Bitcoin Forum
January 25, 2020, 02:55:49 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon 8 official specs released  (Read 29699 times)
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2018, 07:03:38 PM
 #301

How did you do that?  Because if you just selected -1 in the web UI, that didn't make the change, you have to add the "--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1" string in the more options line in the configuration the 0 - zero option is hard coded no matter if you selected the -1, -2, etc or not. Smiley... little known detail.  BTW, from 0 to -1 on mine will show an approx .150-.2 Th drop per miner in the rate, but the outlet temp will change by a couple of C too

Wow.  I didn't know that.  Rather presumed using the Avalon Web Interface and selecting the pull down menu for voltage offset would do the trick.  That is rather surprising news.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
1579920949
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579920949

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579920949
Reply with quote  #2

1579920949
Report to moderator
1579920949
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579920949

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579920949
Reply with quote  #2

1579920949
Report to moderator
1579920949
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579920949

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579920949
Reply with quote  #2

1579920949
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579920949
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579920949

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579920949
Reply with quote  #2

1579920949
Report to moderator
akadamson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 18


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 07:33:40 PM
 #302

How did you do that?  Because if you just selected -1 in the web UI, that didn't make the change, you have to add the "--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1" string in the more options line in the configuration the 0 - zero option is hard coded no matter if you selected the -1, -2, etc or not. Smiley... little known detail.  BTW, from 0 to -1 on mine will show an approx .150-.2 Th drop per miner in the rate, but the outlet temp will change by a couple of C too

Wow.  I didn't know that.  Rather presumed using the Avalon Web Interface and selecting the pull down menu for voltage offset would do the trick.  That is rather surprising news.

All you have to do is look under the status->processes tab in the web UI and scroll down till you find the cgminer process and you'll see how it was started and you'll see that if you tell it to be -1 in the UI, it will still be 0 in the processes.  Doesn't matter which one you select, it will always be 0.  Adding it in the more options will add the string to the end of the command launch string and it will override the 0 hardcoded value to whatever you specify, and it doesn't need to match what is the UI.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2018, 08:32:09 PM
 #303

All you have to do is look under the status->processes tab in the web UI and scroll down till you find the cgminer process and you'll see how it was started and you'll see that if you tell it to be -1 in the UI, it will still be 0 in the processes.  Doesn't matter which one you select, it will always be 0.  Adding it in the more options will add the string to the end of the command launch string and it will override the 0 hardcoded value to whatever you specify, and it doesn't need to match what is the UI.

Just me, or does that sound kind of like a bug?  Clearly the Web UI could make that change for us...

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
akadamson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 18


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 11:28:52 PM
 #304

All you have to do is look under the status->processes tab in the web UI and scroll down till you find the cgminer process and you'll see how it was started and you'll see that if you tell it to be -1 in the UI, it will still be 0 in the processes.  Doesn't matter which one you select, it will always be 0.  Adding it in the more options will add the string to the end of the command launch string and it will override the 0 hardcoded value to whatever you specify, and it doesn't need to match what is the UI.

Just me, or does that sound kind of like a bug?  Clearly the Web UI could make that change for us...

it's been that way since the 821's. when I found the issue, I sent Canaan an email, that is when I found out they meant to *NOT* leave the undervolt stuff in the 8 series UI, and always keep it at 0.  I completely get why, there are some 821/841's that *won't* run at -2... I have 2 841's that wont for example, but -1, 0, and +1 they run perfectly.

That same email is where they told me the reason for the 100% fan, and if you look in the ccminer code, while the 741's had a fan moderation temperature of 90C, the 8's that was changed to 70C.  The high end shutdown limit is 105 I believe in both, but they really don't want them going to that limit.

richdmz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2018, 12:07:54 AM
 #305

Quote
I noticed this too and made a post here and spoke to Canaan about it. I spoke to Canaan and they said reversing the (sorcerer) fan should be ok if temps stay under 40c. We plan to reverse them too as you did to see as we are run cold/hot aisle setups and curious to see if there is a temp improvement.
I'd like a better reply from Canaan other than 'should be' ok. Would be nice for them or their vendor to model & verify just what happens to the various hot spots in a PSU and make yay/nay based on that. Changing from blow to suck will drastically change the flow patterns inside the PSU...

Perfect confirmation would be Canaan acting on this and changing the flow direction on future Sorcerer's they sell.

But - that said, when I get back in-country next week think I'll give it a whirl.

