Bitcoin Forum
January 25, 2020, 08:40:15 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon 8 official specs released  (Read 29699 times)
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1423


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2018, 11:31:02 PM
 #321

@ccgllc
Yes, it gets overwritten by the second instance which you have inserted in the 'More Options' field.

1579984815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579984815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579984815
Reply with quote  #2

1579984815
Report to moderator
1579984815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579984815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579984815
Reply with quote  #2

1579984815
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579984815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579984815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579984815
Reply with quote  #2

1579984815
Report to moderator
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 821
Merit: 506



View Profile
May 04, 2018, 01:53:14 PM
 #322

Not sure why Canaan didn't post here as well about this, but a partial explanation on why the operating temperature range was changed to 30C from 40C
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3375954.msg36259525#msg36259525

In which case it would be wise to mention this on the official specifications and send out an email to clients who might be affected, explaining this intent.
Now that the weather is starting to stay over 30C I am seeing a 6.5% drop in efficiency already and it is still Spring, even with -2 selected for voltage offset.
Without the -2 voltage offset, they get way too hot and reboot themselves frequently.
Summer is going to be interesting.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
fccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 47


View Profile
May 04, 2018, 10:28:52 PM
 #323

Yea the majority of places in the USA will hit temps above 30c during summer at least a few times.  Mine have been doing ok so far and even with the temps being about 90f the last recent day, my airflow in my location is good enough that the machines didn't shut down or restart once. (Although probably came close to it at the 100-103 mark)
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2018, 02:41:38 AM
 #324

Just noticed that Canaan slashed the prices of Q60 841s to $1120.

Nice to see them competing with the "new" Bitmain S9+.   

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 821
Merit: 506



View Profile
May 11, 2018, 01:09:59 AM
 #325

Anyone else having issues with their 821 and 841 now that it has warmed up a bit?
It's around 36C, which was the operating range when I purchased these, and some are able to handle it, but many are restarting every hour or so and hashrate has dropped around 8% lower on the miner status screen and around 14% lower on the pool.
However power usage has not decreased.
I highly doubt these will survive summer or be able to operate.

Sometimes they completely disappear from the controller but still seem to be using power but producing nothing.
Is there a way to fix this?
Due to all the restarts and possibly bad boards I'm currently averaging 8100GH per 821
I powered off my 841 for now while I wait on a reply from support as it was unable to stay online for more than a few minutes.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2018, 03:50:43 PM
 #326

So far I've only lost (1) APW3++ power supply - a fairly new one (weeks old).  Might have been to heat, might not, but the Avalons are hanging in there.  I am running with option:

--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1

Which is reported to help with heat at the cost of a small bit of performance.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
frodocooper
Moderator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 343
Merit: 358


View Profile
May 12, 2018, 04:04:29 AM
 #327

Looks like Canaan are looking to revert the A8's target temperature back to 90°C, according to commit ae73ff0 in the avalon8-dev branch of their cgminer repository.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
May 12, 2018, 04:16:12 AM
 #328

So far I've only lost (1) APW3++ power supply - a fairly new one (weeks old).  Might have been to heat, might not, but the Avalons are hanging in there.  I am running with option:

--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1

Which is reported to help with heat at the cost of a small bit of performance.

- -avalon8-voltage-level -1
—avalon8-voltage-level -2
—avalon8-voltage-level -3
—avalon8-voltage-level -4
- -avalon8-voltage-level -5

All work and allow safe running in a hot room.

They all drop hash and watts try -3 or -4

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2018, 05:56:53 AM
 #329

So far I've only lost (1) APW3++ power supply - a fairly new one (weeks old).  Might have been to heat, might not, but the Avalons are hanging in there.  I am running with option:

--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1

Which is reported to help with heat at the cost of a small bit of performance.

- -avalon8-voltage-level -1
—avalon8-voltage-level -2
—avalon8-voltage-level -3
—avalon8-voltage-level -4
- -avalon8-voltage-level -5

All work and allow safe running in a hot room.

