Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:06:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: This is probably a stupid question, but is there a way to scrape a sender addy?  (Read 1013 times)
coingenuity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:38:35 AM
 #1

As far as I can tell, there's no CLI call that enables the client to get the sender's address when the CLI is the receiving account/address. I might be wrong, since the wiki hasn't been updated since 0.3.20.2, but there's no call that I can find that allows you to do it. I wrote a simple workaround, but it would be nice if there was an easy command that I've glazed over somewhere.

Any clues?

1481213204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213204
Reply with quote  #2

1481213204
Report to moderator
1481213204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213204
Reply with quote  #2

1481213204
Report to moderator
1481213204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213204
Reply with quote  #2

1481213204
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481213204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213204
Reply with quote  #2

1481213204
Report to moderator
1481213204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213204
Reply with quote  #2

1481213204
Report to moderator
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 03:20:28 AM
 #2

As far as I can tell, there's no CLI call that enables the client to get the sender's address when the CLI is the receiving account/address. I might be wrong, since the wiki hasn't been updated since 0.3.20.2, but there's no call that I can find that allows you to do it. I wrote a simple workaround, but it would be nice if there was an easy command that I've glazed over somewhere.

Any clues?

The transaction input addresses are available, but they may not correspond to the actual entity who ordered the bitcoins sent to you. For instance, if you send bitcoins to your wallet from an exchange or online wallet service like CampBX or Instawallet, then the sending addresses belong to the web service, not you, and are semantically useless for determining the actual person who sent the bitcoins.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
coingenuity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 06:06:34 AM
 #3

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?

error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 06:11:50 AM
 #4

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?

You would have to patch bitcoind to get that information, or use an external tool like bitcointools.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:41:20 AM
 #5

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?
There is not really such a thing as 'input address' in Bitcoin. A transaction can have zero, one or multiple inputs. Those inputs can be addresses that received coins, but don't have to be. For example, generation transactions have no inputs at all. Transactions can spend multiple inputs when the amount to send is higher than the size of one of the inputs. And for more advanced scripts/contracts it might also work differently. This is why it is not shown in the UI.

If you want more detailed information about the inputs used you can enable debug mode (-debug) then doubleclick on a transaction...

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
coingenuity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 11:34:53 AM
 #6

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?

You would have to patch bitcoind to get that information, or use an external tool like bitcointools.

Ah, beautiful. Thanks for the links.

error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 07:21:05 PM
 #7

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?

You would have to patch bitcoind to get that information, or use an external tool like bitcointools.

Ah, beautiful. Thanks for the links.

Be careful when using that information. It may or may not be meaningful in whatever application you have envisioned (which you didn't disclose).

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
coingenuity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2011, 09:12:55 AM
 #8

How do you output an input address from within bitcoind?

You would have to patch bitcoind to get that information, or use an external tool like bitcointools.

Ah, beautiful. Thanks for the links.

Be careful when using that information. It may or may not be meaningful in whatever application you have envisioned (which you didn't disclose).

I was mostly curious. I've already got a good solution, I just wondered if there was a better one. Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!