Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:59:25 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [FIXED!] I need some help with pushpoold! [fails to start up]  (Read 949 times)
Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:36:52 PM
 #1

Fixed, these were all mistakes by the cause of typos. I used my DNS (the VPS) instead of the IP. I also used my domain as remote host of the MySQL server instead of the IP! So don't use domain or DNS's like:
(www.urdomain.com or www.urdns.no-ip.org) to point to the servers, only use IP's.

A tip to all: make sure you check everything is correct, servers match, username of bitcoin and mysql match, passwords match with the correct usernames!

Whenever I start up pushpool( # ./pushpoold -E -F )
I get the following output:
Code:
# ./pushpoold -E -F
Listening on host :: port 8342
Listening on host :: port 8347
Listening on host :: port 8344
Listening on host 127.0.0.1 port 8338
#
As you can see, it doesn't say 'initialized' or anything and it stops the server.

My remote server:


My MySQL tables:


My MySQL columns:



My server.json
Code:

{
   # network ports
   "listen" : [
      # binary protocol (default), port 8342
      { "port" : 8342 },

      # HTTP JSON-RPC protocol, port 8341
      { "port" : 8347, "protocol" : "http-json" },

      # HTTP JSON-RPC protocol, port 8344,
      #p
      # r
      { "port" : 8344, "protocol" : "http-json",
        "proxy" : "78.47.80.74" },

      # binary protocol, localhost-only port 8338
      # host is most likely your localhost address
      { "host" : "127.0.0.1", "port" : 8338, "protocol" : "binary" }
    ],

   # database settings
   "database" : {
      "engine" : "mysql",

      "host" : "myremotehost",

      "port" : 3306,

      #database name
      "name" : "correctdatabasename",
      #database username
      "username" : "correctusername",
      #database password
      "password" : "correctpassword",
      #enable sharelog | to insert share data or sometimes known
      "sharelog" : true,
      "stmt.pwdb":"SELECT password FROM pool_worker WHERE username = ?",
    "stmt.sharelog":"INSERT INTO shares (rem_host, username, our_result, upstream_result, reason, solution) VALUES (?, ?, ?$

   },

   #uncoment this when you want to use memcached (Recommended for
   # cache settings
   "memcached" : {
      "servers" : [
         { "host" : "127.0.0.1", "port" : 11211 }
      ]
   },

   "pid" : "/tmp/pushpoold.pid",

   # overrides local hostname detection
   "forcehost" : "localhost.localdomain",

   "log.requests" : "/tmp/request.log",
   "log.shares" : "/tmp/shares.log",

   # the server assumes longpolling (w/ SIGUSR1 called for each blk)
   "longpoll.disable" : false,

   # length of time to cache username/password credentials, in seconds
   "auth.cred_cache.expire" : 75,

   # RPC settings
   #Bitcoind Protocal settings
   #Host were bitcoind can be found on the network
   "rpc.url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332/",
   #Username & password to connect to bitcoind
   "rpc.user" : "correctusername",
   "rpc.pass" : "correctpassword",

   # rewrite returned 'target' to difficulty-1?
   "rpc.target.rewrite" : true
}

Edit one: Ok it seemt that my server.json host was wrong, I fixed it.
Edit two: The passwords of server.json and bitcoin.conf didn't matched, I fixed it.
Edit three: Okay, these were all mistakes by the cause of typos. I used my DNS (the VPS) instead of the IP. I also used my domain as remote host of the MySQL server instead of the IP!



Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481270365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270365
Reply with quote  #2

1481270365
Report to moderator
1481270365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270365
Reply with quote  #2

1481270365
Report to moderator
1481270365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270365
Reply with quote  #2

1481270365
Report to moderator
Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:35:44 PM
 #2

Updated the thread with more info!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 616


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 10:50:46 PM
 #3

i'm not getting a pid in my /tmp. 

presume the same?

Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:29:25 PM
 #4

I'm not getting any pid file in:
Code:
/usr/tmp
I hope that's the directory you are referring to!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 616


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:36:02 PM
 #5

yep, same.  no pid file.
but I see two other files there...

shares.log
request.log


both empty

Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:01:05 AM
 #6

I don't even see those files in there! :O
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 616


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:59:56 AM
 #7

can you write to /tmp?


touch /tmp/viceroywashere.txt
ls /tmp

am I there?

Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 08:41:15 AM
 #8

can you write to /tmp?


touch /tmp/viceroywashere.txt
ls /tmp

am I there?


Yes I can write to tmp, btw I did found out that there was a problem with the remote server! I fixed it afterwards and I'm still getting the same error.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 09:13:59 AM
 #9

It is failing to open the database for some reason. It could be an incorrect setting, it could be a firewall. You may wish to add some debug output to the my_open function in the db-mysql.c file, recompile, and test again.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:37:57 AM
 #10

It is failing to open the database for some reason. It could be an incorrect setting, it could be a firewall. You may wish to add some debug output to the my_open function in the db-mysql.c file, recompile, and test again.
I'll try running the database on localhost since I'm not sure if .
I don't know how I'm going to create a database/user/pass/tables & columns but I'll try.
Flowz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:44:19 AM
 #11

IT'S FIXED! Oh, I feel like a retard right now!

So the fucking moron that I am, I used my DNS's as remote host. so I switched them to IP's and it worked!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!