They all drop hash and watts try -3 or -4

Yeah, we have had this conversation already.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2018, 04:16:32 PM
 #330

I'm having a little weirdness in one of my strings of 841s:

It is configured with (3) AUC3 each with (5) 841s all running the latest MM code.

Over the past couple of weeks, occasionally I see an individual miner drop ~1/3rd of its hashrate.  Rebooting that unit clears that up.

This morning, I had an entire string behind an AUC3 drop 1/3rd of its hashrate.  Five boxes, all at once.  Rebooting cleared them, but does anybody know what might be going on?

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1423


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2018, 04:18:34 PM
 #331

@ccgllc

Does using a different AUC3 converter dongle in that chain make any difference?

ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2018, 04:27:42 PM
 #332

@ccgllc

Does using a different AUC3 converter dongle in that chain make any difference?

Should state that I still consider myself a newbie with Avalons, only having had them a couple of months now.   So far, loss of the entire chain has been a one time thing.  If its consistent, I'll try swapping out the AUC3 (have a couple of spares and more coming next week).

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 821
Merit: 506



View Profile
May 12, 2018, 05:30:25 PM
 #333

So far I've only lost (1) APW3++ power supply - a fairly new one (weeks old).  Might have been to heat, might not, but the Avalons are hanging in there.  I am running with option:

--avalon8-voltage-level-offset -1

Which is reported to help with heat at the cost of a small bit of performance.

- -avalon8-voltage-level -1
—avalon8-voltage-level -2
—avalon8-voltage-level -3
—avalon8-voltage-level -4
- -avalon8-voltage-level -5

All work and allow safe running in a hot room.

They all drop hash and watts try -3 or -4

Thanks, I didn't know it went past -2, where is this documented at currently?
Does it require a certain firmware?
Also is this for both 821 and 841?
Thanks for all the information.
I'm currently getting 11.5TH at the pool using -2, haven't checked watt usage.  They have stayed online for 24 hours so far.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
frodocooper
Moderator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 343
Merit: 358


View Profile
May 12, 2018, 08:28:41 PM
 #334

Thanks, I didn't know it went past -2, where is this documented at currently?

Here:

Code:
#ifdef USE_AVALON8
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon8-voltage-level",
     set_avalon8_voltage_level, NULL, &opt_set_avalon8_voltage_level,
     "Set Avalon8 default level of core voltage, range:[0, 15], step: 1"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon8-voltage-level-offset",
     set_avalon8_voltage_level_offset, NULL, &opt_set_avalon8_voltage_level_offset,
     "Set Avalon8 default offset of core voltage level, range:[-2, 1], step: 1"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon8-freq",
     set_avalon8_freq, NULL, &opt_set_avalon8_freq,
     "Set Avalon8 default frequency, range:[25, 1200], step: 25, example: 800"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-freq-sel",
     set_int_0_to_4, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_freq_sel,
     "Set Avalon8 default frequency select, range:[0, 4], step: 1, example: 3"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon8-fan",
     set_avalon8_fan, NULL, &opt_set_avalon8_fan,
     "Set Avalon8 target fan speed, range:[0, 100], step: 1, example: 0-100"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-temp",
     set_int_0_to_100, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_temp_target,
     "Set Avalon8 target temperature, range:[0, 100]"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-polling-delay",
     set_int_1_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_polling_delay,
     "Set Avalon8 polling delay value (ms)"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-aucspeed",
     opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_aucspeed,
     "Set AUC3 IIC bus speed"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-aucxdelay",
     opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_aucxdelay,
     "Set AUC3 IIC xfer read delay, 4800 ~= 1ms"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-smart-speed",
     opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_smart_speed,
     "Set Avalon8 smart speed, range 0-1. 0 means Disable"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-pass",
     set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_th_pass,
     "Set A3210 th pass value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-fail",
     set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_th_fail,
     "Set A3210 th fail value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-init",
     set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_th_init,
     "Set A3210 th init value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-ms",
     set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_th_ms,
     "Set A3210 th ms value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-timeout",
     opt_set_uintval, opt_show_uintval, &opt_avalon8_th_timeout,
     "Set A3210 th timeout value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-th-add",
     set_int_0_to_1, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_th_add,
     "Set A3210 th add value"),
OPT_WITHOUT_ARG("--avalon8-iic-detect",
     opt_set_bool, &opt_avalon8_iic_detect,
     "Enable Avalon8 detect through iic controller"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-nonce-mask",
     set_int_24_to_32, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_nonce_mask,
     "Set A3210 nonce mask, range 24-32."),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-nonce-check",
     set_int_0_to_1, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_nonce_check,
     "Set A3210 nonce check, range 0-1."),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-roll-enable",
     set_int_0_to_1, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_roll_enable,
     "Set A3210 roll enable, range 0-1."),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-mux-l2h",
     set_int_0_to_2, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_mux_l2h,
     "Set Avalon8 mux l2h, range 0-2."),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-mux-h2l",
     set_int_0_to_1, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_mux_h2l,
     "Set Avalon8 mux h2l, range 0-1."),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon8-h2ltime0-spd",
     set_int_0_to_255, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon8_h2ltime0_spd,
     "Set Avalon8 h2ltime0 spd, range 0-255."),
#endif

