Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:29:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Catalyst 11.6b  (Read 1523 times)
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


★Nitrogensports.eu★


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:58:29 AM
 #1

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst116bHotfix.aspx

No need to use dummy plug, while waiting for 11.7  Grin

I can run 5770 + 5830 for couple of minutes before my power supply blew up.  Tongue



           █████████████████     ████████
          █████████████████     ████████
         █████████████████     ████████
        █████████████████     ████████
       ████████              ████████
      ████████              ████████
     ████████     ███████  ████████     ████████
    ████████     █████████████████     ████████
   ████████     █████████████████     ████████
  ████████     █████████████████     ████████
 ████████     █████████████████     ████████
████████     ████████  ███████     ████████
            ████████              ████████
           ████████              ████████
          ████████     █████████████████
         ████████     █████████████████
        ████████     █████████████████
       ████████     █████████████████
▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
▬▬ THE LARGEST & MOST TRUSTED ▬▬
      BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     
   ▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
             ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄
     ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀        ▀▄▄▄▄           
▄▀▀▀▀                 █   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
█                    ▀▄          █
 █   ▀▌     ██▄        █          █               
 ▀▄        ▐████▄       █        █
  █        ███████▄     ▀▄       █
   █      ▐████▄█████████████████████▄
   ▀▄     ███████▀                  ▀██
    █      ▀█████    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
     █       ▀███   ████      ████   ██
     ▀▄        ██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
      █        ██        ▄██▄        ██
       █       ██        ▀██▀        ██
       ▀▄      ██    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
        █      ██   ████      ████   ██
         █▄▄▄▄▀██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
               ██▄                  ▄██
                ▀████████████████████▀




  CASINO  ●  DICE  ●  POKER   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   24 hour Customer Support   

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437758
Reply with quote  #2

1481437758
Report to moderator
1481437758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437758
Reply with quote  #2

1481437758
Report to moderator
1481437758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437758
Reply with quote  #2

1481437758
Report to moderator
Coolhwip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 05:07:09 AM
 #2

Submit your story at http://www.bitcoinminingaccidents.com/ so the world can have a laugh at your expense Cool
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


★Nitrogensports.eu★


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 05:20:36 AM
 #3

i was thinking to do it, but somehow managed to revive it. I'm not gonna try to mine on both cards now, at least until i can get a better psu in couple of days.

2 yrs old 550w BFG psu can't handle the load.


           █████████████████     ████████
          █████████████████     ████████
         █████████████████     ████████
        █████████████████     ████████
       ████████              ████████
      ████████              ████████
     ████████     ███████  ████████     ████████
    ████████     █████████████████     ████████
   ████████     █████████████████     ████████
  ████████     █████████████████     ████████
 ████████     █████████████████     ████████
████████     ████████  ███████     ████████
            ████████              ████████
           ████████              ████████
          ████████     █████████████████
         ████████     █████████████████
        ████████     █████████████████
       ████████     █████████████████
▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
▬▬ THE LARGEST & MOST TRUSTED ▬▬
      BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     
   ▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
             ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄
     ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀        ▀▄▄▄▄           
▄▀▀▀▀                 █   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
█                    ▀▄          █
 █   ▀▌     ██▄        █          █               
 ▀▄        ▐████▄       █        █
  █        ███████▄     ▀▄       █
   █      ▐████▄█████████████████████▄
   ▀▄     ███████▀                  ▀██
    █      ▀█████    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
     █       ▀███   ████      ████   ██
     ▀▄        ██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
      █        ██        ▄██▄        ██
       █       ██        ▀██▀        ██
       ▀▄      ██    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
        █      ██   ████      ████   ██
         █▄▄▄▄▀██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
               ██▄                  ▄██
                ▀████████████████████▀




  CASINO  ●  DICE  ●  POKER   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   24 hour Customer Support   

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
coustang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:01:25 AM
 #4

i had a no-name 500w psu that I got free with a case from newegg that I tried running 2 6870's with.  After a couple mins the whole room stunk with a burnt electrical smell, I powered down and removed the psu before it could blow up and take my cards with it!
Kintera
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Who says i can't be silly for the fun of it.


