Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 09:39:52 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Storing coins in offline wallet  (Read 1567 times)
alnoor1231 (OP)

Activity: 276
Merit: 250

View Profile
August 31, 2013, 09:00:34 PM

So I wanna store all my coins on a 2gig USB, but I am a total noob and technically challenged. Can someone explain step by step how to store coins on a usb or maybe provide a link?

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
In order to get the maximum amount of activity points possible, you just need to post once per day on average. Skipping days is OK as long as you maintain the average.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
grue
Legendary

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1431

View Profile
August 31, 2013, 09:36:56 PM

So I wanna store all my coins on a 2gig USB [...]
This can't be done if you're using bitcoin-qt, because its data directory needs to be able to store the entire blockchain (10+ GB).

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
alnoor1231 (OP)

View Profile
August 31, 2013, 10:05:03 PM

Oh ok. What about if I wanted to store an alt that had less than 10gb blockchain?
grue
Legendary

View Profile
August 31, 2013, 10:25:40 PM

run
Code:
bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=F:\
where F is the drive letter of your USB drive.
more info: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

meanig

Activity: 531
Merit: 501

View Profile
September 01, 2013, 11:21:45 PM