I agree their answer didn’t give me the warm and fuzzies but I also don’t need the psus recycling  hot exhaust air
richdmz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2018, 12:11:39 AM
Last edit: April 26, 2018, 02:08:19 PM by richdmz
 #306

Anyone have any issues running 20 miners on one controller. I have an issue where a miner or two will drop out of cgminer and then occasionally pop in and out but never resume hashing unless I physically reboot the miner  Not sure if this a hardware issue with the miner or a stability issue with the controller/auc. I know another user here says he can’t run the full 20 and keeps the number per controller low for stability reasons. Any seen this too and know what it is?
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2018, 02:48:26 PM
 #307

Anyone have any issues running 20 miners on one controller. I have an issue where a miner or two will drop out of cgminer and then occasionally pop in and out but never resume hashing unless I physically reboot the miner  Not sure if this a hardware issue with the miner or a stability issue with the controller/auc. I know another user here says he can’t run the full 20 and keeps the number per controller low for stability reasons. Any seen this too and know what it is?

I plan on running 15 per Pi 3 controller - (3) strings of 5 with one open USB port and a spare AUC3.  That way if I need to take one miner out of a string, I can patch the remaining miners in that string to the 4th AUC3. 

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 26, 2018, 03:26:45 PM
 #308

Anyone have any issues running 20 miners on one controller. I have an issue where a miner or two will drop out of cgminer and then occasionally pop in and out but never resume hashing unless I physically reboot the miner  Not sure if this a hardware issue with the miner or a stability issue with the controller/auc. I know another user here says he can’t run the full 20 and keeps the number per controller low for stability reasons. Any seen this too and know what it is?

I have 1000 Avalon 741s running in batches of 20 with no issues. I wonder if the 8 introduced some kind of instability?

Make sure you have at least a 2.5 amp power source for your RPi, underpowering them leads to AUC crashes and other issues.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
richdmz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2018, 05:36:17 PM
 #309

Anyone have any issues running 20 miners on one controller. I have an issue where a miner or two will drop out of cgminer and then occasionally pop in and out but never resume hashing unless I physically reboot the miner  Not sure if this a hardware issue with the miner or a stability issue with the controller/auc. I know another user here says he can’t run the full 20 and keeps the number per controller low for stability reasons. Any seen this too and know what it is?

I have 1000 Avalon 741s running in batches of 20 with no issues. I wonder if the 8 introduced some kind of instability?

Make sure you have at least a 2.5 amp power source for your RPi, underpowering them leads to AUC crashes and other issues.

thanks, I am running the official Rasberry adapters with the Pi3s just to ensure power wasn't an issue as I read in general about Pi instability with under powered adapters. I don't know if there is any instability but just fishing for possibilities. The other user here said that he had reduced hash and instability running a full controller but it may just be a YMMV kind of deal. I am also running the latest controller and firmware.
Thetaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 110


View Profile
April 27, 2018, 11:00:11 AM
 #310

So far non of my machines have broken down. They all do 91-94W/TH @ -1 config. Idk what people are complaining about


There seems to be a problem with the temps, going above 30°c. Personally, mine have been ok between 30°c and up to 38°c.
Have you seen any issues, regarding the temps of your machines?



Not as far as I can tell, I have looked at some of the log files to see whether the chips are doing ok. So far they are doing well. I have a couple of machines that run at 13.5th instead of 13.7 but they also draw less power so I can't really complain.

My temp is constantly 35+ btw

for those of you wondering, I have 90 841s
Didley1JT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 01:49:56 AM
 #311

I'm finally back!

Just moved my family from Louisiana to the Pacific Northwest. It's so much better here. And electricity is almost two cents per kW-hr cheaper! They have a three tier power rate here that starts at $.07361 and then tops out at $.08118. Had the electrician come out and start me with two 30A/240V circuits.

Currently running the two Avalon 821s I bought from the first batch (finally). At the 0 voltage setting, they're sitting at 11.5TH/s and 11.6TH/s and both are at 30deg Celsius. Next step is to take advantage of the heated air to help heat the house when it's cold. Kind of bad timing as we head into summer, but at least I'll be ready for the fall/winter this year.

BTC: 1GaqNkHcstajEex6LQ6caMDLNJMLKwourJ
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2074



View Profile
April 29, 2018, 08:04:58 PM
Merited by PeaMine (2)
 #312

Well my testing shows intake temps cause large power increase.

67f=1365 watts
76f=1424 watts
81f=1484 watts


I was able to get same results with 2 different psus
And on 2 different pools.

I want to do an 86f room test next
Then a 91f

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2018, 10:23:19 PM
 #313

I sent an email to Steven, let's see if they have some lab test info or etc.  which could help to specify the A841 technical specs more accurately.

Hi HagssFIN - Been a week now... have you heard anything back from Steven?

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1423


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2018, 10:54:10 PM
 #314

I sent an email to Steven, let's see if they have some lab test info or etc.  which could help to specify the A841 technical specs more accurately.

Hi HagssFIN - Been a week now... have you heard anything back from Steven?

