Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 07:32:01 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [FIXED!] I need some help with pushpoold! [fails to start up]  (Read 1166 times)
Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:36:52 PM
Last edit: July 23, 2011, 09:50:35 AM by Flowz
 #1

Fixed, these were all mistakes by the cause of typos. I used my DNS (the VPS) instead of the IP. I also used my domain as remote host of the MySQL server instead of the IP! So don't use domain or DNS's like:
(www.urdomain.com or www.urdns.no-ip.org) to point to the servers, only use IP's.

A tip to all: make sure you check everything is correct, servers match, username of bitcoin and mysql match, passwords match with the correct usernames!

Whenever I start up pushpool( # ./pushpoold -E -F )
I get the following output:
Code:
# ./pushpoold -E -F
Listening on host :: port 8342
Listening on host :: port 8347
Listening on host :: port 8344
Listening on host 127.0.0.1 port 8338
#
As you can see, it doesn't say 'initialized' or anything and it stops the server.

My remote server:


My MySQL tables:


My MySQL columns:



My server.json
Code:

{
   # network ports
   "listen" : [
      # binary protocol (default), port 8342
      { "port" : 8342 },

      # HTTP JSON-RPC protocol, port 8341
      { "port" : 8347, "protocol" : "http-json" },

      # HTTP JSON-RPC protocol, port 8344,
      #p
      # r
      { "port" : 8344, "protocol" : "http-json",
        "proxy" : "78.47.80.74" },

      # binary protocol, localhost-only port 8338
      # host is most likely your localhost address
      { "host" : "127.0.0.1", "port" : 8338, "protocol" : "binary" }
    ],

   # database settings
   "database" : {
      "engine" : "mysql",

      "host" : "myremotehost",

      "port" : 3306,

      #database name
      "name" : "correctdatabasename",
      #database username
      "username" : "correctusername",
      #database password
      "password" : "correctpassword",
      #enable sharelog | to insert share data or sometimes known
      "sharelog" : true,
      "stmt.pwdb":"SELECT password FROM pool_worker WHERE username = ?",
    "stmt.sharelog":"INSERT INTO shares (rem_host, username, our_result, upstream_result, reason, solution) VALUES (?, ?, ?$

   },

   #uncoment this when you want to use memcached (Recommended for
   # cache settings
   "memcached" : {
      "servers" : [
         { "host" : "127.0.0.1", "port" : 11211 }
      ]
   },

   "pid" : "/tmp/pushpoold.pid",

   # overrides local hostname detection
   "forcehost" : "localhost.localdomain",

   "log.requests" : "/tmp/request.log",
   "log.shares" : "/tmp/shares.log",

   # the server assumes longpolling (w/ SIGUSR1 called for each blk)
   "longpoll.disable" : false,

   # length of time to cache username/password credentials, in seconds
   "auth.cred_cache.expire" : 75,

   # RPC settings
   #Bitcoind Protocal settings
   #Host were bitcoind can be found on the network
   "rpc.url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332/",
   #Username & password to connect to bitcoind
   "rpc.user" : "correctusername",
   "rpc.pass" : "correctpassword",

   # rewrite returned 'target' to difficulty-1?
   "rpc.target.rewrite" : true
}

Edit one: Ok it seemt that my server.json host was wrong, I fixed it.
Edit two: The passwords of server.json and bitcoin.conf didn't matched, I fixed it.
Edit three: Okay, these were all mistakes by the cause of typos. I used my DNS (the VPS) instead of the IP. I also used my domain as remote host of the MySQL server instead of the IP!



1715153521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715153521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715153521
Reply with quote  #2

1715153521
Report to moderator
1715153521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715153521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715153521
Reply with quote  #2

1715153521
Report to moderator
BitcoinCleanup.com: Learn why Bitcoin isn't bad for the environment
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715153521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715153521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715153521
Reply with quote  #2

1715153521
Report to moderator
Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:35:44 PM
 #2

Updated the thread with more info!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 10:50:46 PM
 #3

i'm not getting a pid in my /tmp. 

presume the same?

Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:29:25 PM
 #4

I'm not getting any pid file in:
Code:
/usr/tmp
I hope that's the directory you are referring to!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:36:02 PM
 #5

yep, same.  no pid file.
but I see two other files there...

shares.log
request.log


both empty

Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:01:05 AM
 #6

I don't even see those files in there! :O
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:59:56 AM
 #7

can you write to /tmp?


touch /tmp/viceroywashere.txt
ls /tmp

am I there?

Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 08:41:15 AM
 #8

can you write to /tmp?


touch /tmp/viceroywashere.txt
ls /tmp

am I there?


Yes I can write to tmp, btw I did found out that there was a problem with the remote server! I fixed it afterwards and I'm still getting the same error.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1012


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 09:13:59 AM
 #9

It is failing to open the database for some reason. It could be an incorrect setting, it could be a firewall. You may wish to add some debug output to the my_open function in the db-mysql.c file, recompile, and test again.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:37:57 AM
 #10

It is failing to open the database for some reason. It could be an incorrect setting, it could be a firewall. You may wish to add some debug output to the my_open function in the db-mysql.c file, recompile, and test again.
I'll try running the database on localhost since I'm not sure if .
I don't know how I'm going to create a database/user/pass/tables & columns but I'll try.
Flowz (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


Bitcoin = Money for the people, by the people.


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:44:19 AM
 #11

IT'S FIXED! Oh, I feel like a retard right now!

So the fucking moron that I am, I used my DNS's as remote host. so I switched them to IP's and it worked!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!