Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 08:06:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to add settings to guiminer?  (Read 3231 times)
topslop1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:43:17 PM
 #1

I have a 5830 and I'm pushing about 260 hash with it overclocked to 930.

I read off of a newegg.com 5830 review that adding this will also help out "GUIminer and the following settings:
VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12"

How do you add or change settings and where can you change them?  I am very new to gui miner and am having trouble locating any kind of way to input things.
1481270788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270788
Reply with quote  #2

1481270788
Report to moderator
1481270788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270788
Reply with quote  #2

1481270788
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481270788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270788
Reply with quote  #2

1481270788
Report to moderator
1481270788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270788
Reply with quote  #2

1481270788
Report to moderator
1481270788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270788
Reply with quote  #2

1481270788
Report to moderator
kylegates
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:03:51 PM
 #2

I run a few 5830s as well.  In the GUIMiner...um...GUI, find the "Extra Flags" field (Just under where you entered your miner password).  There are a ton of flags out the that can boost your hash rate some but I have found that this works best:

-v -w128   (typed just like that)

Clocked up to 975 core and down to 500 memory I get 300m/hash.  Clocked up in the 1050 range is even better if your cards can handle it (two of mine can one...cant).

Once you add those commands in the flags field do click stop mining and start mining again to begin with those commands active.  Some may say to change the -w rate to 256 or so.  I found 128 to be a slightly better rate on my machine though.

Further flags can be found- http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=4122.0

topslop1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 04:54:10 AM
 #3

Thank you for pushing me in the right direction.  Makes a noticeable difference in the hash rate.  I was wondering how you guys were pushing 300-ish with these cards.  I will be experimenting with other flags as well. 
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:05:53 AM
 #4

Phoenix 1.5 with phatk kernel at 970/300 clocks is getting me 310 mhash/s

I believe the flags I'm using are:
WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false VECTORS BF_INT AGRESSION=12
topslop1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:51:35 PM
 #5

Pheonix is different than Gui altogether?  I need to play around with this stuff tonight after work. 
BMFX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 01:11:28 PM
 #6

Indeed every miner is a little different, most are close. Just realize a day of down time is typically going to cost you more then your improved hash rate will generate in a day. If you do plan to do some heavy testing and changing of miners.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 01:47:22 PM
 #7

 In the GUIMiner...um...GUI, find the "Extra Flags" field (Just under where you entered your miner password).  There are a ton of flags out the that can boost your hash rate some but I have found that this works best:

-v -w128   (typed just like that)

Clocked up to 975 core and down to 500 memory I get 300m/hash.  

my sapphire 5830 pulls 300 m/h at 960/354 stock volts (guiminer on xp32 2.1 SDK / 11.6 driver.  -f 15 -v -w 256 flags. havent tried higher clocks as its on a Delta 340 watt PSU, waiting for my Antec 550 trio RMA to come back. then Ill put the screws down.

there are many "sweet spots" - different work sizes and mem clocks can make a decent difference (10-15% maybe).
topslop1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 10:55:42 PM
 #8

Is Linux or Windows mining more efficient - one over the other?  Or is it about the same bag?
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 12:35:33 PM
 #9

from what Ive been reading (I only run windows atm as I have the extra licenses) it makes no difference. win7, vista, xp, *nix are all pretty much the same m/hash wise on the same hardware. what is different is ease of use as win has tons of overclocking and over/under volting tools. *nix, not so much.

the big variables for m/hash production are the core/mem clocks, miner (and its flags), SDK version and CAT version used. each OS/card combo seems to like a different combination to find its sweet spot.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!