No I haven't heard yet.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2074



View Profile
April 30, 2018, 12:04:07 AM
 #315

I was able to do what I consider a quite remarkable video

Setting the stage for this youtube video I turned on a lot of gear in my garage to get it to  87f  which is 1 f higher then the 30c or 86c number used.

I did it real time  it was 55f outdoors of my garage and my garage was 87f.

I opened the two garage doors and the back door to cool off the garage watch the watts drop in real time

Your video will be live at: https://youtu.be/KEctJaz4Mo0

what does this mean?

My opinion is  summer will not work well if you plan to fan cool this miner.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 657
Merit: 191


Mining since 2011


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 08:02:40 AM
 #316

I suggest trying to pickup one of those atic gable fans for your garage or solar array it will really help with moving air out of the place just be sure you are also getting enough air coming in. (Edit: I might have 1 for sale actually ran it 24/7 for like 3-4 months. No longer need the second one since I have 95% of my miners in a facility near by)

SSH Unlock & Signature Check Removal Tool Antminer S17/T17/S15 No Installation!
Firmware for S17 and T17! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!
Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life • 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 821
Merit: 506



View Profile
April 30, 2018, 10:34:31 PM
Last edit: April 30, 2018, 10:56:33 PM by PeaMine
 #317

Well my testing shows intake temps cause large power increase.

67f=1365 watts
76f=1424 watts
81f=1484 watts


I was able to get same results with 2 different psus
And on 2 different pools.

I want to do an 86f room test next
Then a 91f

Thanks for this, I noticed this as well even with my 741s, though it wasn't as extreme.
I even kept the PSU at 25C by building a mini insulated AC rack out of Rigid Insulation, air filters and a portable AC unit.
The S9 and S7 don't seem to have this issue, which seems to make the A841 more efficient in lower temperatures only.
Once summer gets closer, this will most likely be a hot issue.

I sent an email to Steven, let's see if they have some lab test info or etc.  which could help to specify the A841 technical specs more accurately.

Hi HagssFIN - Been a week now... have you heard anything back from Steven?

Was curious about this as well.  There hasn't been a single post in the Blokforge thread since the 21st and Minerwarez since March.
I miss being able to buy from and recommend Canaan over Bitmain, so hopefully this can be resolved soon.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2074



View Profile
April 30, 2018, 11:00:19 PM
Last edit: May 02, 2018, 03:42:01 AM by frodocooper
 #318

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvWXJTYrW9o

Have found a solid under clock thanks to megaquake .

see youtube above.

this makes the miner viable if you are not mining in the tropics i.e. constant 80f temps will hurt miner all year round.

I am in NJ USA  

7 cooler months means it is better then spec for those 7 cooler months.
5 warmer months it is worse then spec.

avg out to a little better then spec.

if you are in Finland and air cool  it should be fine.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove an unnecessary quote.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2018, 01:50:25 AM
 #319

Now that our early spring temps are gone, and with the downgrade of the specs on Avalon 8s, I've been paying close attention to the reported temps my machines are running at.

I have (3) AUC3s full:  10 on a lower shelf (5 with APW3++s and 5 with Sorcerer PSUs) and 5 on a shelf above those with APW3++ power supplies

For some reason, unit #7 on the lower shelf is running 4C hotter than all the others.  I checked, nothing is blocking the intake or exhaust.  

Any ideas?

Oh. FWIW, I just separated my Sorcerer PSUs and put about 2 inches between them and the their 841s.  Noticed those puppies are hot!  Figured if nothing else it would help mix their exhaust air with room air a bit.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2018, 11:21:59 PM
 #320

How did you do that?  Because if you just selected -1 in the web UI, that didn't make the change, you have to add the "--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1" string in the more options line in the configuration the 0 - zero option is hard coded no matter if you selected the -1, -2, etc or not. Smiley... little known detail.  BTW, from 0 to -1 on mine will show an approx .150-.2 Th drop per miner in the rate, but the outlet temp will change by a couple of C too

Finally got around to adding this line.  Seeing very similar results, e.g.  No substantial change.  I'm a bit confused though, when I look in the process list I now see:

Code:
cgminer --lowmem --avalon8-fan 10-100 --avalon8-voltage-level-offset 0 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.kano.is:3333 -O ccgllc.Pi3a:pass -o stratum+tcp://stratum.slushpool.com:3333 -O ccgllc.Pi3a:1234 -o stratum+tcp://profit.pool.bitcoin.com:3333 -O ccgllc.Pi3a:X --api-allow W:172.16.4.0/22,W:127.0.0.1/32 --api-listen --avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1 --real-quiet

I'm presuming the first instance of offset is hard coded and hopefully being overwritten by the second instance?

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!