Note that --avalon8-voltage-level and --avalon8-voltage-level-offset are two different parameters and therefore do two different things. You may, however, set both parameters concurrently.



Does it require a certain firmware?

All current A8 firmware releases support the above parameters.



Also is this for both 821 and 841?

Yes.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2018, 02:49:21 PM
 #335

I'mn having a slightly annoying problem.  A few times now I've had multiple 841s (say 3 out of 22) drop from ~13TH to ~10Th.  A reboot recovers the hash rate.  One of those boxes does this fairly routinely, roughly weekly.

Running at a -1 offset, but experienced this at default levels as well.

Any suggestions?

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
June 06, 2018, 04:39:34 AM
 #336

I'mn having a slightly annoying problem.  A few times now I've had multiple 841s (say 3 out of 22) drop from ~13TH to ~10Th.  A reboot recovers the hash rate.  One of those boxes does this fairly routinely, roughly weekly.

Running at a -1 offset, but experienced this at default levels as well.

Any suggestions?

Try shorter chains three per auc

And three auc per rasp pi

Also try -2 vs -1

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2018, 05:34:08 AM
 #337


Try shorter chains three per auc

And three auc per rasp pi

Also try -2 vs -1

Given that others report no problems running thousands of Avalons with full 20 member configurations, I'm curious what the basis of your recommendation is?  Also -2 is suppose to be less stable than -1 per Canaan, so am again confused.  Please explain.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
richdmz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2018, 02:28:12 PM
 #338

Canaan updated their WiKi for the 851, official firmware and MM released...no specs on the miner yet that I have seen

https://github.com/Canaan-Creative/avalon8-docs/wiki
fccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 47


View Profile
June 07, 2018, 02:55:28 AM
 #339

Massive increase in difficulty in 1 day 2 days ago.  Means someone got new miner tech online all a sudden in massive scale.  My guess is bitmain will be coming with their new miners soon for sale since they drastically dropped prices.  Now avalon will have to get some new miners out before Q4 to keep up.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
June 07, 2018, 03:15:00 AM
Last edit: June 08, 2018, 01:21:14 AM by frodocooper
 #340

Given that others report no problems running thousands of Avalons with full 20 member configurations, I'm curious what the basis of your recommendation is?  Also -2 is suppose to be less stable than -1 per Canaan, so am again confused.  Please explain.

Well you said -1 does not work.
And you said 0 does not work.

So trying -2 first with chains as they are is different combination to try
Trying -2 with a shorter chain is a second different thing to try.

My assumption for -2 is a heat issue causes the issue

My assumption for chains of three is second choice

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!