
Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2017, 10:39:40 AM
 #1

My Ledger Nano S recently purchased is not showing my last received transaction from yesterday,and transaction have more then 70 confirmations.Yesterday I also notice that Ledger Wallet Bitcoin apps have problem with sync,but today it not show such message.Also I try to open Ledger Manager app and it show me nothing,just to connect and enter pin,but it is not open.I have few successful transactions about a week ago,is this problem with Ledger or their API maybe?


   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
1537562559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537562559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537562559
Reply with quote  #2

1537562559
Report to moderator
1537562559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537562559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537562559
Reply with quote  #2

1537562559
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537562559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537562559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537562559
Reply with quote  #2

1537562559
Report to moderator
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 02:47:53 AM
 #2

I had a few instances where the chrome apps (Ledger Manager and Ledger Bitcoin wallet) won't detect an already connected and unlocked device, and I've had to disconnect the device and then reconnect and unlock for the chrome app to detect the device.

Also, Ledger Manager doesn't detect the device if you have an app "open" on the device itself... you need to be on the "main menu" that shows the "settings" app and all your installed apps.

At the moment, I don't seem to have any issues with the Ledger Bitcoin Wallet either... it is syncing up fine showing everything it should. Huh

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 568



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 07:43:07 AM
 #3

The ledger wallet application queries an online ledger service to get your current balance.
Sometimes there are a few problems with the connection to the ledger server.
Did you already try to click on the reload button a few times (this seems to work better than ledgers auto update)?
You could also try to remove the app data (settings -> tools -> reset application data) to force your wallet to synchronise.

Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 10:36:38 AM
 #4

I had a few instances where the chrome apps (Ledger Manager and Ledger Bitcoin wallet) won't detect an already connected and unlocked device, and I've had to disconnect the device and then reconnect and unlock for the chrome app to detect the device.

Also, Ledger Manager doesn't detect the device if you have an app "open" on the device itself... you need to be on the "main menu" that shows the "settings" app and all your installed apps.

At the moment, I don't seem to have any issues with the Ledger Bitcoin Wallet either... it is syncing up fine showing everything it should. Huh

It is not working for me,my last transaction is not show in Ledger Bitcoin Wallet and I get message "Your wallet may not be up to date as the last synchronization did not complete successfully" and it is like that for last 2 days.I try to remove app from Chrome and install again,and also try to reset application data but nothing helps.

There is info on Ledger site "We are currently experiencing synchronization issues with several wallets, please read this FAQ to understand the problem" but it seems that not all users affected with this API problem.

I can only say that I tried everything what is possible,but I can not send/receive and use my coins in last 48 hours...

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
vanfly
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 01:12:31 PM
 #5

Are you able to test with say a mobile phone connection/hotspot?
Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 01:57:35 PM
 #6

Are you able to test with say a mobile phone connection/hotspot?

I think it is not problem with my internet connection,and I also check on other PC just to see if maybe something is blocking Ledger servers,but no luck on other PC.I see many users have problems and posting in Ledger Support/Reviews on Google Chrome Apps.

I try to use Ledger with Electrum but it also not show my last transaction.I do not know do I do something wrong but I just pick one address from Ledger Bitcoin Wallet(by going to Sign Message Option) and use this address as my new address for signature campaign.When I connect Ledger with Electrum I do not see that address in Electrum?

This is transaction : https://blockchain.info/address/1DAyhP7fFDqvNhtgh934WERFZ62ixixQ27

And this is where I sign that address : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.7080

Why Ledger is not showing this transaction and why Electrum not show this address when is connected with Ledger?

Any advice and suggestion how to solve this problem is welcome.

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2017, 11:35:44 AM
 #7

Finally I managed to solve my problem with missing transaction with help from HCP Smiley

I use Electrum and increase gap address limit to 100,and in one of address is my BTC and I see transaction in Electrum history.For some reason Ledger is not see this transaction,but reason is probably in that I use address from option Tools - Sign Message and it is far below that limit Ledger is checking for any address with balance.So do not do that and always use receiving address which is the first that Ledger Bitcoin Wallet offer you.

I will inform Ledger about this problem,because every address created by Ledger Bitcoin Wallet should be checked and not only first 20 or something like that.

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 568



View Profile WWW
December 18, 2017, 07:31:01 PM
 #8

I will inform Ledger about this problem,because every address created by Ledger Bitcoin Wallet should be checked and not only first 20 or something like that.

The ledger bitcoin wallet app checks your recieving addresses 1 by 1.
The application basically increases a counter (which is used to derive the addresses) until a newly generated address doesn't contain any balance.
This isn't a problem at all. If the nano s is being used with their chrome app there is no reason to increase the number of checked addresses.
And if the nano s is used with electrum then its not a problem either as long as you still use electrum.
Your coins are never lost. They are recoverable with the seed, regardless of which application/address is used for storing the coins.

Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 10:32:07 AM
 #9

I will inform Ledger about this problem,because every address created by Ledger Bitcoin Wallet should be checked and not only first 20 or something like that.

The ledger bitcoin wallet app checks your recieving addresses 1 by 1.
The application basically increases a counter (which is used to derive the addresses) until a newly generated address doesn't contain any balance.
This isn't a problem at all. If the nano s is being used with their chrome app there is no reason to increase the number of checked addresses.
And if the nano s is used with electrum then its not a problem either as long as you still use electrum.
Your coins are never lost. They are recoverable with the seed, regardless of which application/address is used for storing the coins.


Each address that was generated by Ledger should be checked for balance,you think that it is normal that I now have address which is generated by Ledger and balance on that address,but Ledger is not show that transaction or balance?

I found a way to solve this problem with Electrum,but I need to increase address gap limit in Electrum to show that address by using console.This is not something average user should do or know.But until user do not play with generated addresses and always use receiving address proposed by Ledger Bitcoin Wallet they will not have such problems.

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 568



View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 11:14:40 AM
 #10

.. Each address that was generated by Ledger should be checked for balance ..

You can't check every address derivated by a seed. Addresses are being generated on demand. Up to 'an infinite amount'.
Ledgers chrome app is 'generating' them 1 by 1. And Electrum does generate about 20 at once, and more on demand.
There is nothing wrong with the ledgers chrome app only checking the balance one by one, because thats how they implemented their UI.

Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 01:37:07 PM
 #11

.. Each address that was generated by Ledger should be checked for balance ..

You can't check every address derivated by a seed. Addresses are being generated on demand. Up to 'an infinite amount'.
Ledgers chrome app is 'generating' them 1 by 1. And Electrum does generate about 20 at once, and more on demand.
There is nothing wrong with the ledgers chrome app only checking the balance one by one, because thats how they implemented their UI.

Do you have Ledger or you just think that you know how is working?When I check in Ledger app first time without made any transaction there is so many generated addresses,probably 150-200 and now is even more.The point is that you can not use them as receiving address,because their stupid software will check just few of them,maybe 20 or something like that.

It makes no sense to discuss this more,problem solved.

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!