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:55:25 AM
 #5

Interesting gonna have to try on my rigs.

Rigs x2
CPU: Athlon II 255 @ 3.1 GHz Dual-cores
RAM: 2 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600 ram
MOBO: MSI 890FXA-G70
PSU: Antec 1200 watt (1.2Kw) Modular
HDD: 500 GB SATA 3 WD 7200 RPM
GPU's: 4x 6870's

And various other systems
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 12:04:47 AM
 #6

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst116bHotfix.aspx

No need to use dummy plug, while waiting for 11.7  Grin

I can run 5770 + 5830 for couple of minutes before my power supply blew up.  Tongue



How did you not use the dummy switch? Catalyst still is not showing my 2nd card?

Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


★Nitrogensports.eu★


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 12:08:27 AM
 #7

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst116bHotfix.aspx

No need to use dummy plug, while waiting for 11.7  Grin

I can run 5770 + 5830 for couple of minutes before my power supply blew up.  Tongue



How did you not use the dummy switch? Catalyst still is not showing my 2nd card?
i dunno, i just installed it, and i can run both w/o the plug. :/


           █████████████████     ████████
          █████████████████     ████████
         █████████████████     ████████
        █████████████████     ████████
       ████████              ████████
      ████████              ████████
     ████████     ███████  ████████     ████████
    ████████     █████████████████     ████████
   ████████     █████████████████     ████████
  ████████     █████████████████     ████████
 ████████     █████████████████     ████████
████████     ████████  ███████     ████████
            ████████              ████████
           ████████              ████████
          ████████     █████████████████
         ████████     █████████████████
        ████████     █████████████████
       ████████     █████████████████
▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
▬▬ THE LARGEST & MOST TRUSTED ▬▬
      BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     
   ▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
             ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄
     ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀        ▀▄▄▄▄           
▄▀▀▀▀                 █   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
█                    ▀▄          █
 █   ▀▌     ██▄        █          █               
 ▀▄        ▐████▄       █        █
  █        ███████▄     ▀▄       █
   █      ▐████▄█████████████████████▄
   ▀▄     ███████▀                  ▀██
    █      ▀█████    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
     █       ▀███   ████      ████   ██
     ▀▄        ██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
      █        ██        ▄██▄        ██
       █       ██        ▀██▀        ██
       ▀▄      ██    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
        █      ██   ████      ████   ██
         █▄▄▄▄▀██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
               ██▄                  ▄██
                ▀████████████████████▀




  CASINO  ●  DICE  ●  POKER   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   24 hour Customer Support   

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 12:21:50 AM
 #8

I can run my 2nd card but I cant SEE it in the Catalyst, can you?

Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


★Nitrogensports.eu★


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 12:25:05 AM
 #9

I can run my 2nd card but I cant SEE it in the Catalyst, can you?
oh.

yeah, it's there.


           █████████████████     ████████
          █████████████████     ████████
         █████████████████     ████████
        █████████████████     ████████
       ████████              ████████
      ████████              ████████
     ████████     ███████  ████████     ████████
    ████████     █████████████████     ████████
   ████████     █████████████████     ████████
  ████████     █████████████████     ████████
 ████████     █████████████████     ████████
████████     ████████  ███████     ████████
            ████████              ████████
           ████████              ████████
          ████████     █████████████████
         ████████     █████████████████
        ████████     █████████████████
       ████████     █████████████████
▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
▬▬ THE LARGEST & MOST TRUSTED ▬▬
      BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     
   ▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
             ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄
     ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀        ▀▄▄▄▄           
▄▀▀▀▀                 █   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
█                    ▀▄          █
 █   ▀▌     ██▄        █          █               
 ▀▄        ▐████▄       █        █
  █        ███████▄     ▀▄       █
   █      ▐████▄█████████████████████▄
   ▀▄     ███████▀                  ▀██
    █      ▀█████    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
     █       ▀███   ████      ████   ██
     ▀▄        ██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
      █        ██        ▄██▄        ██
       █       ██        ▀██▀        ██
       ▀▄      ██    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
        █      ██   ████      ████   ██
         █▄▄▄▄▀██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
               ██▄                  ▄██
                ▀████████████████████▀




