Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:30:55 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1x riser causes desktop to be laggy [1 BTC reward for solution]  (Read 1377 times)
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:43:48 PM
 #1

This is happening to me on both Ubuntu and Windows.

I have a few mining rigs but use extenders only on one of them. When I have a card connected to the 1x slot via extenders, it makes the desktop very laggy, takes ages to drag a window (even if I'm not mining), or for a menu to pop and so on. Any idea what's going on?

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 03:41:23 PM
 #2

x1 slot is quite slow (especially if it's PCI-E 1st generation), but should be enough for desktop (after all, ISA and PCI 32bit/33MHz are enough for the desktop). However, the extenders can introduce interference so the speed drops or there are retransmissions (depending on how PCI-E handles low quality signals).

Or there is some problem with drivers.

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:20:00 PM
 #3

maybe you should set aggression lower (phoenix) or -f higher (poclbm)

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
 #4

Since the problem exists even when OP is not mining and n both OSs, this most likely is a hardware problem.

Can you try to connect the card without the extender? Or use that card on another computer?

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 12:05:01 AM
 #5

Since the problem exists even when OP is not mining and n both OSs, this most likely is a hardware problem.

Can you try to connect the card without the extender? Or use that card on another computer?
pci-e x1 has plenty of bandwidth for 2D. the only thing i can think of is a loose connection or EM interference

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 12:29:08 AM
 #6

How about BIOS settings to set all the PCI-E to 1x.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 01:35:57 AM
 #7

Or reducing the PCI-E frequency?

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 11:02:37 AM
 #8

A slightly more detailed description of the problem and steps I've taken to isolate it:

1) Its not a problem with the cards. I have rotated and tested each card.
2) Its not probably not an OS problem since it happens on Windows and Ubuntu.
3) The board is a Gigabyte GA-970A-B3 which has 2 (physical) PCI-16x slot, and 2 1x slots. 2 cards in the 16x slots is fine, the moment I add a card or even two cards to any of the 1x slot via an extender (I have 5 different ones I tried), the computer becomes "laggy". Sometimes its fine, sometimes it lags so bad it actually goes completely offline periodically.

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 02:07:25 PM
 #9

Can you try using just the cards in the x1 slots?

If they work normally, measure the voltage on the PCI-E slot pins that provide power to the cards and also measure the voltage that is comingfrom the PSU to the cards trough the PCI-E power connectors.

Maybe it's one or both of this:
1. The motherboard cannot supply enough power to the cards (each card can draw up to 75W from the PCI-E slot), so if the traces on the motherboard are too narrow there might be a too big voltage drop.
2. The power supply cannot provide enough power.

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 03:11:25 PM
 #10

Can you try using just the cards in the x1 slots?

If they work normally, measure the voltage on the PCI-E slot pins that provide power to the cards and also measure the voltage that is comingfrom the PSU to the cards trough the PCI-E power connectors.

Maybe it's one or both of this:
1. The motherboard cannot supply enough power to the cards (each card can draw up to 75W from the PCI-E slot), so if the traces on the motherboard are too narrow there might be a too big voltage drop.
2. The power supply cannot provide enough power.
he said that both cards work fine in x16 slots

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 04:17:54 PM
 #11

he said that both cards work fine in x16 slots
Which does not guarantee that they will work fine in x1 slots. Maybe the cards do not like x1 slots or the slots on the motherboard are damaged/buggy?

If they do, then it means that the problem appears only when there are at least 3 cards plugged in, which may indicate a power problem (either the PSU or the motherboard).

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 04:37:35 PM
 #12

he said that both cards work fine in x16 slots
Which does not guarantee that they will work fine in x1 slots. Maybe the cards do not like x1 slots or the slots on the motherboard are damaged/buggy?

If they do, then it means that the problem appears only when there are at least 3 cards plugged in, which may indicate a power problem (either the PSU or the motherboard).
power problems wont produce lag. Undecided

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pentium100
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 05:14:54 PM
 #13

Power problems can produce all kinds of things, including lag. If the voltage on the card is out of spec, it can lead to various problems.

We still need to check if there is a problem with a card plugged in a x1 slot. That can be checked quite easily (take out both x16 cards, plug one card in the x1 slot, test to see if there is lag). If there is no lag, add one card tgo the x16 slot, test again, if it's OK, move the card to the other x16 slot, test again. If it's OK add in the other card to x16 slot (now you have 3 cards) and measure the voltage (it would be a good idea to measure the ripple too, but that requires a scope, I do not know if the OP has it). It is a bit harder to do. If the voltages are OK, it may mean that this motherboard has problems with 3 or more video cards. It may be a BIOS or chipset problem, it may be some sort of interference between the x1 and x16 slots or something else.

1GStzEi48CnQN6DgR1s3uAzB8ucuwdcvig
marvinmartian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 06:37:22 PM
 #14

And you're displaying your desktop on which card?  I assume one of the 2.0 slots?

I also agree with the above posters. 

1. Try to put one card in an x1 slot and one card in your x16 slot.

2. Also just plugging one card into the x1 slot and seeing what your display does.

If there's still lag then it suggests your MB is changing bus speeds to accommodate the x1 slot when there's something in it.  I suspect there are some BIOS settings which may alleviate the problem.

"... and the geeks shall inherit the earth."
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 05:32:27 AM
 #15

This problem is intermittent, the last 3 days has been smooth with 3 cards in without me messing with anything except restarting it a few times because it was lagging so bad I couldn't do anything. If it pops up again I will test it as suggested.

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
Vladimir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


-


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 05:57:11 AM
 #16

1x riser causes desktop to be laggy [1 BTC reward for solution]

hmmm....seems like using 16x slot and riser would be a viable solution.


-
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!