  CASINO  ●  DICE  ●  POKER   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   24 hour Customer Support   

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
bitminerrr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 02:23:22 AM
 #10

11.6b are actually the best drivers I've used, the BSOD is gone, so is the checkerboard vsync bug.
btminer8
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 02:39:45 AM
 #11

yea 11.6b doesnt need plug and i have been running 2 x 6870 on a 520watt PSU for a week without any issue
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 07:51:45 PM
 #12

I have 2x5870 in my XP64 PC and had the "disabled adapter" error (read: frustration).

I now removed all Ati drivers using the normal uninstall and a tool to get rid of all display drivers after the uninstall to clean up properly.
Then applied catalyst 11.6b after reboot and nothing seems to have changed: adapter 1 is still disabled, adapter 0 mines just fine.

I have attached a monitor now using a DVI->D-sub plug but even when I turn the 2nd monitor on during boot it won't switch on, therefore I doubt a dummy plug will do the job.

No crossfire bridge is applied.

I have swapped the cards and this works, also the cards both work in my other PC.

When running Linux all works fine even without a monitor attached to either of the cards so I'm convinced it's not a hardware issue.

Anyone else still having this frustration/issue?

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 07:58:04 PM
 #13

I have 2x5870 in my XP64 PC and had the "disabled adapter" error (read: frustration).


XP64 didn't have a very good reputation due to drivers issue. While it's been vastly improved, the possibility exists that this is one of those obscure issues with it?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 07:46:30 AM
 #14

That could be it, although one would suspect that when AMD releases a driver version for XP64 that deals with this adapter disable thing, it actually deals with the adapter disable thing under XP64.

I want to be able to work on my PC while running XP64 and mine on 2 cards while doing so.
Must be some registry trick possible for this right? It's really the software telling the hardware that the card is disabled.

2 BTC for the person who hands me the solution.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
sir cuddles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:00:01 AM
 #15

There is an early build of 11.7 already leaked if you want. I'm using it and that stopped the opencl crash when using other hardware accelerated applications with my 6950.
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 12:52:27 PM
 #16

There is an early build of 11.7 already leaked if you want. I'm using it and that stopped the opencl crash when using other hardware accelerated applications with my 6950.
I read that 11.6b is referred to as 11.7 by some, could this be the case?

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 12:53:23 PM
 #17

That could be it, although one would suspect that when AMD releases a driver version for XP64 that deals with this adapter disable thing, it actually deals with the adapter disable thing under XP64.

I want to be able to work on my PC while running XP64 and mine on 2 cards while doing so.
Must be some registry trick possible for this right? It's really the software telling the hardware that the card is disabled.

2 BTC for the person who hands me the solution.

Does your second monitor show anything during boot and after you go into Windows? Can you use an extended desktop or mirror display on the second card's monitor?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 01:15:01 PM
 #18

No and No.
When I switch both monitors on, only one monitor will become active when I boot the machine.

This is what it looks like:

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 03:12:43 PM
 #19

If XP64 doesn't see the second card despite actually having a monitor hooked up, then I'm guessing it's a XP64 bug in the Catalyst drivers. Not likely something we can fix on our end, probably have to raise the issue with AMD.

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 04:12:22 PM
 #20

It is solved. Both adapters are active and mining as we speak! Smiley

Some bright person from this forum has PM'ed me the solution, which is quite simple actually.

I will send him the 2 BTC he deserves.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!